Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6029 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
88 crawler(s) on-line.
 10 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  13 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  28 mins ago
 redfox:  37 mins ago
 michalsc:  1 hr ago
 zErec:  1 hr 11 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 bison:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 bhabbott:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 mritter0:  1 hr 37 mins ago
 Karlos:  1 hr 44 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  About zorroII 16bit ram in a machine with 32bit ram on the accelerator.
Register To Post

PosterThread
Simon 
About zorroII 16bit ram in a machine with 32bit ram on the accelerator.
Posted on 4-Jan-2022 10:05:08
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 999
From: Antwerp / Belgium

As the title says I have a question about this subject.

I have an A2000 with a FusionForty and 32bit fastram and also in this machine I have 6mb on the GVP Impact HC+8 mainly because it's needed for DMA to speed up the hard drive.

Some people says this slows down my machine but when ? Does it use the 32bit ram first and the the 6mb on the GVP ? A situation that will almost never happen because when will I use 32mb fastram ? Or is it random and is my machine slower all the time ?

I could swap the GVP with Gururom for a Buddha. The Buddha is faster in Sysinfo but is it ? I have zero to none processor time left with that card when I run tests. The Rawspeed of the GVP is 3.3mb btw so if also someone can tell me why diskspeed ( filesystem speed I guess ) is half of that ?

Last edited by Simon on 04-Jan-2022 at 10:48 AM.

_________________
- Proud Member Of The Belgian Amigaclub Since 2003 -

The Belgian Amiga Club on FACEBOOK !

The Belgian Amiga Club Website

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zipper 
Re: About zorroII 16bit ram in a machine with 32bit ram on the accelerator.
Posted on 4-Jan-2022 13:27:50
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Jul-2005
Posts: 270
From: finland

@Simonc
No, it doesn't slow as Amiga uses the fastest memory first. Tried onde with my A4000 with 128 MB on Cyberstorm, 16 MB on the MoBo and finally 4 MB on ZorroII memory. Filled RAM up until ZorroII came to use. Then a real crawl began!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Simon 
Re: About zorroII 16bit ram in a machine with 32bit ram on the accelerator.
Posted on 4-Jan-2022 22:55:48
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 999
From: Antwerp / Belgium

@zipper

That I can work with

_________________
- Proud Member Of The Belgian Amigaclub Since 2003 -

The Belgian Amiga Club on FACEBOOK !

The Belgian Amiga Club Website

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle