Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6056 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
24 crawler(s) on-line.
 31 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 AMIGASYSTEM

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 AMIGASYSTEM:  1 min ago
 pixie:  29 mins ago
 ppcamiga1:  52 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 43 mins ago
 geit:  2 hrs 8 mins ago
 Hypex:  3 hrs 8 mins ago
 Hammer:  3 hrs 42 mins ago
 Ratta:  4 hrs 16 mins ago
 kolla:  5 hrs 42 mins ago
 Karlos:  6 hrs 43 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  OS4.X questions
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )
PosterThread
Phantom 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 17:10:01
#21 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@ZeroG

Thanks 0G, I will try this tonight. I hope that this will solve my USB problem.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 17:28:12
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1930
From: Somewhere in Spain

@nexus

For my lack of knowledge,I have a Genius Videocam GF112.I have OS4.0 Final&July installed,could this USB unit be used on OS4.0?

And is there a software or drivers compatible for OS4.0 to work with this webcam?

I think the USB cam was recognized by OS4.0 but I don't remember well.

Thanks.



_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 23:38:44
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@ZeroG

Tough luck! Nothing happened! That's awful. How half of the people can use USB and the other half cannot with exactly the same hardware and same operating system?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 13:18:09
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

@Phantom
What make, model & type of USB devices are you trying to use? How are they connected (directly or via a hub)? Which USB ports are you using (internal or external)? Have you tried a clean OS4.1 install (incase it's something you've done)?

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 17:05:21
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
@Phantom
What make, model & type of USB devices are you trying to use? How are they connected (directly or via a hub)? Which USB ports are you using (internal or external)? Have you tried a clean OS4.1 install (incase it's something you've done)?


USB devices? Just 3 different USB sticks: One SanDisk Cruzer Titanium 1GB, one the same but 4GB and one Kingston Traveller 1GB. Also one multi-card reader made in China.

I'm using every USB port available. From the internal one (J19) to the other external one. Nothing happens. In some cases when I put a USB stick I got a pop-up window with some information about the stick, but then nothing happens.

Clean install? Well, this problem was the same from the beginning. The first thing I tried was the USB ports, because I have the same problem with MorphOS 2.1 (well, they told me a solution for this though, didn't try it yet!).

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 20:45:11
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6679
From: Unknown

@Phantom
At my local-ish Amiga club I had tried copying stuff to/from an AmigaOne, and the first USB stick I tried did not work (like yours), the second one did. The suggestion was that they were formatted differently, although I never tried verifying that. Try using Windows to delete the partition, then create a new (FAT32) one, and format it.

ALSO, have you tried using the USB MassStorage (Driver) commodity? You can open it with Ctrl-Alt-M (or use Commodity Exchange). That shows whether anything is recognised by the system, and gives you the option to format it.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 22:32:18
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

Quote:
Try using Windows to delete the partition, then create a new (FAT32) one, and format it.


I did it already many times.

Quote:
ALSO, have you tried using the USB MassStorage (Driver) commodity? You can open it with Ctrl-Alt-M (or use Commodity Exchange). That shows whether anything is recognised by the system, and gives you the option to format it.


I did it already many times too. Nothing happens. When the USB stick is plugged, pressing Ctrl+Alt+M shows nothing, and only if you unplug the USB stick, you can see the window pop-up! Huh....

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
RacerX 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 1:29:02
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1158
From: Parts Unknown, USA

@Phantom

Quote:

Phantom wrote:

I'm using every USB port available. From the internal one (J19) to the other external one. Nothing happens. In some cases when I put a USB stick I got a pop-up window with some information about the stick, but then nothing happens.


Once you get the pop-up window for a USB thumb drive sometimes it takes a few seconds for the drive to show on the workbench screen. Does your SanDisk drive have a light that's supposed to come on when you plug it it? If the light comes on then OS4 SHOULD be able to see the drive (USB is kinda finiky on my system too).

Do you have access to a USB hub? It may help. At the very least it will keep you from having to keep reaching around the back of your computer to plug in USB devices.

_________________
'unfixed' A1XE, 512mb RAM, plug-in USB card, Sil 0680 IDE card, Radeon 9250, built-in sound, OS4.1 update 5.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
swoodall 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 2:56:35
#29 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 248
From: Raleigh NC, USA

@RacerX

Quote:
Once you get the pop-up window for a USB thumb drive sometimes it takes a few seconds for the drive to show on the workbench screen.

True, and also it gets longer the larger the device is. FAT32 and USB1.x is very inefficient with large partitions. I have an old slow 60Gb USB disk, and when I insert it I get a ghosted "USB0C:Uninitialized" on the WB for 1 minute 30 seconds, before the real device and icon shows up on WB as usable. A little <1Gb pendrive takes maybe a second.

Scott Woodall

Last edited by swoodall on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:59 AM.
Last edited by swoodall on 05-Dec-2008 at 02:57 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ZeroG 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 12:41:27
#30 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Jul-2004
Posts: 544
From: Germany

@Phantom

You could give us more info if you enable all 3 logging options in Prefs/USB, plug in the usb stick and posting T:usb.log.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 16:30:53
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

@ZeroG

On every stick there is a light and of course it's on when I plug it into SAM's USB ports. Anyway, I will to send you the log at night.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ZeroG 
Re: OS4.X questions
Posted on 5-Dec-2008 16:39:52
#32 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Jul-2004
Posts: 544
From: Germany

@Phantom
Quote:

On every stick there is a light and of course it's on when I plug it into SAM's USB ports. Anyway, I will to send you the log at night.

Of course there is a led, but it dont tell you what the USB-Stack thinks about it...

Last edited by ZeroG on 05-Dec-2008 at 04:44 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle