Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
62 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 MickJT

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MickJT:  4 mins ago
 Jasper:  7 mins ago
 Trixie:  21 mins ago
 Rob:  28 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  31 mins ago
 DruggedBunny:  39 mins ago
 matthey:  52 mins ago
 Skateman:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 michalsc:  1 hr 35 mins ago
 Frank:  2 hrs 16 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  ? 64 or 128mgs
Register To Post

PosterThread
Punkyclown 
? 64 or 128mgs
Posted on 2-Nov-2021 20:42:38
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 91
From: Carlsbad, Ca

Hi All, I will be, in a day or two, purchasing the TF1230 board. Any input on weather
I should go for the 128mg setup or is 64mgs all I will really need? I am running OS 3.2
And will be using graphics programs like AdPro, DPaint, Brilliance. Not really into
animation or video though. Any information you can provide would be much appreciated. It is a question of $$, I can go for it, but do I really need to?
Thanks, Brad Hansen

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
matthey 
Re: ? 64 or 128mgs
Posted on 2-Nov-2021 22:26:58
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2007
Posts: 1294
From: Kansas

Punkyclown Quote:

Hi All, I will be, in a day or two, purchasing the TF1230 board. Any input on weather
I should go for the 128mg setup or is 64mgs all I will really need? I am running OS 3.2
And will be using graphics programs like AdPro, DPaint, Brilliance. Not really into
animation or video though. Any information you can provide would be much appreciated. It is a question of $$, I can go for it, but do I really need to?
Thanks, Brad Hansen


Almost all Amiga programs will run with 64MiB but having extra memory is useful for more modern software. I have run out of memory using about 64MiB with a few more modern games and when compiling with vbcc although this is with a 68060. PFS likes plenty of drive buffers and FFS needs less memory for buffers but also requires a significant amount of free memory at boot to validate large hard drive partitions (see AmigaOS 3.2 FAQ for details). If you were buying a 68060 board, I would recommend the 128MiB but a 68030 is going to have a performance limit for the most demanding programs using more memory anyway. Getting 128MiB may provide some peace of mind that you will never run out of memory and allow more multitasking but then it may be overkill for only a 68030 Amiga.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: ? 64 or 128mgs
Posted on 2-Nov-2021 22:45:48
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3683
From: Toronto, Canada

the more ram in any Amiga the merrier

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle