Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
21 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  12 mins ago
 portarinos:  25 mins ago
 matthey:  35 mins ago
 agami:  50 mins ago
 Kraftwerk2:  51 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 1 min ago
 Jasper:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 Deniil715:  1 hr 55 mins ago
 utukku:  2 hrs 3 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )
PosterThread
acefnq 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 23-Jul-2006 13:06:39
#141 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2006
Posts: 617
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@Geri
I have just returned from 3 weeks holiday abroad and installed your kernel straight away. So far fantastic, no crashes at all. I made a clean Sarge install and copied over your kernel and modules, everything is working fine. I am just upgrading to Testing and will see how that goes. I use MOL a lot so I also tried installing and running it, the install allowed me to run molvconfig and recognised and saved the screenmodes but I was unable to start OS9, it appears to want to load but the screen just hangs black. I did not include dri or the GL modes in my X config so I don't think they is the problem.

I have an XE 933 G4 with 1GB ram limited to 600mb, I tried removing the memory limit in UBoot to no avail, is there any module I need to invoke to make the system use all of the memory or is that limitation still in place?

Anyway, thanks to you (and to the others who helped you) for your great efforts, it is good to have Linux so stable. I still have a disk with 2.4.26 setup that runs MOL and that is pretty solid but I still get the odd crash particularly in the boot up sequence. Hope we have some luck getting MOL to work.

cheers
ace

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 0:17:41
#142 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
@RacerX



That was a joke! Because you wrote: "My Debian sarge is stable and dirty!"

It would delete all files (clean) of the Linux system, after you enter the root password!

Actually, I said sarge was "STALE" and dirty, because you said it needed a FRESH and clean install.

Guess it's a good thing I didn't try it!

I do have an 'unstable/etch' install on another partition. Is there a simple way for a Linux novice to make that into a clean Sarge install?

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 19:23:27
#143 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@acefnq

Quote:
I use MOL a lot so I also tried installing and running it, the install allowed me to run molvconfig and recognised and saved the screenmodes but I was unable to start OS9, it appears to want to load but the screen just hangs black.


MoL 0.9.70 doesn't work yet. I didn't have the time to look at the problem.

Quote:
I have an XE 933 G4 with 1GB ram limited to 600mb, I tried removing the memory limit in UBoot to no avail, is there any module I need to invoke to make the system use all of the memory or is that limitation still in place?


Can you post the output of "dmesg" and "/proc/meminfo"?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 19:30:23
#144 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4927
From: New Zealand

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
Quote:
I've tested my bttv card with the new kernel. Unfortunately overlay is still screwed up in xawtv. For non-overlay display with both xawtv and tvtime, the display is all magenta and green. It's probably got something to do with the driver as these are two separate programs.


Does overlay work with other kernels?


Actually, I have a feeling that overlay does work, at least mplayer displays fine and I think that it's set to use overlay. I'll have to double-check. I have never had the bttv driver deliver a non-corrupt overlay display. What I get is a pattern of horizontal lines / dots in the image that don't update. The rest of the overlay image does update. The result is pretty unwatchable, although you can see enough to figure out what TV program is on.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 19:34:51
#145 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:
Guess it's a good thing I didn't try it!


Yupp!

Quote:
I do have an 'unstable/etch' install on another partition. Is there a simple way for a Linux novice to make that into a clean Sarge install?


The kernel should work with unstable/etch too. I'll try to release a more up to date kernel as soon as possible.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mechanic 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 19:53:32
#146 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Jul-2003
Posts: 2007
From: Unknown

@acefnq
Quote:



I have an XE 933 G4 with 1GB ram limited to 600mb, I tried removing the memory limit in UBoot to no avail, is there any module I need to invoke to make the system use all of the memory or is that limitation still in place?

ace


Hi ace,

I can't test the mb limit as I only have 512mb in my A1, but
it seems it should be 750mb, at least in linux.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 21:35:54
#147 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@Hans

Quote:

I now finally have the x-server up and running again. If anyone else has Linux locking up when the X-server starts up it's probably because your x-server loads the dri module on startup. DRI is for 3D graphics acceleration and does not work yet.


i seem to have this problem.
so how did you fix yours?

using a new sarge install with the 2.6.8 kernal plus modules, withouth the modules there was no lockup.
aloso don't get a lovckup with 2.4.26 kernal

Last edited by broadblues on 24-Jul-2006 at 09:37 PM.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 21:40:24
#148 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4927
From: New Zealand

@broadblues

Quote:

broadblues wrote:
@Hans

Quote:

I now finally have the x-server up and running again. If anyone else has Linux locking up when the X-server starts up it's probably because your x-server loads the dri module on startup. DRI is for 3D graphics acceleration and does not work yet.


i seem to have this problem.
so how did you fix yours?


Look in /etc/X11. Depending on whether you're using the xfree86 or X.org x-server, you should see a file called "XF86Config-4" or "xorg.config". Open that file and delete/comment out with '#', the lines associated with DRI. Specifically, there is a line in the modules section and a DRI section at the bottom to remove.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 24-Jul-2006 22:05:51
#149 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4429
From: Portsmouth England

@Hans

Quote:

Look in /etc/X11. Depending on whether you're using the xfree86 or X.org x-server, you should see a file called "XF86Config-4" or "xorg.config". Open that file and delete/comment out with '#', the lines associated with DRI. Specifically, there is a line in the modules section and a DRI section at the bottom to remove.


That did the trick, now I've got X back.

Can't get any sound though.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 25-Jul-2006 12:52:13
#150 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@Hans

Quote:
Actually, I have a feeling that overlay does work, at least mplayer displays fine and I think that it's set to use overlay. I'll have to double-check. I have never had the bttv driver deliver a non-corrupt overlay display. What I get is a pattern of horizontal lines / dots in the image that don't update. The rest of the overlay image does update. The result is pretty unwatchable, although you can see enough to figure out what TV program is on.


From what I can see in the code, the driver doesn't make use of the DMA allocation functions at all, but I didn't check all files. I'll put this issue on the TODO list for now, because I'm afraid I will not have the time to work on the A1 Linux kernel in the next 2 or 3 weeks.

BTW: That's means no new kernel or patch files for this time. Sorry! My job keeps me quite busy.

Last edited by Geri on 25-Jul-2006 at 12:53 PM.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
acefnq 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 25-Jul-2006 13:05:06
#151 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2006
Posts: 617
From: Adelaide, South Australia

@Geri

I just had to go one step too far, I upgraded to testing and all of a sudden the stability was gone, however, I am re-installing stable again and will advise on the memory limits shortly.

On MOL has anyone managed to get OSX on the net? I have had no luck with this, OS9.2 is fine.

Cheers
ace

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fabio 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 27-Jul-2006 17:23:37
#152 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Jan-2005
Posts: 125
From: Finland

@Hans

Disabling DRI worked. no more x locking

_________________
A1200T, A4000 Mirage pro, mAmigaOne C, LAN.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 28-Jul-2006 2:39:08
#153 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

I installed the new image and modules for my 'unstable' partition. I also checked the "etc" drawer but I didn't see any "x11" drawers within it.

When I booted it seemed to go fairly normally, and I noticed the correct image was being used, but it stopped. It got to this line:

lp2: using parport2 (polling)

and wouldn't do anything after that. I waited 20-30 minutes in case the 'polling' took a while.

Before it stopped, I noticed it did a fsck check as it said it hadn't been checked in over 30,000 mounts. Is that normal with new image/modules?

Also It said it couldn't access the hardware clock. It that normal?

Anybody care to tell me what I did wrong?

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 28-Jul-2006 7:45:10
#154 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:

RacerX wrote:
When I booted it seemed to go fairly normally, and I noticed the correct image was being used, but it stopped. It got to this line:

lp2: using parport2 (polling)

and wouldn't do anything after that. I waited 20-30 minutes in case the 'polling' took a while.

Before it stopped, I noticed it did a fsck check as it said it hadn't been checked in over 30,000 mounts. Is that normal with new image/modules?

Also It said it couldn't access the hardware clock. It that normal?

Anybody care to tell me what I did wrong?


Can you post the dmesg output?

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 29-Jul-2006 0:20:20
#155 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

Geri wrote:
Can you post the dmesg output?

OK, here it is. Since the new (2.6) kernel wouldn't boot for me I had to use my old (2.4 - stable) partition. I did mount and "cd" to the partition with the 2.6 kernel if that makes a difference.

Amiga442:/unstable# dmesg
Memory BAT mapping: BAT2=256Mb, BAT3=256Mb, residual: 0Mb
Total memory = 512MB; using 1024kB for hash table (at c0300000)
Linux version 2.4.26 (root@amigaone) (gcc version 3.3.4 (Debian 1:3.3.4-13)) #10 Thu Jan 20 02:20:41 EST 2005
Creating PCI host controller
On node 0 totalpages: 131072
zone(0): 131072 pages.
zone(1): 0 pages.
zone(2): 0 pages.
Kernel command line: root=/dev/hda2 video=radeon:1024x768-8@60 l2cr=0x80000000 ide=nodma hdc=ide-scsi hdd=ide-scsi
l2cr set to 80000000
ide_setup: ide=nodma : Prevented DMA
ide_setup: hdc=ide-scsi
ide_setup: hdd=ide-scsi
Console: colour VGA+ 80x25
Calibrating delay loop... 799.53 BogoMIPS
Memory: 514084k available (2076k kernel code, 836k data, 96k init, 0k highmem)
Dentry cache hash table entries: 65536 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
Inode cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 6, 262144 bytes)
Mount cache hash table entries: 512 (order: 0, 4096 bytes)
Buffer cache hash table entries: 32768 (order: 5, 131072 bytes)
Page-cache hash table entries: 131072 (order: 7, 524288 bytes)
POSIX conformance testing by UNIFIX
PCI: Probing PCI hardware
Linux NET4.0 for Linux 2.4
Based upon Swansea University Computer Society NET3.039
Initializing RT netlink socket
Starting kswapd
Journalled Block Device driver loaded
parport0: PC-style at 0x378 (0x778) [PCSPP,TRISTATE]
parport_pc: Via 686A parallel port: io=0x378
parport1: PC-style at 0x3bc [PCSPP]
parport2: PC-style at 0x278 [PCSPP,EPP]
radeonfb: ref_clk=2700, ref_div=67, xclk=16600 defaults
Console: switching to colour frame buffer device 128x48
radeonfb: ATI Radeon VE QY SDR SGRAM 64 MB
radeonfb: DVI port no monitor connected
radeonfb: CRT port CRT monitor connected
vga16fb: initializing
vga16fb: mapped to 0xfd0a0000
fb1: VGA16 VGA frame buffer device
Detected PS/2 Mouse Port.
pty: 256 Unix98 ptys configured
Serial driver version 5.05c (2001-07-08) with MANY_PORTS SHARE_IRQ SERIAL_PCI enabled
ttyS00 at 0x03f8 (irq = 4) is a 16550A
ttyS01 at 0x02f8 (irq = 3) is a 16550A
Real Time Clock Driver v1.10f
Generic RTC Driver v1.07
Floppy drive(s): fd0 is 1.44M
FDC 0 is a post-1991 82077
RAMDISK driver initialized: 16 RAM disks of 8192K size 1024 blocksize
loop: loaded (max 8 devices)
3c59x: Donald Becker and others. www.scyld.com/network/vortex.html
See Documentation/networking/vortex.txt
00:06.0: 3Com PCI 3c905C Tornado at 0x802000. Vers LK1.1.18-ac
00:09:d2:11:01:48, IRQ 7
product code ffff rev 00.6 date 15-31-127
Internal config register is 1800000, transceivers 0xa.
8K byte-wide RAM 5:3 Rx:Tx split, autoselect/Autonegotiate interface.
MII transceiver found at address 24, status 782d.
Enabling bus-master transmits and whole-frame receives.
00:06.0: scatter/gather enabled. h/w checksums enabled
Uniform Multi-Platform E-IDE driver Revision: 7.00beta4-2.4
ide: Assuming 33MHz system bus speed for PIO modes; override with idebus=xx
VP_IDE: IDE controller at PCI slot 00:07.1
VP_IDE: chipset revision 6
VP_IDE: not 100% native mode: will probe irqs later
VP_IDE: VIA vt82c686b (rev 40) IDE UDMA100 controller on pci00:07.1
ide0: BM-DMA at 0xcc00-0xcc07, BIOS settings: hda:pio, hdb:pio
ide1: BM-DMA at 0xcc08-0xcc0f, BIOS settings: hdc:pio, hdd:pio
Probing IDE interface ide0...
hda: ST380021A, ATA DISK drive
hda: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
hdb: ST3160023A, ATA DISK drive
hdb: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
Probing IDE interface ide1...
Unhandled interrupt 0, disabled
hdc: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
hdc: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
hdc: CD-RW CR52, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdc: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
hdd: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
hdd: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
hdd: DX-DVDR100, ATAPI CD/DVD-ROM drive
hdd: IRQ probe failed (0x0)
ide0 at 0x1f0-0x1f7,0x3f6 on irq 14
ide1 at 0x170-0x177,0x376 on irq 15
hda: attached ide-disk driver.
hda: host protected area => 1
hda: 156301488 sectors (80026 MB) w/2048KiB Cache, CHS=155061/16/63
hdb: attached ide-disk driver.
hdb: host protected area => 1
hdb: 312581808 sectors (160042 MB) w/8192KiB Cache, CHS=19457/255/63
hdc: attached ide-scsi driver.
hdd: attached ide-scsi driver.
Partition check:
hda: hda1 hda2 hda3 hda4
hdb: RDSK hdb1 hdb2 hdb3 hdb4 hdb5 hdb6 hdb7 hdb8 hdb9
SCSI subsystem driver Revision: 1.00
scsi0 : SCSI host adapter emulation for IDE ATAPI devices
Vendor: MSI Model: CD-RW CR52 Rev: 3.90
Type: CD-ROM ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Vendor: DVD-ROM Model: DX-DVDR100 Rev: 0052
Type: CD-ROM ANSI SCSI revision: 02
Attached scsi CD-ROM sr0 at scsi0, channel 0, id 0, lun 0
Attached scsi CD-ROM sr1 at scsi0, channel 0, id 1, lun 0
sr0: scsi3-mmc drive: 40x/40x writer cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
Uniform CD-ROM driver Revision: 3.12
sr1: scsi3-mmc drive: 16x/40x cd/rw xa/form2 cdda tray
usb.c: registered new driver usbdevfs
usb.c: registered new driver hub
host/usb-uhci.c: $Revision: 1.275 $ time 02:21:20 Jan 20 2005
host/usb-uhci.c: High bandwidth mode enabled
host/usb-uhci.c: USB UHCI at I/O 0x802080, IRQ 5
host/usb-uhci.c: Detected 2 ports
usb.c: new USB bus registered, assigned bus number 1
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 2 ports detected
host/usb-uhci.c: found UHCI device with no IRQ assigned. check BIOS settings!
host/usb-uhci.c: v1.275:USB Universal Host Controller Interface driver
usb.c: registered new driver hid
hid-core.c: v1.8.1 Andreas Gal, Vojtech Pavlik
hid-core.c: USB HID support drivers
mice: PS/2 mouse device common for all mice
NET4: Linux TCP/IP 1.0 for NET4.0
IP Protocols: ICMP, UDP, TCP
IP: routing cache hash table of 4096 buckets, 32Kbytes
TCP: Hash tables configured (established 131072 bind 65536)
ip_conntrack version 2.1 (4096 buckets, 32768 max) - 288 bytes per conntrack
NET4: Unix domain sockets 1.0/SMP for Linux NET4.0.
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
VFS: Mounted root (ext3 filesystem) readonly.
Freeing unused kernel memory: 96k init
hub.c: new USB device 00:07.2-2, assigned address 2
hub.c: USB hub found
hub.c: 4 ports detected
hub.c: new USB device 00:07.2-2.4, assigned address 3
input: USB HID v10.01 Joystick [DragonRise Inc. Generic USB Joystick ] on usb1:3.0
Adding Swap: 1952992k swap-space (priority -1)
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.19, 19 August 2002 on ide0(3,2), internal journal
Initializing USB Mass Storage driver...
usb.c: registered new driver usb-storage
USB Mass Storage support registered.
gameport0: Emu10k1 Gameport at 0x802420 size 8 speed 1195 kHz
ALSA ../alsa-kernel/pci/via82xx.c:1832: AC'97 codec is not ready [0xffffffff]
ALSA ../alsa-kernel/pci/via82xx.c:523: codec_ready: codec 0 is not ready [0xffffffff]
ALSA ../../alsa-kernel/pci/ac97/ac97_codec.c:1942: AC'97 0 access error (not audio or modem codec)
lp0: using parport0 (polling).
lp1: using parport1 (polling).
lp2: using parport2 (polling).
kjournald starting. Commit interval 5 seconds
EXT3 FS 2.4-0.9.19, 19 August 2002 on ide0(3,4), internal journal
EXT3-fs: recovery complete.
EXT3-fs: mounted filesystem with ordered data mode.
Amiga442:/unstable#

Hope it makes more sense to you than it does to me!

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 30-Jul-2006 20:42:57
#156 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4927
From: New Zealand

@Geri

Quote:

Quote:

Linux now starts up much faster with your new kernel. It's also more stable, although it still locks up occasionally on startup, typically where the kernel frees up unused memory, INIT 2.86 (or whatever) is run, or when detect is looking for hardware.


Please check CPU voltage and frequency. IMHO Linux stresses the CPU much more then OS4 does it.


I have downgraded from Debian unstable to stable and the lockups are gone. I guess that this is because the unstable distribution is, um, unstable.

I would not recommend downgrading instead of reinstalling from scratch. It's a really messy procedure and it's very easy to completely screw up your Linux installation. I'm still not done as libgtk2.0-bin won't install because it can't find libXinerama.so.1. Also, my sound's gone. I'll worry about that later as I've run out of time.

Hans

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 31-Jul-2006 19:13:15
#157 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

Quote:
Hope it makes more sense to you than it does to me!


Not really, because it is the wrong kernel.

Well, the problem may be CUPS. It is known to have problems with the parport interface on PowerPC. On the other side you should check your CPU core voltage and frequency settings, because this has much more impact on a working system.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 3-Aug-2006 1:51:12
#158 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

Well, the problem may be CUPS. It is known to have problems with the parport interface on PowerPC. On the other side you should check your CPU core voltage and frequency settings, because this has much more impact on a working system.

Is there a simple way to remove CUPS from the 'other' partition? Or would I have to boot the 'old' kernel, uninstall CUPS, and then boot the new kernel? Would I have to copy the old modules back over too? {I guess that's why you said it was best to start from a fresh install }

Is there a way to check the core voltage/frequency from OS4 or Linux? Or would I have to pull the CPU and look at the back of it? I -did- set the jumpers on the board as per the original instructions (G4 XE) and I have made no attempt to over-clock.

Last edited by RacerX on 03-Aug-2006 at 01:52 AM.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Geri 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 3-Aug-2006 7:14:35
#159 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 7-Oct-2003
Posts: 2038
From: ST/AT

@RacerX

I suggest you to clock down the CPU first (e.g. to 600MHz) with the dip switches on the CPU card.

_________________
A1SE: G3@600MHz, 2GB, 1GBit network card
A1XE: G4@933MHz, 2GB, refitted AC'97 codec
microA1: G3@800MHz, 1GB

- A1 Linux support -

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: NEWS on amigaone-linux.sourceforge.net
Posted on 4-Aug-2006 20:28:59
#160 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Geri

Quote:

I suggest you to clock down the CPU first (e.g. to 600MHz) with the dip switches on the CPU card.

What would be the correct positions for 600MHz?

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle