Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
0 crawler(s) on-line.
 87 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hypex:  11 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  16 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 MagicSN:  1 hr 51 mins ago
 agami:  2 hrs 25 mins ago
 AmigaMac:  4 hrs 2 mins ago
 minator:  4 hrs 22 mins ago
 davidf215:  4 hrs 45 mins ago
 Karlos:  5 hrs 21 mins ago
 zipper:  7 hrs 20 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )
PosterThread
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:24:10
#161 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@NutsAboutAmiga

The whole window are purple, and crashes in the libs:picasso96api.library. After i press "ignore dsi", the same diagonal lines without any kind of alignment.


Quote:


try whit "IP96->P96GetBitMapAttr" I think your not using -D__USE_INLINE__ when you compile


I use -D__USE_INLINE__ , just libraries/picasso96.h are need it.

Last edited by kas1e on 29-Oct-2011 at 12:25 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:37:12
#162 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12851
From: Norway

@kas1e

Check that bm is not NULL.

// your code should look like this:

IP96->p96PIP_GetTags(My_Window, P96PIP_SourceBitMap , (ULONG)&bm ,
P96PIP_NumberOfBuffers, &numbuffers ,
TAG_END, TAG_DONE );

if (! (lock_h = IP96->p96LockBitMap(bm, (uint8 *)&ri, sizeof(struct RenderInfo))))
{
// Unable to lock the BitMap -> do nothing
return -1;
}


image_byte_width = p96GetBitMapAttr( bm ,P96BMA_BYTESPERROW);

// add this line to see if what value you get from p96BitmapAttr

EDIT: added missing p96 lock...
EDIT: printf does not work whit p96 lock...


Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:16 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:10 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:06 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:06 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:01 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 12:39 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:48:13
#163 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@NutsAboutAmiga

Of course is not, how else all of this will works, if "bm" used for all the p96 functions here. But just in case i checked - not null.

Anyway, i told you its not that easy as everyone expect. There is just mess code, which fully need to understand, and make proper realisation. Deniil loose whole evening to understand what wrong, and he out of ideas. And of course we trying hints from fab , and have no luck as well.

For now, i think that better just re-use Varthall's fix, and making gui works with overlayed window , there also need to understand fab's gui code and understand where changes need to do in that terms (again a lot of boring work to understand code done not by myself).

@all

What you think if i will just release now version which not crashes on exit, which have overlay support (but not from gui) ? I.e. you can use overlay from command line just like "mpllayer -vo p96_pip" for the window, and "mplayer -fs -vo p96_pip" for fullscreen (but in gui, there still will be plain cgx_wpa).

That of course will be a bit sucky , but:

- no alignment problems
- no crashes on exit
- overlay support (just not from gui).

So anyone can use it for all those getvideos, etc as he want. The only limitation will be is that you can't use gui with it.

We can fix it later if Deniil will have time and i will fine motivation, but i just fear it can take a lot of time to undestand all of this, and so, better to have for now better version than right now.

Or, we can worry about fixing all that crap (dunno how for long)

What you all prefer ?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:50:39
#164 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12851
From: Norway

@kas1e

Sorry me bad, from the autodocs.


you must have locked the bitmap with p96LockBitMap() before calling
p96GetBitMapAttr() with one of the following attributes, or you may
get incorrect results!


move it down under p96LockBitMap().

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:51:27
#165 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1616
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@kas1e

If it's faster (>2%) as well, it's well worth it.

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:54:59
#166 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@Thematic

Quote:

If it's faster (>2%) as well, it's well worth it.


On some heaavy video with overlay i have 45-50% of cpu loading, without - 68-72%.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 12:56:12
#167 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1616
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@kas1e

I meant actually operation of that mplayer with overlay vs. operation of old mplayerwith overlay.

Last edited by Thematic on 29-Oct-2011 at 12:57 PM.

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 13:12:36
#168 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@NutsAboutAmiga
Quote:


move it down under p96LockBitMap().


Grey screen, os freezes. With previous variant (at top), image_byte_width at least was real (1088), while video are 540 x 360.

And its freezes because you can't use printfs while you lock bitmap.




_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 13:14:00
#169 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12851
From: Norway

@kas1e

True the printf should not be there.

IExec->DebugPrintF works in P96 lock.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:20 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:19 PM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 13:31:15
#170 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@Thematic

I do few tests (for generic version), and on the same video, with the same settings for mplayers, i have (in the window mode):

afxgroup's one (from os4depot): cpu loading jumping from 50 to 68%. The middle value are 65%

fab's one: jumps from 42% to 52%, but the middlevalue are about 45%

By this, i can say that fab's mplayer faster on 20% even in overlay mode. I do not know of course why there is such big difference.. Maybe because for audio output SDL used by default .. I trying afxgroup's mplayer even without sound, and still, the middle value about 60% of loading. While fab's one without sound give 40-43% of cpu loading.

If you have some strings for benchmarking , feel free to put it here, i will test and put results back.

Last edited by kas1e on 29-Oct-2011 at 01:32 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Yescop 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 13:43:04
#171 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2005
Posts: 119
From: France

@kas1e

For me, I prefer a cli version now, the gui can wait.
I like clis, I am from old generation

Good work. Retrieve the faith...

YesCop

_________________
Amiga is alive and so am I !!

Conf:
Sam Flex 800 and OS4.1 FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 13:43:57
#172 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2348
From: Perugia, ITALY

@kas1e

for me release NOW the overaly version!

Its faster and no allign problem! What to ask more?

The GUI will come after...no problem! :)

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 14:01:15
#173 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Quote:

there also need to understand fab's gui code and understand where changes need to do in that terms (again a lot of boring work to understand code done not by myself).


You just have to take the CONFIG_GUI parts of cgx_overlay.c and add them in the equivalent places of the p96pip driver (which anyway has the same architecture as cgx_overlay since it was translated from it originally).

Fullscreen switching might require a bit of adaptation/rework, though, to be seen (but it's not related to GUI itself).

Last edited by Fab on 29-Oct-2011 at 02:06 PM.
Last edited by Fab on 29-Oct-2011 at 02:02 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SOFISTISOFTWARE 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 14:06:46
#174 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Dec-2003
Posts: 458
From: Latina, Italy

@kas1e

i think it's better to release it, the actual version isn't so stable...

_________________
Sam 460EX, 2Gb Ram, Radeon R7 250, AmigaOS4.1 FE
A4000 PPC604@233, Mediator
A1200 PPC603@160, Mediator
uA1 G3@800, 512 Mb [sold]

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 14:08:16
#175 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1616
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@kas1e

Yes, I heard it before but if you release it I can try some heavy lifting with it.

Actually sdl->ahi isn't faster (tried with ogg vorbis), but it clearly sounds better so that's fine. Also AC3 is decoded with a faster codec in MUI mplayer, which seems to make a large difference:

MUI mplayer 1.0:
Quote:

Selected audio codec: [ffac3] afm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg AC-3)
==========================================================================
AHI: Using 0x30002 AudioID.
AHI: Using 10584 bytes per chunk and 330 Kb for buffer
AO: [ahi] 48000Hz 2ch s16be (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...


BENCHMARKs: VC: 0.000s VO: 0.000s A: 2.946s Sys: 57.184s = 60.131s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 0.0000% VO: 0.0000% A: 4.9000% Sys: 95.1000% = 100.0000%


MPlayer for AmigaOS4 SVN-r29532-4.2.3:
Quote:

Selected audio codec: [a52] afm: liba52 (AC3-liba52)
==========================================================================
[AO SDL] Samplerate: 48000Hz Channels: Stereo Format s16be
AO: [sdl] 48000Hz 2ch s16be (2 bytes per sample)
Video: no video
Starting playback...


BENCHMARKs: VC: 0.000s VO: 0.000s A: 7.064s Sys: 53.114s = 60.178s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 0.0000% VO: 0.0000% A: 11.7386% Sys: 88.2614% = 100.0000%


The latter has ffac3 codec too, but it isn't used by default.

You can benchmark videos in general by: mplayer -endpos 40 -benchmark -quiet
(-quiet so that none of the players nonsensically output data of *every frame* to console)

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 14:52:13
#176 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3505
From: Italy, Perugia

@kas1e

Yeah release it, bit sad to not have overlay in GUI yet but we can wait ...

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 15:01:07
#177 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@samo79

Well, it's a matter of 5 minutes to make it support GUI mode.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 16:07:58
#178 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@Fab

As in case with p96 alignmnet, its also not so trivial and 5 minuts. After adding of necessary code from cgx_overlay, and run it as: mplayer -gui 1 -vo p96_pip, i, just have crash in the GetTimer() which come from GetRelativeTime(). Both comes from osdep/timer-morphos.c.

But gui are spawns, and while main mplayer task crashed, gui task are works, and i can press on buttons, etc. Just nothing plays, and in perferences/video driver only cgx_wpa is present.

Through of course the same code works with wpa_cgx, and so, imho its again point out on mess in the p96 driver. Or dunno where (code not my , so i can only imagine).

Last edited by kas1e on 29-Oct-2011 at 04:26 PM.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 16:31:38
#179 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@kas1e

Well, from what i remember, the p96 driver opens libs itself, that are already opened elsewhere by MPlayer (in morphos_stuff.c & co). It might cause some issues, i guess.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: mui-mplayer on amigaos4 thread / progress
Posted on 29-Oct-2011 16:36:25
#180 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3550
From: Russia

@Fab

As i see, p96 driver open only: p96library, layers.library, gadtools.library and application.library , and none of them opens by morphos_stuff.c

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle