Poster | Thread |
ncafferkey
|  |
PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 10:01:06
| | [ #1 ] |
|
|
 |
AROS Core Developer  |
Joined: 7-Jul-2003 Posts: 275
From: Unknown | | |
|
| Hi,
I'm trying to write a device driver for a PCI card under OS4pre, but I can't seem to activate the card's memory-mapped IO space. I've locked the device and called WriteConfigWord(PCI_COMMAND, PCI_COMMAND_MEMORY). Do I need to do more? At the moment I just get eg. 0B0B0B0B throughout the card's IO space. |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Rogue
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 10:21:05
| | [ #2 ] |
|
|
 |
OS4 Core Developer  |
Joined: 14-Jul-2003 Posts: 3999
From: Unknown | | |
|
| @ncafferkey
Normally, U-Boot should already have configured the card. If the card properly flags one of its BAR's as I/O, it should have the I/O bit in PCI_COMMAND enabled as well.
Make sure that you use the InByte/OutByte (or Word or Long) for that.
What kind of card is this? _________________ Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
ncafferkey
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 12:49:14
| | [ #3 ] |
|
|
 |
AROS Core Developer  |
Joined: 7-Jul-2003 Posts: 275
From: Unknown | | |
|
| @Rogue
Quote:
Rogue wrote: @ncafferkey
Normally, U-Boot should already have configured the card. If the card properly flags one of its BAR's as I/O, it should have the I/O bit in PCI_COMMAND enabled as well.
Make sure that you use the InByte/OutByte (or Word or Long) for that.
|
It's working now. I noticed that UBoot 1.0.0's 'pci' command wasn't listing the card, but PCIScan did, and I'm sure I was accessing the right card in the driver. I moved the card to a different slot and it worked. It had been in the slot next to the AGP slot on my A1SE (that's the 66MHz one, isn't it?). Thanks for the UBoot hint.
Quote:
What kind of card is this? |
It's an 11Mbps wireless network card. |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Bean
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 12:58:09
| | [ #4 ] |
|
|
 |
Super Member  |
Joined: 4-Apr-2003 Posts: 1225
From: U.K. | | |
|
| @ncafferkey
Quote:
It's an 11Mbps wireless network card. |
Good luck with it. The more drivers the better!
Bean.
_________________ OS4.1 + SAM Flex RIP my A1XE.. that used to have an appetite for batteries! |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Spirantho
 |  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 13:48:54
| | [ #5 ] |
|
|
 |
Super Member  |
Joined: 4-Jun-2004 Posts: 1045
From: Aberystwyth, Wales | | |
|
| Absolutely... drivers will be pivotal.
Myself I want to write drivers, but I need native P96 libraries before I can really do so (determined to get WinTV card working on it!). I know I'm not the only one wanting to do so, though....
|
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
miksuh
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 14:09:32
| | [ #6 ] |
|
|
 |
Cult Member  |
Joined: 10-Mar-2003 Posts: 731
From: Espoo, Finland | | |
|
| @ncafferkey
It's an wery good idea to make WLAN driver,good luck with your project :) |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
gnarly
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 14:53:52
| | [ #7 ] |
|
|
 |
Cult Member  |
Joined: 16-Mar-2003 Posts: 742
From: Cheltenham, UK | | |
|
| @SpiranthoQuote:
A 54mpbs wlan card?  _________________
|
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Wed
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 15:02:40
| | [ #8 ] |
|
|
 |
Regular Member  |
Joined: 22-Mar-2004 Posts: 122
From: L-A, Sweden | | |
|
| @Spirantho
How about setting up a webpage listing drivers in progress?
A driver repository ...
This way, efforts can be directed to devices not yet supported without wasting energy for several writing drivers for one device.
Just a thought. |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
tomazkid
 |  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 15:02:49
| | [ #9 ] |
|
|
 |
Team Member  |
Joined: 31-Jul-2003 Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden | | |
|
| @gnarly
and USB-bluetooth dongles... 
and.... and....
So keep them coming !  _________________ Site admins are people too..pooff! |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Spirantho
 |  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 15:21:47
| | [ #10 ] |
|
|
 |
Super Member  |
Joined: 4-Jun-2004 Posts: 1045
From: Aberystwyth, Wales | | |
|
| @tomazkid
I think Bluetooth is a different matter entirely.. it's not just a matter of a driver, more a communication package, I suppose... not that I really know much about bluetooth, to be honest, but it's more than just a driver I'm sure.
A 54Mbps WLAN card, however... that is just a driver - a SANA-II one at that, I suppose, so quite well specified.
However, I agree there should be a repository for open-source drivers, where people can report their successes, and work on drivers... it would be very useful! I have the webspace, but not the bandwidth or the time - how about someone on this very board, or else intuitionbase?
|
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
GazSP
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 15:25:17
| | [ #11 ] |
|
|
 |
Regular Member  |
Joined: 28-Apr-2004 Posts: 394
From: Bristol, UK | | |
|
| @Spirantho
The source code to the Bluez bluetooth stack would probably be a good place to start. _________________ ... |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Wed
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 15:41:37
| | [ #12 ] |
|
|
 |
Regular Member  |
Joined: 22-Mar-2004 Posts: 122
From: L-A, Sweden | | |
|
| @Spirantho
When I come to think of it, Universal Space is made for exactly this. It will cost a little something to get a project going.
If I can get the benefit of a driver or two when my time comes, I will happily chip in a few cents.
But it doesn't cost anything to ask. I will send a question tonight.
Universal Space |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|
Rogue
|  |
Re: PCI programming Posted on 29-Jul-2004 16:05:16
| | [ #13 ] |
|
|
 |
OS4 Core Developer  |
Joined: 14-Jul-2003 Posts: 3999
From: Unknown | | |
|
| @ncafferkey
Quote:
I noticed that UBoot 1.0.0's 'pci' command wasn't listing the card, but PCIScan did, and I'm sure I was accessing the right card in the driver. I moved the card to a different slot and it worked. |
Ah yes, the 66MHz PCI slot doesn't work when there is an AGP card inserted, and it doesn't clock back to 33Mhz. Some cards can take it (some Voodoo models for example) but many cards fail to work properly._________________ Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail |
|
Status: Offline |
|
|