Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6093 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
17 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OlafS25:  6 mins ago
 Mobileconnect:  8 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  16 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  25 mins ago
 newlight:  29 mins ago
 AP:  33 mins ago
 amyren:  48 mins ago
 amigang:  51 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 41 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  SabreMSN, new MSN client
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )
PosterThread
Kicko 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 25-May-2008 17:31:39
#81 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

Tested alpha 8. I could send and receive file :). Then i tried to receive and send from another user and it didnt work. So i quit the chatwindow of the first user. It closed the window. But if i clicked on that user again the chatwindow wouldnt appear ?

The second user said he think he used some old msn like 7.0. I cant be sure as he said he thinks. These windows users dont know anything ;) The first user is busy with World of Warcraft so hes to busy to check his version.

Tested again (restart) with the friend that i had problems sending/receiving. It uploaded about 5% and then said it was complete ? Tested another file and it went to 50%. My friend said it was strange. But its so hard to get real info from him that we can forget this user. I asked him did the program say why it didnt complete the file.He said only it gave no info. Damn him. Cant he say what the requester/window said if he was on low harddisk space, or if it was not complete or something... He just said stupid computer... aaaaarghhh :)

EDIT: Now the first mns user (the one that send/receive worked) said he dont know his MSN version.... I just love windows users like him :)

EDIT2: I tested with another SabreMSN user and i could send him a file but not receive but he says he has the same problem with IRC. Could be he has not some ports open or behind firewall. He cant access his router/modems config with amigabrowser so this is something he will check later with linux. Forgot to say the file was sent ok. It said completed and the user got it. However my gauge stopped on about 20%. Probably there is only gui bug as the file was sent ok.

EDIT3: Tested with a friend (from my job) and both sending/receiving worked :)

EDIT4: A person that normally forgets that we amigians didnt had filesupport on amiga for msn tried to send a mp3 file to me. It just waited and nothing was sent but that person doesnt have patience so he quit. He just do it every time and never says bye etc. So i couldnt test to send files to him.

! sometimes after a long time waiting while accepting a file it will make a zero sized file in ram and then nothing.

Not much msn users online lately but i will do more testings. Jahc keep up the good work :) And please swedish characters :)



Last edited by Kicko on 25-May-2008 at 09:02 PM.
Last edited by Kicko on 25-May-2008 at 06:15 PM.
Last edited by Kicko on 25-May-2008 at 06:13 PM.
Last edited by Kicko on 25-May-2008 at 05:46 PM.
Last edited by Kicko on 25-May-2008 at 05:44 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 26-May-2008 2:44:01
#82 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@Kicko

Quote:
Tested alpha 8. I could send and receive file :). Then i tried to receive and send from another user and it didnt work. So i quit the chatwindow of the first user. It closed the window. But if i clicked on that user again the chatwindow wouldnt appear ?

It probably got disconnected for some reason. I dont know why but it seems to do that by itself.. I need to test more and fix it. MSN is very picky about what it receives..

If you cant chat, or open a window, check the main window to see if it says "Not connected". You can change your online presence to BRB then back to ONLINE to test if you're disconnected too....

Sorry about this..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 30-May-2008 10:30:40
#83 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@thread

Work in progress: http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/sabremsn/emoticons.png

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Crumb 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 30-May-2008 10:53:26
#84 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 2209
From: Zaragoza (Aragonian State)

@jahc

Yeaaaaahhhh!!!! You rule!

And with file transfer custom emoticons are very near...

It's a pity NList requires an update to support anim gifs.

Last edited by Crumb on 30-May-2008 at 11:02 AM.

_________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: CUAZ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 30-May-2008 13:56:56
#85 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1497
From: Croatia

@jahc

wohooo...that is what I need jahc speed up this new beta

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
serk118 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 30-May-2008 15:11:48
#86 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Nov-2004
Posts: 681
From: London(uk)

@jahc
when do we get the [68k] version????

_________________
http://aros-exec.org/

http://serk118.blogspot.com/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Crumb 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 30-May-2008 16:05:34
#87 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Mar-2003
Posts: 2209
From: Zaragoza (Aragonian State)

@serk118

When jahc thinks his code is well structured and he won't change the main struture much.

Keep in mind that maintaining 4 simultaneous versions like he does with WookieChat means a lot of work, and it's much better for everyone that he can makes SabreMSN more stable and feature-rich so he'll be able to maintain the code with less work. It's just an alpha version! Jahc said he would do ports to other amiga systems when SabreMSN goes out of beta.

Anyway if you want to motivate him perhaps he would like to see some positive movement in his paypal account?

Last edited by Crumb on 30-May-2008 at 04:06 PM.

_________________
The only spanish amiga news web page/club: CUAZ

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 31-May-2008 0:10:18
#88 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@Crumb

Quote:
When jahc thinks his code is well structured and he won't change the main struture much.

Okay, lets not put too many words into my mouth here. :)

Quote:
Keep in mind that maintaining 4 simultaneous versions like he does with WookieChat means a lot of work, and it's much better for everyone that he can makes SabreMSN more stable and feature-rich so he'll be able to maintain the code with less work. It's just an alpha version! Jahc said he would do ports to other amiga systems when SabreMSN goes out of beta.

Once the ports are done, it will be very little work to maintain the ports. WookieChat these days usually needs no changes when recompiling for the other 3 Amiga platforms.

Quote:
Anyway if you want to motivate him perhaps he would like to see some positive movement in his paypal account?

I'd prefer it if people donated for currently available features, rather than what might come in the future. I've promised my friend an os3 port though, so when emoticons are done, I'll look into the ports more.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 31-May-2008 2:20:51
#89 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

2008-05-31: Alpha 9
Emoticons!
No animation unfortunately. I'm relying on the built in functionality of
nlist.mcc, and its not animated yet.

Download from:
http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/sabremsn/

Screenshot:
http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/sabremsn/emoticons2.png


EDIT: Please redownload the archive:
2008-05-31: Alpha 10
Removed hard coded value which caused a crash on everyones computer
except mine!! the crash occured when opening chat windows

Last edited by jahc on 31-May-2008 at 08:38 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 31-May-2008 5:06:24
#90 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3437
From: Italy, Perugia

@jahc

Thanks a lot

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
VooDoo 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 31-May-2008 9:55:48
#91 ]
Super Member
Joined: 16-Jun-2003
Posts: 1497
From: Croatia

@jahc

What I can say....thx Jahc .... time for some donation ;)

_________________
--
A1200 sandwich :)

uA1c/g3-800 mHz/512mb/160gb hdd/OS4.1 Final + upd #1

MacMini G4 1.5ghz 1GB ram + MorphOS 3.9

Croatian Amiga portal

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 31-May-2008 11:18:00
#92 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

Great work Jahc as always :)

Only 2 more important changes and im fine. Swedish characters and the display name problem (E-mail Address Not Verified).

Last edited by Kicko on 31-May-2008 at 11:19 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 31-May-2008 11:19:27
#93 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@Kicko

You might need to go through the msn websites to verify your email address..

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fingus 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 2-Jun-2008 9:18:40
#94 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2006
Posts: 737
From: Havixbeck / Germany

@jahc

thanks for this very fast, clean and nice msn-client!

i will spend some money to you in a few days.

but there are small things that really annoying me a little bit:

- the german character make some trouble and will every time displayed in a really weird way.

- the File-Transfer doesn´t work for me. We try it from OS4->PC, OS4-OS4, PC->OS4 but everytime it doesn´t seem to work.

Possible Router-Problem with our Firewall?
If yes, i need to know what kind of ports are to be opened (TCP, UDP, Portnumbers).

But still a very good Programm for an "alpha"

Last edited by fingus on 02-Jun-2008 at 09:20 AM.

_________________
Im back in 2021 on Classic Amiga with my A1200/Blizzard1230IB@50Mhz, 32MB RAM, AmigaOS3.2 and ROMs, Indivision AGA MK2, Author of Amiga-Flipclock (OS4)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 2-Jun-2008 9:27:40
#95 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@fingus

Quote:
- the german character make some trouble and will every time displayed in a really weird way.

- the File-Transfer doesn´t work for me. We try it from OS4->PC, OS4-OS4, PC->OS4 but everytime it doesn´t seem to work.

Possible Router-Problem with our Firewall?
If yes, i need to know what kind of ports are to be opened (TCP, UDP, Portnumbers).


I need to investigate how to support foreign characters.. I'll do that next.

For file transfers you need to open up a port range and configure Sabre to use that port range. Select "Settings" from the pulldown menu to configure it.
Edit: TCP ports

Last edited by jahc on 02-Jun-2008 at 10:19 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fingus 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 2-Jun-2008 9:52:14
#96 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 20-Oct-2006
Posts: 737
From: Havixbeck / Germany

@jahc

Quote:
I need to investigate how to support foreign characters.. I'll do that next.


Very nice!

Quote:
For file transfers you need to open up a port range and configure Sabre to use that port range. Select "Settings" from the pulldown menu to configure it.


Great, i will try this on evening.

Btw. Sabre-MSN is yet very stable

Last edited by fingus on 02-Jun-2008 at 09:52 AM.

_________________
Im back in 2021 on Classic Amiga with my A1200/Blizzard1230IB@50Mhz, 32MB RAM, AmigaOS3.2 and ROMs, Indivision AGA MK2, Author of Amiga-Flipclock (OS4)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 3-Jun-2008 0:46:01
#97 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

@jahc

I went thru many pages until i found out how to "verify my email address". Google is my friend :) Thanks Jahc. Cured my problem.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 4-Jun-2008 9:49:02
#98 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

@thread

2008-06-04: Alpha 11
UTF8 character support (for the charsets that codesets.library
supports). make sure you go into the Settings window (accessible
from the pull down menus) to configure your local charset. I
only speak english, so I need people to test this functionality
for me. Let me know if it works!
The background of the chat windows is hard coded to white now, to
match the emoticons..
Your online presence is set to Idle after 15 minutes of inactivity
now..

http://wookiechat.amigarevolution.com/sabremsn/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 4-Jun-2008 14:50:13
#99 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

@jahc

I tested with both ISO-8859-I and ISO-8859-15.
When i write to a Swedish friend he says he sees everything ok.
I see also his text ok.
But if i write to him big swedish capitals then i see ??? instead.
Sometimes but not often a small capital can be shown wrong also.

I will test with more Swedish friends later.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fuskoSCN 
Re: SabreMSN, new MSN client
Posted on 4-Jun-2008 16:26:11
#100 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Mar-2003
Posts: 178
From: Haugesund, Norway


Hi there!

The new release looks very good indeed!

However I have not been able to connect when using the latest releases :
On logon I get :

SSL connection using RC4-MD5..
and then
Connection Status : Not connected..

I have tried on two machines, but the same happened on both of them.

Has anyone else experienced this ? or does any of you know how to fix it ?

Best regards

Torgeir Vee - aka- fuskoSCN

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle