Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5828 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
82 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  33 mins ago
 Steady:  2 hrs 29 mins ago
 Hammer:  2 hrs 42 mins ago
 noXLar:  3 hrs 12 mins ago
 A1200coder:  4 hrs 5 mins ago
 colinw:  4 hrs 5 mins ago
 gryfon:  4 hrs 17 mins ago
 tonyw:  4 hrs 38 mins ago
 jaokim:  4 hrs 40 mins ago
 1Mouse:  4 hrs 47 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )
PosterThread
terminator 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:27:13
#141 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 19-Nov-2003
Posts: 322
From: Unknown

I had trouble creating a bootable CD on OSX with Toast Titanium.

But I figured it out...

Go to the "Copy" tab, set it for "image file" in the side window, select the ISO file from the update archive that you unpacked earlier, and burn.

Worked like a charm.


Last time I clicked on the image ISO file, Toast opened, with the contents of the file as a new disc, and I dumped a bunch of other files for transfer into the disc as well. But it wouldn't boot!

It is sort of a waste to burn a whole disc for 10 megs.

At least I archived the update onto the non-booting disc for future use.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Reaps 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:42:45
#142 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-May-2005
Posts: 283
From: Perth, Australia

@Mr_Capehill

Quote:
Warp3D demos? Or do you mean *MiniGL* demos? The MiniGL demos that use shared MiniGL.library are known to freeze the system on certain configuration. You can actually work around this by running a Warp3D program first (face demo, warpview).

Argh! This doesn't work for me. I can start warpview and show pictures, rotate them etc, but if I start gears after this, there is still a big chance of the system locking up.

*sigh* I think I'll go do my happy dance for a while... see if that helps.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:45:55
#143 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@wegster
More updates. let me know if I've missed anything significant, going back through threads now..

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:53:06
#144 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@zErec

Quote:
How do I activate the scroll wheel?
I use a ps2 logitech mouse and when I boot up the installCD (pre4 of course)
the wheel worked after booting my fresh installation it doesn´t work.
I copied gkrach´s prefs fpr AmigaInput. Still no change

Any hints???

AFAIK, nothing special is required here, it should 'just work,' although some odler apps will likely stop seeing the scroll events because of the new system.

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:54:32
#145 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@Reaps

Quote:
Wegster... further oddities (although a solution).

I fired up the UBoot prefs program, set the sii3112 properties to what I wanted, saved (it asked for confirmation of the write of the variables), reboot and its running in UDMA 70 again.

Don't know if this affects anything other than the 3112...


Yes, I think the uBoot Prefs program is hosed in several ways, but not enough time to test each option and compare. I know at a minimum it ignores or resets stdin from usbkbd, and seem to recall seeing the same thing- claiming UDMA mode for sii3112 when idetool was reporting PIO mode..

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 12-Feb-2006 23:57:45
#146 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@CodeSmith

Quote:
@wegster

Nope, the IGNOREFOCUS tooltype doesn't affect that behavior. I even tried doing a hard (ctrl-alt-alt) reboot.


Ahh, heck. Ok, can you provide instructions to reproduce, along with expected vs actual behavior? Will confirm it and add to the list.

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 0:23:57
#147 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

Mass update and re-org of first post/'FAQ'. Hopefully it's better nowgrouped into diff categories?


_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Paul 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 2:10:09
#148 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 7-Mar-2003
Posts: 625
From: Michigan

@wegster

re: lpr:

Quote:
Yeah, I wish I'd written up some notes on this one myself


"It's Baaaaaack!"

Under update three, I don't know if this behavior is expected/normal, but in printer prefs I was unable to use the requestor to try choosing lpr. device, if I had checked "Use custom device." No matter what I did with the file chooser (just plain old #?) no files would show up in the requestor. But even left on the default Parallel, lpr: still "just worked."

Under update 4, we can now choose devices in the devs directory. I'm still printing from prefs/graphic/parallel, or whatever the usual print requestor is in each program. But the main thing seems to be to select "Use custom device" and choose lpr: in the main printer prefs. The rest of lpr: setup is otherwise the same as it was under update 3.

Unfortunately JIT doesn't seem to provide much of a speedup for lpr:

Paul

_________________
Builder of Frankenthousand, the monster A1000
The Young Frankenthousand A1-XE G4

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
painter 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 3:05:11
#149 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Oct-2003
Posts: 681
From: Manitoba, Canada

@wegster

Another program I discovered isn't working is quicksketch. a neat little program
I like to use for rough sketches. and doodling. It loads fine but the cursor doesn't
draw anything. It's big loss to me. I'll try get intouch with the programer to
see if it can be fixed.
Overall speed and performance of programs that work is much improved. VHI Studio
is very swift now. Thumb is faster. Pefect paint even with the new fixed version
is no match for other paint programs. After I run it I have to reboot to get graphics
publisher to load.


painter

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mr_homm 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 6:25:54
#150 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 21-Mar-2003
Posts: 180
From: Seattle

OK, here's another question about what I THINK is a new feature. Hidden in Tools is a no-icon file called BIOSUpdater. It appears also in the tools submenu of the context menu for the Workbench background. I used it to see my UBoot version and to save a copy of my uboot file to my hard drive. It works very similarly to the facility in MediaToolbox for saving/restoring an RDB to disk. It appears to be able to update UBoot from within Amiga OS4 without having to boot from a special updater.iso file. Of course, a reboot afterwards is still required.

I don't find this tool in my update 3 installation, so I am assuming it is new. Now comes my (probably unusual) question: We are a two AmigaOne household, and my wife's machine is still running update#1 (because she's on the thing 24/7 and doesn't want the downtime for me to configure it for her after a clean install). Will this program run under update#1, and can I use it to update UBoot on her machine from inside a running AmigaOS4 Update1 installation? That would save me the effort of burning an updater.iso disk. (I don't have one left over from updating my own A1 -- I did that via tftp, which worked on my old linux installation, but doesn't work anymore on my new one, as I can't seem to configure it right.)

It seems to me that a live UBoot updater is most useful if it can bring older UBoot versions up to the current one, but that will only work if it runs reliably under older updates of OS4. If it really only works on update#4, then it can only be used for future UBoot updates, if any are in the pipeline. Since UBoot is pretty functional and hasn't been updated since last March, I don't expect a lot of updates in the near future.

Anyway, I seem to be talking myself out of trying this. Unless someone knows for sure that it will work, I'll just do the update the regular way. Any information out there?

--Stuart Anderson

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 8:40:25
#151 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5117
From: Right here...

@wegster

Nova Design's Aladdin4D now works with os4, ud4 for the first time.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 12:00:16
#152 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

@terminator

Get yourself a rewritable disc and nothing will be vasted.
I always use cdrw/dvdrw's. Normal ones for things i want
to have for a longer time like a backup for my own music.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mnemonic 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 12:05:52
#153 ]
Member
Joined: 6-May-2005
Posts: 23
From: VRT-Online

After installing Update4, I get the message "can't set workbench". I don't know what is wrong. I disabled the user-startup, powericons, wbstartup, but I still get this message. Any ideas whats wrong. Please don't say reinstall your system, thats no windows.

Last edited by Mnemonic on 13-Feb-2006 at 12:06 PM.

_________________
microAMIGAONE G3 750GX@800MHz RAM:256MB HD:250GB
-------------------------------------------------

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AV 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 12:09:23
#154 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2003
Posts: 184
From: Unknown

@wegster

Quote:


Yes, I think the uBoot Prefs program is hosed in several ways, but not enough time to test each option and compare. I know at a minimum it ignores or resets stdin from usbkbd, and seem to recall seeing the same thing- claiming UDMA mode for sii3112 when idetool was reporting PIO mode..


The actual setting you have has (nearly) nothing to do with what's set in UBoot. So you could have all units set to UDMA in UBoot, UBoot prefs showing so, but your actual units only doing PIO.
I hope you can see the difference.

About the usbkbd, the problem was fixed some time ago but it didn't make in the update in time. But it doesn't reset anything, as it only saves those variables which were modified.
The sad part of it is that no one of the 130+ beta testers found that such option was lacking.

Last edited by AV on 13-Feb-2006 at 12:10 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
lionstorm 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 17:33:38
#155 ]
Super Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 1565
From: the french side

issue wih warp3D :
system is A1G4 with ATI radeon 7500.

when using minigl or miniglnorlu in quake2, the system freezes totally after 2 seconds running the demo and a soft boot brings a black screen but a cold boot restores the system.
thats is in full screen because in window, I get a totally green window.
I launch warpview before and increase the stack of quake2 from 120ko to 500ko but still freezes.
added softsprite=yes and interrupt=yes in radeon tooltype but result is the same.

so still no 3D for radeon 7500, even if matrix screensaver works.

Lio

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sg2 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 17:46:46
#156 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2004
Posts: 223
From: Lyon, France

@AV

For those who use sii3112 / 3512 2 ports SATA controllers, and who complain that their UBoot envvars are not read by the drivers, I'm sure they RTFM'ed :)

The 3112/3512 envvar's length have been shortened to 2 chars (those controllers only support 2 ports).

Side bonus (to compensate for the annoyment :) is that all my drivers can handle up to 4 boards. See driver's docs about uboot envvars for boards >1.

Kind regards,
--
Stéphane

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spotUP 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 18:37:41
#157 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2896
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

'RAmiga+.' used to clean up the current window. But no more!!! :(

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samwel 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 18:52:16
#158 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Apr-2004
Posts: 3396
From: Sweden

@sg2

Who the f**k reads manuals? That's for n00bs!

_________________
/Harry

[SOLD] ”A1-C - 750GX 800MHz - 512MB - Antec Aria case

Avatar by HNL_DK!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
salass00 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 19:55:34
#159 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 2702
From: Finland

@spotUP

Quote:

'RAmiga+.' used to clean up the current window. But no more!!! :(


Works here.

Except it's left amiga + "." for me due to a certain program that I'm running...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Menthos 
Re: The Big Thread of Update 4 Issues and QnA- problems and solutions if known
Posted on 13-Feb-2006 20:40:49
#160 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 261
From: Bureć / Sweden

@Reaps

I too get lockups even after starting warpview... Too bad, I was really looking forward in developing in OpenGL/miniGL but with this constant lockups it's really no use even trying...

Hopefully we will not need to wait another 6 month for this to get fixed...

/Me

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle