Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5752 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
81 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 BSzili,  Hammer,  klapdeur

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hammer:  2 mins ago
 BSzili:  3 mins ago
 klapdeur:  4 mins ago
 Georg:  10 mins ago
 Livebyfaith:  19 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  22 mins ago
 BigD:  30 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  33 mins ago
 emeck:  37 mins ago
 Frank:  43 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  amiga 2000
Register To Post

PosterThread
cc3d 
amiga 2000
Posted on 3-Jun-2020 0:11:33
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

So I have three Amigas, original owner of all 3. An Amiga 1000 I bought right when they came out. An Amiga 2000 I bought later and an Amiga 4000 with a Video Toaster 4000 in it. All of my Amigas paid for themselves with graphic/video work I did in the 80s and 90s. I used to be an Amiga guru and now I am like a 2 year old trying to write assembly code.

For some reason, I no longer have my original monitors.

I purchased a basic commodore RGB monitor about 8 years ago. I have verified it works with the amiga 1000 in both RGB and composite modes.

I am trying to boot up the Amiga 2000. It has 2 hard drives and a GVP HD controller. When I turn it on, the hard drives spin up. I get no video signal. I have tried the composite and the RGB out with no luck.

I did inspect the motherboard carefully and all the caps are in good shape. Any tips on what to do next?

I appreciate the help. I really want to get into both machines and see what's on there.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 3-Jun-2020 2:27:13
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 849
From: Arizona

@cc3d

I hope you removed the original clock batteries years ago, because if you didn't, they've probably leaked onto the motherboard(s) and eaten away some of the traces causing your video issue. The electrolytic capacitors may also look just fine, but they too are prone to leakage and will damage the board and if they've dried out, that could also be the source of your issues. I'd be hesitant to even power up such an old system that hasn't been re-capped and had a battery replacement because you could let the magic smoke out of all the chips.

30+ year old power supplies shouldn't be considered safe or reliable either as they suffer from the same problem with electrolytic capacitors. Re-cap them as well.

Last edited by ferrels on 03-Jun-2020 at 02:29 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 3-Jun-2020 13:22:43
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@ferrels

I appreciate your response. I am going to look things over very closely as suggested. I'll get a battery replacement as well. I will get back to you with an update.

On a second note. What's the most economical way for me to get the Amiga 4000 viewable. I only have an Amiga 1080 monitor. How can I view it on a 1080?

TIA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 3-Jun-2020 14:46:50
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1564
From: the Clouds

@cc3d

Doesn't it have a 23 Pin connector like the 1084 series? It should not be that hard to make a cable for it. I think AmigaKit might have the right cable here
Amiga Kit store

or you might find more information here at zimmers.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 3-Jun-2020 16:17:28
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@Amigo1

is an Amiga 1080 monitor compatible iwth an Amiga 4000? I thought th A4000 required a specific monitor type?

thank you

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 1:34:32
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@cc3d

I removed the battery. Does not appear to be any major problems in that area.



I did notice that the resistor/capacitor combo is no longer attached at the resistor side. This appears to be a clean break at the resistor. I measured this at about 70 ohms? I can replace it.

Last edited by cc3d on 04-Jun-2020 at 01:39 AM.
Last edited by cc3d on 04-Jun-2020 at 01:37 AM.
Last edited by cc3d on 04-Jun-2020 at 01:35 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 1:50:49
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 849
From: Arizona

@cc3d

Looks like you dodged a bullet as far as the battery goes. Next thing I'd do is get out the multimeter and check the voltages coming out of the power supply. There are some pretty large caps in there so be careful to discharge them before poking around the inside of it. Look for all the obvious signs of damage such as bulging or leaking caps. After 30 years those caps may be dry as bones and you're literally playing with fire without recapping it.

What does the underside of the motherboard look like? There could possibly be some bodge/jumper wires on the bottom that may have come loose.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 2:00:46
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 782
From: Unknown

@cc3d

It is a good looking board.
Good luck on getting her going.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 2:23:56
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@ferrels

Very good. I just looked at the underside of the motherboard and all looks well. My word, Commodore was screw happy. I remember the Amiga 1000 had about 200 screws holding the shield down. Must have been 20 standoff nuts securing the under-shield to the motherboard .

I will go into the PSU next.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 4:18:27
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 849
From: Arizona

@cc3d

Wow, underside looks fantastic.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Amigo1 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 4-Jun-2020 8:37:02
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Jun-2004
Posts: 1564
From: the Clouds

@cc3d

I used different types of monitors on my A4000. Among them where an A1084S, A1085, A2080.

As stated here http://www.zimmers.net/cbmpics/mlcomp2.html, the A1080 is functionally equivalent to the A1084 series, so I cannot imagine it will not work. Keep in mind, you can only use PAL and NTSC screen resolutions, the higher modes offered by the AGA chipset (DBLPal, Multiscan etc) can not be used.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 5-Jun-2020 2:02:46
#12 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@Amigo1

Thanks for your help. I got the A4000 to boot. Happy day! I will start putting the cards back in one at a time to see if everything will come back on.



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scuzz 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 7-Jun-2020 1:33:46
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-May-2004
Posts: 348
From: New Forest United Kingdom

@cc3d

I trust you are going to remove the batteries from the 2000 and the 4000. They may look OK but on the 2000 it will degrade the CPU pins and sockets. The tops of the solder joints become dusty and you will eventually get a CPU failure. Once you put that cradle back in for the floppy drives it is easy to neglect the battery. They just are not necessary and it is dead anyway. Same goes for the 4000.

https://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_july19_2/car_sbd_130719_19.jpg

The battery attacks sockets/pin legs from pretty much a six inch radius. Even when there appears to be no leakage from the battery. Here is an A500Plus clean battery removal and what it was doing to the chip next door and resistor.

https://www.scuzzscink.com/amiga/scuzzblog_may20_2/car_sbd_190520_28.jpg


scuzz




 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 7-Jun-2020 2:02:28
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@scuzz

yes, thank you. I did that right away. There is no apparent damage at 5x magnification.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cc3d 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 7-Jun-2020 4:08:17
#15 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jun-2020
Posts: 38
From: USA

@cc3d

So a little more information:

I opened the PSU and it looks good inside.

I took the machine down to the motherboard level. I connected only the PSU main connector, the keyboard, mouse, RGB video and composite video. Power LED.

When I power it on, the Power LED comes on. Also the keyboard caps key will light when locked.

If I do a CTRL Amiga Amiga, the power LED cycles like it is rebooting.

Neither the RGB or composite modes will show anything during this time.

I have re-seated the CPU and checked all seated chips and they appear to be in good condition and seating. Any help is appreciated.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ferrels 
Re: amiga 2000
Posted on 7-Jun-2020 4:41:11
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2005
Posts: 849
From: Arizona

@cc3d

At 30+ years old I'm betting the board needs to be re-capped. If you have soldering skills it isn't too hard to accomplish and there are folks out there who will do it for you for a fee.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle