Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6044 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
26 crawler(s) on-line.
 17 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Marcian:  7 mins ago
 Karlos:  7 mins ago
 nbache:  9 mins ago
 deadduckni:  23 mins ago
 Trekiej:  23 mins ago
 kiFla:  42 mins ago
 cdimauro:  48 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 35 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )
PosterThread
Leo 
OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 31-Jan-2009 23:43:56
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

Hi,

Since OS4 is now available on Pegasos2, it's time for real benchmark comparisons between OS4 & MOS on the very same hardware!

Now the world may know ;) No more talking...

Last edited by Leo on 31-Jan-2009 at 11:44 PM.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 1-Feb-2009 0:06:07
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1616
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@Leo

Sounds a tad boring; prove me wrong if you will.

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 1-Feb-2009 1:27:57
#3 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@Leo

MOS and OS4 has been available for Classic for quite some time, so it's nothing new really.

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 1-Feb-2009 1:40:21
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1687
From: Here

@Leo

The world may know?

If only.

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gebrochen 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 1-Feb-2009 5:37:06
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Nov-2008
Posts: 1410
From: Australia, VIC

@Leo

Even after you have completed all your desired benchmarks, people will still prefer amiga OS4.1, or still prefer MorphOS. We are all deifferent in taste. I personally prefer GUI over shell, so I am sticking with Amiga OS4.1

and it was easier, and still is easier for a novice touse versus MorphOS IMHO. Yet again.

But, Aros also has some conflicts for me,like, to set up the network, it is a painful cmmand thingy, versus Amiga OS4.1, where you double click, and it practically tells you where to type what for the ISP.

Another thing I noticed while playing around recently.

_________________
Courtesy of SAM440Flex & Amiga OS4.1 only
CD32 / SX1 Expansion
A500 with HxC & 1mb Chip Ram, Flicker Fixer Box
C=OS (Usa) Laptops
MorphOS PowerBook G4
AROS / AmiPUP Netbook
A1000 with 1.5MB RAM.
https://blitterwolf.blogspot.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 1-Feb-2009 5:53:10
#6 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@Gebrochen

A great thing is porting more easily morphOS program to AOS and AOS to MorphOS with users of PEGII computers.

Hope lots of MorphOS users have a pegII

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 1-Feb-2009 23:57:09
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

I'm not interested in knowing which one you prefer but rather which one is performing the best, in which case... That's it.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 0:01:21
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12197
From: Norway

@Leo

I don't expect first version of OS4.1 for Peg2 to be optimized.

but a memory speed test won't hurt.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Manu 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 6:16:17
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Feb-2004
Posts: 1561
From: Unknown

@Gebrochen

Ok, so you have to know what a default gateway is and where to put it and so on,
But at least we never run out of hardware

_________________
AmigaOS or MorphOS on x86 would sell orders of magnitude more than the current,
hardware-intensive solutions. And they'd go faster.-- D.Haynie

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
HammerD 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 6:46:30
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Oct-2003
Posts: 926
From: Ontario, Canada

@Leo

I can tell you from first hand experience:

Both are fast. :) I don't think you would be unhappy with either. Check out my YouTube videos...

_________________
AmigaOS 4.x Beta Tester - Classic Amiga enthusiast - http://www.hd-zone.com is my Amiga Blog, check it out!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 7:30:43
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12197
From: Norway

@Manu

you did run out of hardware, PegII and PegI went out of production, before elfika was created.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 11:51:50
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4218
From: Sweden

@Leo

I would rather like to see OS4 on PegII vs. OS4 on A1-XE.

The PegII has 1GHz G4 and DDR memory, right?
The XE has 800MHz G4 and very slow memory

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Manu 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 11:53:43
#13 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Feb-2004
Posts: 1561
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga


You really should checkout my avatar a bit closer.

_________________
AmigaOS or MorphOS on x86 would sell orders of magnitude more than the current,
hardware-intensive solutions. And they'd go faster.-- D.Haynie

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SoundSquare 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 12:01:16
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2006
Posts: 253
From: Unknown

Quote:
Even after you have completed all your desired benchmarks, people will still prefer amiga OS4.1, or still prefer MorphOS. We are all deifferent in taste. I personally prefer GUI over shell, so I am sticking with Amiga OS4.1


it's not the first time i read that from you.... let me enlighten your ignorance...

MorphOS 2.2 has the most advanced desktop on all amiga OSes. Ambient cannot compare with the 15 years old workbench you still have on OS4, who can harldy suit modern needs.
Check some videos about ambient and its feature (i never use shell on mos, and i do often on OS4) instead of posting such nonsense. You may still prefer OS4 and i won't blame you for that, your taste, but please get more accurate information from the other side.

Last edited by SoundSquare on 02-Feb-2009 at 12:02 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 13:45:30
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10599
From: Greensborough, Australia

@SoundSquare

Is 2.2 the latest? His only experience is with 1.4 which I installed. And using 2.0 IIRC. BTW, upgrading from 1.4 to 2.0 is not a free upgrade is it?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 14:48:53
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Hypex

He also installed 2.x. And it's free to test MorphOS2.x. If you are happy with it, you just register it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 15:39:33
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2157
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@SoundSquare

Quote:

SoundSquare wrote:
Quote:
Even after you have completed all your desired benchmarks, people will still prefer amiga OS4.1, or still prefer MorphOS. We are all deifferent in taste. I personally prefer GUI over shell, so I am sticking with Amiga OS4.1


it's not the first time i read that from you.... let me enlighten your ignorance...

MorphOS 2.2 has the most advanced desktop on all amiga OSes. Ambient cannot compare with the 15 years old workbench you still have on OS4, who can harldy suit modern needs.
Check some videos about ambient and its feature (i never use shell on mos, and i do often on OS4) instead of posting such nonsense. You may still prefer OS4 and i won't blame you for that, your taste, but please get more accurate information from the other side.

I think that's exactly what was said, he actually agree's with you.
It's a matter of personal taste!!!

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
vox 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 16:15:56
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2005
Posts: 3725
From: Belgrade, Serbia

@Swoop

Also, MOS had real time 68k emulation before it was completed for OS 4.x and in fact is the first PPC OS for Amiga. But, also, Amiga OS 4.1 is the only official OS, so I would like to see it reversed - more MorphOS features coming to OS 4.x, or compatibility layer built in (not like OS4 emu or MOS emu, a real and official support)
so they actualy blend into one. I do not underestimate many of the MOS code being done, including some PPC software avail as PPC only to MOS (e.g. Voyager, Feeble Flies ...)

I believe on PegII both should run about the same speed since the CPU,RAM,IDE ... is the same. Even if at some points one prove to be faster it will not change the world.

You can compare operations in few programs that exist in MOS/OS4 versions but this is more matter of optimization, and it might be MOS could prove to be faster just because it has better optimized software for Peg.

68k emulation might be interesting point - Trance vs Petunia, but then again,
its hard to compare because its the same JIT optimization for G3/G4.

Comparing PegII OS 4/MOS to SAM or AmigaOne is also stupid
since they use different hardware components that can influence
speed (e.g. CPU speed, CPU type with SAM, different memory
and hard drive controllers).

Generaly, everyone is lucky with what he has got.
And I believe AmigaOS /MorphOS PPC native

Finally,
Amiga goes PowerPC

P.S.
Even the MOS did not have "Amiga Inc" it did had couple of
drop offs and returns (I believe original MOS team left
Genesi ... ). But a nice survivor !!!




_________________
Future Acube and MOS supporter, fi di good, nothing fi di unprofessionals. Learn it harder way!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 16:28:35
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 823
From: Budapest, Hungary

@vox
Quote:
But, also, Amiga OS 4.1 is the only official OS

As far as i know this specific statement is still under dispute on the court...

Quote:
and it might be MOS could prove to be faster just because it has better optimized software for Peg

I don't know any optimizations in MorphOS which would be so much Pegasos specific to make really significant difference, apart from some G4 CPU optimizations, which are active on any platform with the same CPU (eg. Mac Mini). MorphOS is faster because it's faster. Period.

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
rigo 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 2-Feb-2009 16:55:51
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 718
From: Unknown

@Chain-Q

The court case is not about the legality of AmigaOS4.1, but the ownership. OS4.1 is still the only sanctioned PPC version of AmigaOS however you look at it.

Simon

_________________
Simon

Comments made by me on any public fora are not representative of, or on behalf of, any company I may have, or assumed by the reader to have, any association with.

Any comments are a personal opinion, and should be accepted as such.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle