Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5823 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
42 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Vidar

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Vidar:  1 min ago
 Daff:  18 mins ago
 towo2099:  20 mins ago
 cap:  26 mins ago
 mdr:  36 mins ago
 Tarzin:  39 mins ago
 sTix:  43 mins ago
 emeck:  47 mins ago
 BSzili:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  1 hr 32 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  New VIA686B 5.3 AHI driver and Mixer 1.16 on OS4depot
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
Snuffy 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 19:46:27
#21 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Oct-2005
Posts: 1121
From: Michigan, USA

Hi @DaveAE

I got the AC'97 chip and test soun worked. Thanks very much. Where's your PayPal link? :)




_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ikir 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 19:52:27
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2002
Posts: 5646
From: Italy

@Dave

Does cd in and volume controls works?

Any chance of balance control?



_________________
Amiga News.it
Sam460ex 1,15Ghz
2GB RAM, 120GB Crucial v4 SSD, 32GB SDHC
Radeon HD 6450 1GB

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:01:14
# ]

0
0

@DaveAE and all

Well, opened the case again and took a closer look. I assume you mean the
socket placed on the same line under the AGP-port slightly to the right of
it (if you open the case, you'll see the socket slightly to the right...

Well, my socket is an empty square one, with no chip, so i can forget about
trying the VIA-AC'97 AHI-driver then I'm happy with my SB Live! 5.1
soundcard until i get my TerraTec Aureon 7.1 Space

NOW we definitely know

Last edited by Helgis on 28-Oct-2005 at 08:03 PM.

 
     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:06:41
#24 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@JurassicC

JP34 can be used already with 5.2.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:09:05
#25 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@Helgis

No, it's not socketed.

5.3 will not show modes if you don't have the chip. The tool was removed, since it gave a wrong answer to someone. That may not occur and I don't see any possibility to fix it quickly. So, install the driver, and if you can't play the test sound, your're out of luck.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:09:48
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@ikir

In the next Mixer update. No balance control though, as with all cards.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gadgetgaz 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:13:16
#27 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 203
From: Yorkshire, UK

@DaveAE

A problem

The driver seems to play well with good sound quality. I sent you a paypal donation, cheers

The drivers need more work though, I can no longer do a CTRL, R-amiga L-amiga reset when AmigaAMP is playing an mp3 and also I get random clicks when streaming mp3 over my LAN using AmigaAMP.

Also, when I am listening to mp3s and download mail with Simplemail, the whole computer crashes (sometimes it doesn't actually crash just crawls along).

_________________
AmigaONE XE G4
____________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:22:04
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@gadgetgaz

Quote:
The drivers need more work though, I can no longer do a CTRL, R-amiga L-amiga reset when AmigaAMP is playing an mp3

Should be fixed in 5.3.

Can't help with the rest, it's an A1-thing.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:22:44
#29 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@Snuffy

Quote:
Where's your PayPal link? :)



It's paypal@audio-evolution.com, thanks!

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:27:07
# ]

0
0

@DaveAE

I'll give it a new try the. Which of the 3 connectors on the back plate
should i put the cable connected from my HIFI, too?

I'll try again

 
     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:31:40
#31 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

@Helgis

The green one.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:32:38
#32 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

Mixer 1.16 uploaded to OS4depot as well.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:41:10
# ]

0
0

@DaveAE

I try again, but i don't think it can play the test sound..

 
     Report this post  
Snuffy 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:43:55
#34 ]
Super Member
Joined: 25-Oct-2005
Posts: 1121
From: Michigan, USA

@DaveAE

Done! Thanks...

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 20:52:24
# ]

0
0

@DaveAE

I tried like you said. No testing sound. I think the answer is simple.
The onboard soundchip is not on my board...

 
     Report this post  
Matt 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 22:04:44
#36 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Nov-2003
Posts: 467
From: Sherborne, UK

@DaveAE

Thanks for all work work on the audio drivers etc. It's really appreciated.

_________________


AmigaOne XE-G4, 512MB RAM (AmigaOS 4.1)
Radeon 9250, Terratec Aureon 5.1
CDRW, DVDRW, SII0680

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moly 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 22:07:30
#37 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2004
Posts: 68
From: Unknown

@Helgis

Try with the checkAC97 program in the latest archive on OS4Depot...on my board there is an empty square socket under the AGP slot (on the right), but evindently this isn't the place of the Sigmatel chip because my AC97 driver work well .

Last edited by Moly on 28-Oct-2005 at 10:09 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 22:31:57
# ]

0
0

@Moly

I'll try it out again..

 
     Report this post  
DaveAE 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 22:36:25
#39 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 1091
From: The Netherlands

Before anyone complains. The new mixer will always say you have a via686b (which is true), but doesn't check if you actually have the ac'97.

Last edited by DaveAE on 28-Oct-2005 at 10:36 PM.

_________________
Audio Evolution
http://www.audio-evolution.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: New VIA686B AHI driver on OS4depot
Posted on 28-Oct-2005 22:50:56
# ]

0
0

@DaveAE

Tested now. I have the new mixer and i tried the new VIA-AC97 AHI-driver.
This time the modes weren't showing up. That means i don't have the chip,
right?

 
     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle