Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6084 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
38 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 saimon69:  13 mins ago
 paolone:  26 mins ago
 zipper:  32 mins ago
 amigang:  37 mins ago
 Mobileconnect:  48 mins ago
 Gembo:  51 mins ago
 michalsc:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 27 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 CygnusEd:  2 hrs 22 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )
PosterThread
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 18:46:39
#61 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

the defendgui use no libixemul

The command BestCModeIDTags is need to get a displayid to find out what pixel mode the card support.can you post your mode list ?

normaly you can add a name see below to get the id of a board.when no name is used then the current card is used.maybe you have install somedays before a picasso4 and bestcmodeid search for a picasso4 mode.maybe the voodoo3 mode ids are not known.when you look in Picasso96mode (is in prefs dir) what ID have the 640*480 mode ?

have other mediator voodoo 3 users same ID ?

>The general problem: when playing the game, hum... testing the game and move the >amiga pointer, the mouse pointer move and halt and move and alt and the frame >move to 4 to 8 to 4 to 8 (more or less).

I hope you have switch off the music and you have no sound problem.

I have now test on my A4000 with cybervision PPC.here always 4 fps or 6-8 fps after h press. the mouse move always smooth.maybe your mouse is software cursor, does this flicker when under a window is something draw ?

can you start sashimi and look what number stand behind Pixel format, so i can test what code your CPU execute ?

Last edited by bernd_afa on 04-Dec-2008 at 07:07 PM.
Last edited by bernd_afa on 04-Dec-2008 at 06:49 PM.
Last edited by bernd_afa on 04-Dec-2008 at 06:47 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 19:04:20
#62 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

have played with owb 1.4 68k on the classic with scout and:

1. Nothing to do or show a page (google page per example)- CPU:18-22%.
2. click a link, mean datas from modem - CPU: upto 100% during a few seconds.
2. after the click of the link, OWB wait, maybe one minuts- CPU:18-22%.
3. rendering the page- CPU: near 100% a few seconds and decrease to 18-22%.

why OWB 68k wait one minut or more with 18-22% CPU before rendering the page during some seconds (with no showed activities during the minut) ???

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 14:37:27
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd:
http://img136.imageshack.us/img136/433/screenmodiyo7.jpg

damn, will any of this imageshack links work at last.(

Last edited by wawa on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:42 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:40 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:39 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:39 PM.
Last edited by wawa on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:38 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 18:03:54
#64 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

Quote:
I hope you have switch off the music and you have no sound problem.


Music Is ON and no sound problem and I don't know how swithing off the music.

Quote:
I have now test on my A4000 with cybervision PPC.here always 4 fps or 6-8 fps after h press. the mouse move always smooth.maybe your mouse is software cursor, does this flicker when under a window is something draw ?


I haven't flickering mouse, I have stop and move and stop and move pointer when I move the mouse during the SDL game work. This problem is caused because CPU 100%.

using scout with the game: defpinguin.exe: around 40-42% CPU (and nothing else) BUT the main gauge (with the total of all tasks) on scout CPU is allways 100%.

Some CPU power disepeared somewhere when using 68k SDL ????

Quote:
can you start sashimi and look what number stand behind Pixel format, so i can test what code your CPU execute ?


depth 16 hidden depth 16
Pixel Format 7
Pixel Format 7
Pixel Format 7
bits per pixel 16 ret -1
bits per pixel 16 ret -1
screen depth 16
Set Video mode depth 16
window depth 16
Pixel Format 7
Pixel Format 7
Pixel Format 7
16 2
surface depth of SDL_VideoSurface 16
shadow surface
surface depth 16


http://www.greyhound-data.com/gunnar/games/194X_v07b_68k.lha

greatly playable in low res without sound with 060. Because this game use is own screen and not a screen on the WB screenmode.


NOTE: I have also tested SDL game barrage (aminet) and CPU for this game is around 75-80% and same move and stop and move and stop pointer and the frame is 3.7 frame/seconds (counter on the shell of the game).


NOTE2: I finally don't know the real goal of the tests- Improved SDL 68k library in the futur ?? Searching why OWB wait during long time between internet page ???

Last edited by Mrodfr on 06-Dec-2008 at 06:02 AM.
Last edited by Mrodfr on 06-Dec-2008 at 06:01 AM.
Last edited by Mrodfr on 06-Dec-2008 at 05:59 AM.
Last edited by Mrodfr on 05-Dec-2008 at 06:36 PM.
Last edited by Mrodfr on 05-Dec-2008 at 06:19 PM.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 6-Dec-2008 9:40:09
#65 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

i see that SDL do much unnecessary code, so i think speed it up is the first step to get optimal speed.

defendguin have some command line parameter, --fullscreen let play on fullscreen.
but i find now out wy the speed is so slow on my classic too.its sound.sound cost lot of performance.

you can sound switch off with Option --nosound.there come a division by zero error, but when you use MCP you can continiue.

my classic get then 6 fps.I have now find a place that transfer the screen unnecessary when have a shadow surface, remove this and my classic get 10 fps.
and with sound 7 fps.i see the mixer use 8 audiochannels and 22050.i change to 4 mixer channels and 11025 sample rate

after press h, get then 18-22 fps

I dont know what soundcard and sample rate you have on Unit 0.sdl use setting here.
I release new SDL soon that use Unit 1, here you can set a sample rate of a fast mode and samplerate of maybe 11 khz and paula filter on..need not change your settings of unit 0.

>greatly playable in low res without sound with 060. Because this game use is own >screen and not a screen on the WB screenmode.

old sdl use only 8 bit screens in fullscreen mode.if you want play defendguin in 8 bit, you can use a 8 bit workbenchscreemode, but defendguin look very ugly then.

new sdl use in fullscreen mode same pixeldepth the program is written.most games want a 16 bit screen.

I see you use pixel format 7, this is a 16bit PC little screenmode.maybe you can try out if it work on the 16 bitscreenmode that have no PC faster.I see on wawa screenshot, voodoo 3 offer both .

My cybervision PPC support 16 bit bigendian mode and no byteswap during transfer is need

but with wawa screenshot, i cant do nothing, because there is no modeid´s.i mean a screenshot of the program that allow for P96 create new screenmodes.this have the numbers see.

i get the idea, if the modeid get fail, use code that get the modeid of the workbench screen, but i have not in my head how can get the screenmode id.

if somebody have a example this is easy to add.

Last edited by bernd_afa on 06-Dec-2008 at 09:44 AM.
Last edited by bernd_afa on 06-Dec-2008 at 09:43 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 6-Dec-2008 13:47:58
#66 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd_afa
Quote:
but with wawa screenshot, i cant do nothing, because there is no modeid´s.i mean a screenshot of the program that allow for P96 create new screenmodes.this have the numbers see.

i see. you re talfking of picasso96mode.
it reports following displayidbases:
320x240: $5000
640x480: $5001
800x600: $5002
1024x768: $5003
1120x832: $5004
...
1600x1200:$5007
and
320x200: $5008

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 6-Dec-2008 14:51:18
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@wawa

320x240: $50001000
640x480: $50011000
800x600: $50021000
1024x768: $50031000
1120x832: $50041000
1152x900: $50051000
1280x1024:$50061000
1600x1200:$50071000
1920x1200:$50081000
1440x1144:$50091000
320x256: $500a1000
640x256: $500b1000
320x200: $500c1000
320x400: $500d1000
512x384: $500e1000
256x256: $500f1000

For me, P96 mode numbers are created $50001000 to $500x1000 and just with the order user create the screenmodes resolutions.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 6-Dec-2008 15:10:32
#68 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Mrodfr
yes, sure the full ids are looking the same on my machine with the coresponding modes, like: 640x480 is $50011000. so there is no difference

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 6-Dec-2008 15:21:21
#69 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

Thanks for your previous answer and It's verry verry great that you actually look the code of SDL.library and will improve the version by a new one soon. I'm verry happy

I have made some tests with your explanation on your last post with defpenguin with a 16 bit (no PC) P96 800x600 screenmode and with your SDL.library.

-defpenguin + sound + ctrl+lalt+h 6->8 frames.

-defpenguin + nosound + ctrl+lalt+h 13->15 frames (with the divide per zero bug removed by MCP).

-defpenguin + sound + fullscreen + ctrl+lalt+h 6->8 frames.

-defpenguin + nosound + fullscreen + ctrl+lalt+h 13->15 frames (with the divide per zero bug removed by MCP).

Effectively, no sound double the frame. Full screenmode or on a window no differences.

here AHI is:

-musical unit: paula 14bit stereo++ frequency:27429 mhz.
-UNIT 0: paula 14bit stereo++ frequency:27429 mhz. channel:1.
Nothing more (mean no unit 1-2-3).

I haven't soundcard, just Paula on a real amiga. The best for classic amiga is a minimal sound use for max CPU for SDL.

Thanks again for improving SDL for 68K and some feedback from users are great for sure

If you arrive with some SDL.library 68k to push SDL frame from 3-6 to 15-20, you will make lots of classic or emulated amiga verry happy and maybe with OWB 68k more useable

Last edited by Mrodfr on 06-Dec-2008 at 03:23 PM.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 6-Dec-2008 21:19:48
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd:
have you noticed this:
http://aminet.net/util/libs/WarpSDL_0_4usr.lha
by the way, i believe, joerg once said something about that he removed sdl code from 68k owb port, but im not sure anymore. nevertheless owb 68k works on my system where all other sdl apps fail. so maybe it isnt sdl to blame in the end?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 9:03:11
#71 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

I have now update the defendguin_test.lha file.

the date of 4. is not change on sourceforge, but when download the file, defenduin_68k is from 6.12.2008

this show the file is new.i think sdl is now done(except stormmesa 3d support get working, but that come later), and not much more speed is possible and if all work well, this give the release for aminet.

see in changelog whats new, i change code so it should if not cant find a card print a message and use a 16 bit voodoo3 modeid(UAE too use same ID).this maybe work on 16 bit workbench or give wrong colors but cant crash.

I btw find not out yet how delete a package on sourceforge. so i change only the package content.

the warp sdl look nice, but a long time ago given up project and maybe no games out that show how fast it is and if it work good.

But i test it out with defendguin and openredalert, if it is faster.

Last edited by bernd_afa on 07-Dec-2008 at 09:04 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 10:24:53
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

Quote:
I have now update the defendguin_test.lha file.the date of 4. is not change on sourceforge, but when download the file, defenduin_68k is from 6.12.2008


no. just defenduin_68k.exe slinghtly longer than the previous. Tested here and verry slow (2fps max). not found .lha file.

the changelog on the archive or on sourceforge ??? don't understand.

remember, sourceforge isn't look good with Ibrowse on a real amiga

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 12:45:19
#73 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

Yes the file is a little larger

maybe the much slowdown come because no sound device is set in unit3 ?

what happen when you choose --nosound, or what setting you have in unit3 ?
what does pixel format show ?.

the faster speed i get too on my A4000 with 060/50.

Last edited by bernd_afa on 07-Dec-2008 at 01:21 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 13:37:51
#74 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

I have nothing on unit 3, just unit 1 with 1 channel. I'm not an expert with AHI but just put the minimal is enough to save cpu time.

Also, the new .exe have no reaction with ctrl+lalt+h (no fps change) and also no reaction with --nosound (divide per zero hit allways).

The gfx of the game is same like previous version.

But the game have more speed apparently. Maybe just the fps counter not work with the last pengui exe ???

BTW, what you done actually ??? Playing with defpengui for making a new SDL.brary 68k fixed ??? And the goal, for OWB ???

Soory for the question but I like betatesting but better when I could see the final goal


Last edited by Mrodfr on 07-Dec-2008 at 01:39 PM.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 14:25:23
#75 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

this version doesnt work on my mediator machine either. it shows dialog that its going to use fallback mode but nothing happens. on my 060/50 with piv it works slightly faster (4-5fps against 4fps) the graphics look like before, the menu seems to be trashed a little. (maybe i can find a version i can run on windows to compare). the graphics are of a kind i cannot tell the difference if it is trashed or not.
but after the sdl once have neen loaded the workbench is practically not responsive anymore, or only very little. exiting sdl app leaves it in this state. or even sometimes it hangs completely it seems. restart is needed.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 15:23:51
#76 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

>I'm not an expert with AHI but just put the minimal is enough to save cpu time.

It doesnt matter about performance.see the unit number as a preset.

you can set a high quality rate on unit 0 and low quality fast setting on unit 3.

i can change SDL back, but then need change rate by hand in unit 0 and back later.

if you want use a program that should use high quality setting you can choose in your program unit 0 and a low quality setting you can choose unit 3.

so i change SDL that it not use unit 0 because i think many user have unit 0 set to a quality better than 22 khz so AHI need more CPU activity.

new version have fix that, but if you not set something for unit3 then it is maybe another problem.

I cant test, because if someday something set on a unused unit, then it is not possible to set it to unset (show a samplerate of 0)

>Soory for the question but I like betatesting but better when I could see the final >goal

maybe you have read, that 68k sdl is too old and buggy and compiler is too old.

and this i change with SDL1.2.13 and gcc4.3.2 have amiga 68k modernst develop enviroment.I btw too dont like old stuff, and gcc4.3.2 and SDL 1.2.13 is actual and i do code so, that it can very easy enhance to newer versions, if all work well.

so in future always upto date libs.

I dont understand wy the fallback and the CGX command dont work on Wawa´s system.
seem he have same as you a mediator with a voodoo 3 from elbox.

maybe wawa have older driver or diffrent setting / patches ?

maybe i send wawa direct a testversion with more log output

>the menu seems to be trashed a little.

this is maybe a effect.i first think too it is trashed, but it is in original too this way.

http://www.newbreedsoftware.com/defendguin/screenshots/title.gif

Last edited by bernd_afa on 07-Dec-2008 at 03:27 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 16:08:45
#77 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd_afa

its not the exactly the same mediator system. as his is a1200 with mediator and mine is a4k with mediator di. i use newest dirvers btw. its also not the question of modepro.
i do not know at the moment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 17:39:11
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

First, I have set, on AHIprefs, all the 3 AHI unit, to use 1 channel at max mhz.
I'm just thinking untill now that all program use AHI unit 0 and not set other AHI unit save CPU.

OK. I understand now that you would like to use SDL1.2.13 for 68k with a modern compiler. Big thanks for that, bernd

Also now understand that you would like to use MorphOS code (with permission). Also searching after SDL1.2.13, and found:

http://utilitybase.com/forum/index.php?action=vthread&forum=21&topic=1480

Thanks to all involved by helping bernd

NOTE1: Also Piru/harry Sintonen is active on amiga-org ..
NOTE2: When reading on the utilitybase the speed with openalert, verry interesting !!

bye.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 7-Dec-2008 17:43:13
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@wawa

Could you give more and precise explanations about your problems with defpinguin ?? here 800x600x16 bit PC screenmode.

Here, on a window with defpendgui running, I could at the same time a pen another tool or use tooldeamons to open scout without problems.

Of course, as defpengui use half CPU, other operations during defpengui aren't instantely ..(hum in english not sure

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 8-Dec-2008 14:44:18
#80 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@Mrodfr

dont you experience any general slowdown of responsivity of oaur system after you had an sdl application runnung? you can grab a window with your pointer and smoothly move it around without it sliding out of grip or copy data by drag and drop from one window to another on workbench like you are used to. i cant.
and as i said on my mediator/csppc/voodoo system it doesnt open a window in a first place.

@bernd
i think its just not enough us both to test the new sdl. me personally have no experience with programming or debugging. and the mediator/warpup system seems to have its special demands. dont you consider to involve some more experienced people, maybe the guys from around ab3 if anybody there has still a working amiga

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle