Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6096 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
50 crawler(s) on-line.
 29 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 BigD,  fatbob_gb

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 fatbob_gb:  2 mins ago
 BigD:  3 mins ago
 Seiya:  11 mins ago
 matthey:  18 mins ago
 amigang:  28 mins ago
 pixie:  37 mins ago
 Karlos:  56 mins ago
 clint:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 kamelito:  1 hr 17 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 47 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  General Technology (No Console Threads)
      /  Amiga x5000/spencer
Register To Post

PosterThread
Tiw1 
Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 21-Nov-2023 0:22:33
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2018
Posts: 30
From: Unknown

Hi , so after downloading updates from amisphere, the Spencer program opens to open the fonts and is password protected. So went to see about the power preferences that is required and supposed to work in the preferences drawer and its not there.purchased enhancer 2.x , download last night . HD audio also not here, multiedit, and warp 3D nova bridge library, but warp 3D_GCN library is. I think only the nova bridge is a separate program. But makes no sense that the other two are not, especially the power preference one? Bought enhancer 2.0 a long time ago and dont remember ever seeing the power preference one , thanks . Let me clarify what happened, purchased enhancer 2.0 a while back. Downloaded from amistore, it took forever and was never correctly installed. So they said to do it from the updater which I did last night . But it appears that it is missing those aforementioned parts, thanks again . Also Spencer is1.0 version, I think its up too 1.3?

Last edited by Tiw1 on 21-Nov-2023 at 12:31 AM.
Last edited by Tiw1 on 21-Nov-2023 at 12:26 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
geen_naam 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 21-Nov-2023 21:31:55
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2003
Posts: 134
From: The Netherlands

@Tiw1

I am not sure what you are trying to say here.

Spencer needs Warp3dNova. Warp3dnova is part of enhancer. (Which you apparently have.) Warp3dnova needs a Warp3dNova compatible Radeon HD or Radeon RX gfx card. Drivers for those cards are also part of Enhancer.
The power prefs is only there to be able to switch a Radeon RX between high power and low power mode. High power means higher performance and more energy consumption.

You can download the Spencer demo from os4depot.

The hdaudio driver from from Enhancer only supports the HD audio chip on the X1000. Not generic HD audio cards.

And if you have questions about the X5000, Enhancer or Amigaos4 in general, better head over to amigans.net




Last edited by geen_naam on 21-Nov-2023 at 09:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DiscreetFX 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 22-Nov-2023 1:34:34
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Feb-2003
Posts: 2422
From: Chicago, IL

Spencer says, Ill meet you at the crossroads of Enhancer and Radeon.

_________________
Sent from my Quantum Computer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tiw1 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 22-Nov-2023 20:48:49
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2018
Posts: 30
From: Unknown

@DiscreetFX

Hi , thanks for the info.However its a little jumbled because I was trying to explain it the way it was unfolding.The power preferences should be in the preferences drawer, it is not . Also one other , I think notepad or something. This is a brand new installation. Everything that I bought should be there. I bought several programs. Not just one game.The warp 3D si I bought and decided to keep anyway to support the people working on it. I did try to exchange it but was told it would cost me 50% of what I paid.For a simple game that requires other software to work it is a little disconcerting. Especially when you purchase everything that is required.Although there was feedback to help with the situation, it never resolved it , thanks again. Any help would be greatly appreciated. It is an X5000/ Radeon 7750 1 gig / 8 gig of ram. Basically what I mean is that this should have been a very good experience.also I never downloaded the warp 3d till recently so trying to exchange it because at that time I never downloaded it.

Last edited by Tiw1 on 22-Nov-2023 at 08:51 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
geen_naam 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 23-Nov-2023 11:53:13
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2003
Posts: 134
From: The Netherlands

@Tiw1

Quote:
....The power preferences should be in the preferences drawer, it is not ....Radeon 7750 ...


The Radeon 7750 is a Radeon HD card. So power prefs for Radeon RX should not be installed. Power prefs is only for Radeon RX cards.

All other programs, like mulitviewer, which are part of Enhancer are getting installed by default to their default location. Unless you choose otherwise (uncheck the box or change the target location).

If you have bought Warp3D SI and want to change it for somethig else and still get 50% off is very generous. Normally you can't get a refund for software because you could have made a copy or e.g. have finished playing a game.

The thing that is unclear to me is where you need help? And like I've said before, if you want help, go to amigans.net . This website is not very friendly towards Amiga NG products or, ironically, amiga in general.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tiw1 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 23-Nov-2023 13:14:16
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2018
Posts: 30
From: Unknown

@geen_naam

Hi its Tom. Thanks for the reply.However I think I brought them all at the same time.When I was informed by someone in the forum that warp 3d was part of enhancer 2.0 ws when I tried to exchange it. Also I was told nova bridge is a better option,If you are familiar with the place of purchase it clearly says whether or not you downloaded it. At that time I did not. Please reads the post. As others here have said it is confusing as to what is needed or not. I have been in the amiga off and and on for decades.I do not think a50% haircut is fair for a digital download. And lastly after downloading enhancer 2.0 thru the regular download the x5000 driver for the Ethernet was there in name only after a few kind people told me what to check it was found that there was no driver, just the name only.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 23-Nov-2023 16:25:27
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 11058
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Tiw1

So is Spencer password protected? I bought Enhancer Plus 1.5 for my X1000 along with Spencer and didn't see this. Which installed fine at the time.

Updater lists Spencer version as 1.0 under Packages. As well as Warp 3D Nova, SI and GCN under Libs. Versions 54.16 locally but 1.85 remote.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
geen_naam 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 23-Nov-2023 19:04:45
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2003
Posts: 134
From: The Netherlands

@Hypex

Iirc Spencer has a data archive that is password protected. So maybe he tries to execute the wrong binary

Last edited by geen_naam on 23-Nov-2023 at 07:05 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 25-Nov-2023 16:00:24
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 11058
From: Greensborough, Australia

@geen_naam

Okay I see that after opening it. But you run it from an icon. So something is wrong there. Haven't loaded it in a while. Just did then and it did offer a 1.3 update. So you need to open it to update itself.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 26-Nov-2023 10:15:41
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5047
From: New Zealand

@Tiw1

Your description of what you've done and what's going wrong isn't making sense to me. Pretty much everyone else simply install the enhancer pack & Spencer, and then it just runs. There's no need to mess with power preferences, or anything else. The only times I heard of trouble, was when someone manually copied things to the wrong place (e.g., copying Warp3D Nova drivers to the old Warp3D's drivers directory).

It sounds like files may have been corrupted, either during download or afterward. I don't see why else Spencer would be having trouble opening fonts (if that is indeed what's happening; you're description is a bit vague).

I can't even tell if you did indeed download and install the 2.x enhancer pack, because I've never heard of bits being missing. It is possible to choose which enhancer components to install, but that's a manual process and you should know which parts you skipped.

My only suggestion would be to download everything again, and install from scratch.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tiw1 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 26-Nov-2023 19:03:23
#11 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2018
Posts: 30
From: Unknown

@Hans

Ok so did reinstall of enhancer. Now I get this error which seems more normal and now no more password for fonts issue. This assertion Miniglbase ! = NULL failed file. autoinit minigl base .c . Line 31

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: Amiga x5000/spencer
Posted on 27-Nov-2023 7:18:42
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 5047
From: New Zealand

@Tiw1

Quote:
Ok so did reinstall of enhancer. Now I get this error which seems more normal and now no more password for fonts issue. This assertion Miniglbase ! = NULL failed file. autoinit minigl base .c . Line 31

Check LIBS: for minigl.library. MiniGL is part of AmigaOS 4, so it's strange that Spencer is unable to find it. If it's missing, then you can either restore it from your AmigaOS 4 CD, or download it from os4depot.net

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle