Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5526 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 52 guest(s) on-line.
 5 member(s) on-line.


-Sam-, OlafS25, Overflow, more...

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 michalsc:  12 secs ago
 Overflow:  57 secs ago
 -Sam-:  1 min ago
 wawa:  2 mins ago
 OlafS25:  4 mins ago
 evilFrog:  15 mins ago
 ChrisH:  16 mins ago
 Epsilon:  30 mins ago
 DrProcton:  32 mins ago
 Pierre55:  34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
AmigaOldskooler 
Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 9-Jan-2017 19:13:23
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 98
From: Unknown

Hi folks,

The 7th issue of Versus by Nukleus and Void is now available on AmigaOS 4 as well.

You can download it from here:

Versus AmigaOS 4

Hope you'll enjoy it! :)

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 Blog (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 10-Jan-2017 19:20:23
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10440
From: Norway

@AmigaOldskooler

Excellent work, I will enjoy the music and what you have done.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 10-Jan-2017 at 08:38 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaOldskooler 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 11-Jan-2017 8:10:16
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2015
Posts: 98
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Thanks for the feedback. :)

There will be more AmigaOS 4 demo stuff from Void in the near future.

_________________
Old School Game Blog (oldschoolgameblog.com)
Gaming on AmigaOS 4 Blog (amigaos4gaming.wordpress.com)
Void demo group (amigavoid.wordpress.com)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 11-Jan-2017 11:42:26
#4 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

hitto2c.mod rulz :)
Little of articles, and they small, as well as not much of music, but hey hey ! its diskmag in 2017 for os4 ! how cool is that :)

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 12-Jan-2017 14:22:16
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@AmigaOldskooler

Thanks for your work but I find it buggy so unable to read it. The first time I ran it I chose Hi mode. The front screen opened with music. I checked WB and back with an Amiga N/M then pressed left mouse. It froze and the music looped. Thought it may have been a glitch so tried again after a reset. Got a grey screen. Tried again on Lo mode. Grey screen again. A1XE/G3.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Menthos 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 12-Jan-2017 18:22:20
#6 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 261
From: Bureć / Sweden

@Hypex

Hello. I'm the coder of the os4 version. Any error messages from the chartmag? Never had grey screens on my XE G4 that I can remember. Left mouse on title screen should show the content page.

I can try to rebuild with newer SDK as the os4 exe is the same used in the last issue (pre FE I think). Have Versus #6 for os4 the same problems for you?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 12-Jan-2017 18:44:44
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@Hypex
Did opengl/warp3d works for you at all ?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 13-Jan-2017 10:31:22
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Menthos

Thanks for your reply. I didn't see any error messages. Strange as it was a fresh reboot tended to make it worse.

I haven't tried Versus #6 as this is the first Versus I can recall checking out. But I was testing it on an Update 6 system so not fully up to date. That said an newer SDK may help.

Perhaps I should drag out my serial cable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 13-Jan-2017 10:31:51
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@kas1e

AFAIK that does work last time I checked.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 13-Jan-2017 17:47:01
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10440
From: Norway

@Hypex

Hemm, maybe they used nice OS4.1 Final features, like True Color Pens, lots Picasso96 stuff was moved into graphic library in FE.

Silly to expect everyone to check for latest libraries you better upgrade.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 14-Jan-2017 12:13:46
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

That's not silly. That's the standard Amiga way for years. For major revisions with new functions it used to be a simple version number to the library open call. For minor checks it down to checking revision.

In any case I have upgraded, on the clean volume I use for testing. On my main volume it remains at Update 6 because there is no tool to migrate system settings and tools or back then up. I don't have time to spend hours doing this myself so until upgrades are brought back or there is a new tool Update 6 on my main volume shall remain.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 14-Jan-2017 12:30:03
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3094
From: Russia

@Hypex
Quote:

I don't have time to spend hours doing this myself so until upgrades are brought back or there is a new tool Update 6 on my main volume shall remain.


Then, when you loose other ppls time by testing stuff on your dated update6 install, don't forget to point out about it in first place :) Taking aside that you live with the bugs and problems which was fixed since update6 (don't ask me which ones, there is many).

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 14-Jan-2017 14:33:49
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10440
From: Norway

@Hypex

Sure it lazy to not check version and print some to user like

"You have too old library x.xx, please upgrade or something."

But not everyone is going to do it, and there is lot software, that you won't be able to run.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 14-Jan-2017 14:42:39
#14 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10440
From: Norway

@Hypex

"There is no tool to migrate system settings and tools or back then up"

Well that’s an excuse, I can partly agree with, the problem is old IFF format used by prefs files that we have suck with, that is basically chunks of RAW data, with section id and section size.

This make it impossible make changes the files with breaking something. And crashing IPrefs, most likely. As long as you copy prefs files but not replace or overwrite any of the newer files there should be problem.

I'm sure the old Prefs files where nice on AmigaOS3.x as they did not require a lot of space, there where not lot ram to use back then.

Copying this prefs files from older system to a newer system will get you into trouble.

The rest is simple copy all libraries from older system, make sure not over write any of newer files.
Do the same for reaction and MUI.


When you think of it the design is not prefect, IPrefs keeps a copy of the same data that is in ENV:, the idea that you need keep a copy of something in ENV: when that something is loaded i IPrefs is idiotic.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jan-2017 at 02:47 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 14-Jan-2017 at 02:44 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 16-Jan-2017 4:50:25
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@kas1e

Quote:
Then, when you loose other ppls time by testing stuff on your dated update6 install, don't forget to point out about it in first place :)


It's not that dated. OS4.0 July update us dated.

I can run MUI5 and can't even list software that won't work except for the new shell.

In any case, the hidden readme doesn't state I need FE, it just states I need one of two screen modes. And both screen modes are narrow-screen and dated.

BTW tested on FE and get same grey screen. Do I also need latest update?

Last edited by Hypex on 16-Jan-2017 at 10:04 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 16-Jan-2017 5:21:41
#16 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
But not everyone is going to do it, and there is lot software, that you won't be able to run.


It's not known if this is the problem in this particular example. But this is basic AmigaOS programming and if someone doesn't want to put basic checks in they shouldn't be programming the Amiga or any OS in that case. If there is a lot of buggy software that crashes instead of checking and telling me what it needs then I don't want it on my system anyway.

There's enough OS4 systems and people complaining about software that crashes or doesn't work as it is. We don't need more.

But it wasn't my intention to talk about crashing software and go off topic in this thread about happy news of a new Versus. Yes I still have an issue but hope it will be solved after find the problem.

That said...

Quote:
When you think of it the design is not prefect, IPrefs keeps a copy of the same data that is in ENV:, the idea that you need keep a copy of something in ENV: when that something is loaded i IPrefs is idiotic.


I don't any major problem with IPrefs or how prefs files are stored in binary. But the ENV: and ENVARC: are an old system. In any case one represented a local copy or memory cache and the other permanent storage. So used for temporary or permanent settings. And AFAIK both are merged into a single ENV: now.

There is libraries yes. And along with it assigns. And where ever else programs store files on the system as well as them selves. Suddenly the MOS way of seperation is looking good. Going clean and reinstalling software can take even longer even if that is preferred.

Apart from that there is AmiDock which can be a pain to recreate. It also had some bug where docks go missing. And needs relative dock positions.

Last edited by Hypex on 17-Jan-2017 at 10:08 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Menthos 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 16-Jan-2017 17:47:34
#17 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 261
From: Bureć / Sweden

@Hypex

Versus #6 was released 2010. It is the same exe now and then. System req on os4depot was 4.0 and minigl. Please test that one if it is running ok? Are all #7 files present in the file structure? Re-unpack the files again.
As you did not have an uptodate system and the exe is built with an old SDK I see no point in rebuilding it with the latest SDK right now.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 16-Jan-2017 22:45:29
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10440
From: Norway

@Hypex

I don't use AmiDock, I use my Exlaibur start menu, so I wont know.
(I have been too lazy to update a fixed version for AmigaOS4 Final, that's another matter)

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Jan-2017 at 10:46 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 18-Jan-2017 11:21:41
#19 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Menthos

I tried #6 and got the same result. Grey screen. Total lockup. I don't mind lockups if I can reboot and check out the debug buffer but total ones leave no clue.

BTW what happened to the previous 5? Didn't see them on the depot. Like to see things from the start, hate watching from the middle.

I've checked the archives and they both seem to be okay. But I'll check again. Can you give me an MD5 of the archives? Thanks.

Last edited by Hypex on 19-Jan-2017 at 10:19 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Versus 7 is out for AmigaOS 4!
Posted on 18-Jan-2017 11:23:46
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 8207
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Looks like a nice one. Bit of history there. Well you certainly solve the issue of restoring docks with your start menu.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle