Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6054 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
88 crawler(s) on-line.
 9 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 THRIVECoworkingCumming:  18 mins ago
 JKD:  19 mins ago
 tygre:  2 hrs 18 mins ago
 dalek:  2 hrs 32 mins ago
 Trekiej:  3 hrs 15 mins ago
 Hypex:  4 hrs 7 mins ago
 eliyahu:  4 hrs 24 mins ago
 dframeli:  4 hrs 28 mins ago
 Karlos:  4 hrs 36 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  4 hrs 39 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  [POLL] Do you use Envoy on your Amigas?
Register To Post

Poll : Do you use Envoy on your LAN-connected Amigas?
Yes - like the poll says, using Envoy is a no-brainer
No, but I intend to try it out
No, but I have actually used it before
 
PosterThread
Petah 
[POLL] Do you use Envoy on your Amigas?
Posted on 22-Jun-2022 18:44:11
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 426
From: EU <3 ❤️

Most Amiga users likely know that there are several different networking options available for AmigaOS. Apart from TCP/IP based networking services like Roadshow (developed and maintained by AmigaOS developer Olaf 'Olsen' Barthel) and support for Novell networks (using software developed by Oxxi), using Commodore's native AmigaOS networking service Envoy can be thought of as a no-brainer for any Amiga user with two or more Amiga systems on their LAN. Since Envoy supports all OS releases from 2.0 to 4.1, compatibility is pretty much ensured for 99% of all Amiga users. Similar to Novell, Envoy offers features such as media sharing but unlike other networking options, Envoy is written exclusively for AmigaOS with tight system integration and resource efficency. Moreover, third party developers will likely enjoy Envoy's OS conforming, friendly API.

In this AmigaWorld.net Special Poll, you are kindly but firmly asked to raise your voice and let the site know about if you've ever used Envoy - or, for that matter, if you plan to.

_________________
That'll Put Marzipan In Your Pie Plate, Bingo
💻 Pro-Amiga, 🌍 Pro-Globalism, 🍅 Pro-Vegan & 🇪🇺 Pro-Joint EU Defense Intervention Initiative

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mobileconnect 
Re: [POLL] Do you use Envoy on your Amigas?
Posted on 22-Jun-2022 20:56:03
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jun-2003
Posts: 474
From: Unknown

Envoy is brilliant. Such a nicely put together piece of software. Shame that the guy who currently owns it won't open source it or sell the IP to anyone else. Or do anything with it himself.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
agami 
Re: [POLL] Do you use Envoy on your Amigas?
Posted on 23-Jun-2022 1:45:27
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2008
Posts: 964
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Petah

I have to admit that I have never tried it out, and I'm ashamed to say that I have always assumed that it has no usefulness in a contemporary context.

That said, I have habitually only had one Amiga actively on the network at a time using AmiTCP 4.2, while the others are stored away. But recently I have had both the A4000 and Vampire SA V4+ concurrently on the network.

I think it's time I look into Envoy and see what it's all about.

@Mobileconnect
If that is the status of Envoy code/progress, then that is very unfortunate.

_________________
All the way, with 68k

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: [POLL] Do you use Envoy on your Amigas?
Posted on 23-Jun-2022 9:14:20
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2123
From: Trondheim, Norway

Using Envoy alongside an IP stack is troublesome*, and doesn’t really offer more than what Amiga NetFS (which actually is maintained) offers.

* (sharing sana2 device, not all sana2.devices understand that they can be shared.. Envoy and bsd stacks having reversed uid/gid numbering and more)

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mobileconnect 
Re: [POLL] Do you use Envoy on your Amigas?
Posted on 23-Jun-2022 12:32:44
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 13-Jun-2003
Posts: 474
From: Unknown

@kolla

Personally I would do this: Use Envoy on top of a virtual slip device i.e. netser.device to connect two machine point to point, over TCP/IP, rather than using Envoy's own 'Envoy / Ethernet' protocol

Why? For the fun of it.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle