Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6096 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
47 crawler(s) on-line.
 49 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 cdimauro

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 cdimauro:  4 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  8 mins ago
 pixie:  11 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  12 mins ago
 arky:  16 mins ago
 ppcamiga1:  28 mins ago
 bhabbott:  49 mins ago
 blakespot:  4 hrs 13 mins ago
 kolla:  4 hrs 20 mins ago
 JKD:  5 hrs 5 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )
PosterThread
Toaks 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 5:48:05
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 8042
From: amigaguru.com

@jtubbs

maybe he will need a bugzilla site for all theese errors ?


spirantho: rock on, im just about to test it some more now, so maybe it will work now ..

maybe u can loan the gui system from pete gordon? (SUPERTV) (package made for supertv).

cheers

_________________
See my blog and collection website! . https://www.blog.amigaguru.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Toaks 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 6:20:37
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 8042
From: amigaguru.com

@Spirantho

tried amitv many times now and i get "most of the" times a grey window (empty) and sometimes a blue (empty but with distortion).

it exits when i click the window (always).

which input is supported ? , i only have a cable attached to the tvtuner (from my Cable Tv provider) , i ask because i noticed that u said earlier that only composite(?) was supported (maybe i read wrong...) ...

cheers

_________________
See my blog and collection website! . https://www.blog.amigaguru.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bodie 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 7:22:47
#63 ]
Super Member
Joined: 9-Jan-2003
Posts: 1439
From: Azjol-Nerub

@Toaks

I get the same results as you. I have a Hercules Smart TV Stereo card which IIRC also has a Conexant 878 chip.

Cheers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 9:42:22
#64 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

OK, some changes have been made - some progress (Yay!) and some problems (Boo!)

I've uploaded a newer version to www.retroreview.com/AmiTV.lha...

I think this version should now be much better at finding a picture, so please
everyone try it!
However, the picture is much worse! The FIFO on the card is overflowing far
too much, particularly when I do anything like move the mouse. However, there
is always a picture on my machine now!

This won't be a problem - possibly - when we get overlay code but I can't do
that till the OS4 update!
Please try this and see what happens - and yes, it does need a composite in!
I'm still working on the tuner code but it comes second to getting the composite
right!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 10:09:55
# ]

0
0

@Spirantho

Tested this new version...still blue blank window..both composite and S-Video inputs are plugged..bt878a conexant AverMediaTV PCI

Here is Amitv Outpout..

6.AMIGAOS:C> c:amitv
Found WinTV card 0x109e 0x36e!
Configured Bt878.
Locked OK!
Device capabilities: 3.
Device initialised OK!
Setting PCI configuration to enable memory access....
Status is 0x6019002.
Status is 0x6019002.
PCI Latency is 0x0.
Memory space is at 0xa0001000.
Cleared DMA CTL to 0x4000000.
Luma is at 0xd8.
Added interrupt 25 with result 1.
Interrupt status is 0xa0acff01.
PC before starting is 0x0203251c, should be0x02032500.
Vendor ID is 0x0.
Setting Bt878 input.
Current Status is 0xb4.
Input device: 0x1b.
Width: 768. Height: 576.
HDelay: 0x78 VDelay: 0x16,
Program being created at 0x02032500.
Created 1162 instructions.
PC before starting is 0x02032514, should be0x02032500.
PC is now 0x02032514.
DMA Control is 0x70000.
Output enable is 0x00000000.
Command status is 0x106.
Status is 0x290.
Interrupt status is 0xb000204.
Interrupt Status is 0x02000208.
Interrupt shows DMA controller is disabled.

Interrupt Mask is 0x00003810.

 
     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 10:23:10
#66 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Amigart

OK, try this version (another version uploaded now!).

This time, you should start off with a tuner display (which, of course, will
be just noise as I can't tune it yet!). Activate the window (click on the
title bar, not the window itself) and use the Up and Down arrow keys to go
between the inputs. There are 4 inputs - it should cycle round.

Anything yet? :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bodie 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 10:31:10
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 9-Jan-2003
Posts: 1439
From: Azjol-Nerub

@Spirantho

Yep, success here now :). Picture is abit dark, but there is definately a picture .

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 10:35:24
#68 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

What was the picture like? I expect it had loads of lines all over the place
and lots of distortion - am I right?

Glad someone else has finally got something!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bodie 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 10:38:17
#69 ]
Super Member
Joined: 9-Jan-2003
Posts: 1439
From: Azjol-Nerub

@Spirantho

Spot on . I'll take a screenshot as soon as I can.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
poweramiga2002 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 11:21:32
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2003
Posts: 1389
From: Flinders NSW Australia

@Spirantho
Gday i get broken scrambled picture but when i click on the window it disapeares heres the output from second release



AmiTV 07/08/04.
Found WinTV card 0x109e 0x36e!
Configured Bt878.
Locked OK!
Device capabilities: 3.
Device initialised OK!
Setting PCI configuration to enable memory access....
Status is 0x6019002.
Status is 0x6019002.
PCI Latency is 0x80.
Memory space is at 0xa0001000.
Cleared DMA CTL to 0x0.
Luma is at 0xd8.
Added interrupt 27 with result 1.
Interrupt status is 0x300e3003.
PC before starting is 0x04081240, should be0x0333e980.
Vendor ID is 0x0.
Setting Bt878 input.
Current Status is 0xb4.
Input device: 0x5b.
Width: 768. Height: 576.
HDelay: 0x78 VDelay: 0x16,
Program being created at 0x0333e980.
Created 1162 instructions.
PC before starting is 0x0333e994, should be0x0333e980.
PC is now 0x0333e994.
DMA Control is 0x70000.
Output enable is 0x00000000.
Command status is 0x106.
Status is 0x290.
Interrupt status is 0x8000006.
Interrupt Status is 0x09000004.

Interrupt Mask is 0x00003810.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
poweramiga2002 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 12:55:20
#71 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2003
Posts: 1389
From: Flinders NSW Australia

@Spirantho

ok should have read yor complete post seems like its ok when clicking just menubar
looking very good indeed
you are borbering on legandary status

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 14:05:21
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

Getting closer.... (slowly)...

I can get a reasonable but motion-blurred picture now, but in doing so I sacrifice
the consistent starting - it only starts about 1 in 10 times.
Otherwise, I can get it to start all the time, but the extra time taken in
servicing the interrupt (the FIFO overrun interrupt) means that it overflows
more and so makes the picture scrambled.

I'm not entirely sure that the problems I'm having aren't to do with the
fact I'm using the PreRelease of OS4... if the PCI bus handling is less than
optimal, then the Amiga can't keep up with the bandwidth needed for the picture!

Roll on the update.. it may make a big difference (or, alternatively, it may
not. :) )

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
giga 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 15:44:24
#73 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2004
Posts: 287
From: Unknown

@Spirantho

I can't remember which card I have,. it worked in my mediator so I think its the bt848 (someone correct me if i'm wrong). Atm my 1200 has died so its in this pc (installed it this morning. I'll check the chipset at some point.

I don't yet have an a1 or os4 but when I do count me in for beta testing

GiGa

_________________
Owner of uA1-C with OS4.0

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 7-Aug-2004 17:40:47
# ]

0
0

@Spirantho

YES!...It is working now :)....Cool :)

I am getting picture both on Composite and S-Video inputs :))
I connected my Sony Hi8 Video Camcorder on both ports..

The picture on both inputs are a bit dark....The picture coming from S-Video isn't in color..in grey...There are also distortions (strips on the picture)

Btw..I connected my Philips DVB Set Top Box via Composite Input...With this TV Input AmiTV freezes the whole OS4 system after some seconds...There is normal PAL TV Broadcasting coming from Set-Top Box...

No problems with Sony Hi-8 Video Camera....is TV signal any different ?

Thanks for your efforts...

 
     Report this post  
jtubbs 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 8-Aug-2004 1:59:51
#75 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2003
Posts: 396
From: Twin Falls, Idaho

@Spirantho

quote> I think this version should now be much better at finding a picture, so please everyone try it! < quote

Just a question...are you using PAL frequency timing? I'm only getting a blue window with static. I'm feeding my video camera into the composite so should get something. I don't know if pal/ntsc makes a difference in attempting to lock onto a signal.

(edit -- or, "How I learned to read the @#$% manual)
Found a post that mentioned using the up/down arrow keys, and was able to lock onto a signal. A picture is visible, however, the system locks up entirely as soon as the picture is locked, so I'm unable to even save the program output.

However, great progress is being made!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 9-Aug-2004 17:31:41
#76 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

New version uploaded! (www.retroreview.com/AmiTV.lha)

Keep on trying to run it until you get a nice picture! :)
It's getting better.. I still need to know why it doesn't always start up the
same, I need to check for anything uninitialised somewhere... but it's getting
better. Less crashes now too, probably because the interrupts are handled better!

It still relies on a PAL signal at the moment...

Please send comments etc.. to the usual address (Iang at amiganet dot org) !

Thanks!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Welshguy 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 9-Aug-2004 17:43:22
#77 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2004
Posts: 162
From: Cardiff, Wales

@Spirantho

Excellent to see constant updates to this program (and this thread!)

So what features do you have in mind for the finished program?

Daz

_________________
* Note: No bears were harmed in the creation of Welshguy's Avatar.
They were just threatened and told to dance at Gun-point

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spirantho 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 9-Aug-2004 21:28:07
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2004
Posts: 1044
From: Aberystwyth, Wales

@Welshguy

I envision 3 parts eventually - the bt848.library for the driver, the TV program
for interfacing with the library (change channel etc) and hopefully a VHI Studio
driver.
Hopefully we'll have MPEG-II or even 3ivX encoding, maybe hardware encoding if
the nice chaps at Conexant give me the right info. I figure if I can provide
the library then others can do the posh GUI and stuff (though I may do that
myself anyway!)

But first I just want something to watch TV on! :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Welshguy 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 9-Aug-2004 21:54:45
#79 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 27-Jun-2004
Posts: 162
From: Cardiff, Wales

@Spirantho

Thats excellent news - With the many Amiga programs discussed on here, unfortunately the main topic of conversation is usually what bugs they have, and how to get around them! It would be cool to see a really well programmed and feature-rich application.

On your point about the GUI, im sure many people on here would be able to help you out - you'd only have to ask! Again it would be nice to see a really well thought out and tested GUI

Daz

_________________
* Note: No bears were harmed in the creation of Welshguy's Avatar.
They were just threatened and told to dance at Gun-point

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
poweramiga2002 
Re: Bt848 WinTV card in OS4
Posted on 9-Aug-2004 22:32:31
#80 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2003
Posts: 1389
From: Flinders NSW Australia

@Spirantho
is the tuner suposed to be working or just composit and svideo?
i dont get tv picture but am in Aust may use different frequency

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle