Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6044 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
25 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Marcian:  9 mins ago
 Karlos:  9 mins ago
 nbache:  11 mins ago
 deadduckni:  25 mins ago
 Trekiej:  25 mins ago
 kiFla:  43 mins ago
 cdimauro:  50 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 11 mins ago
 Rob:  1 hr 37 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )
PosterThread
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 13-Feb-2009 22:29:13
#101 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@Leo

But it is fair to compair Windows 2000 with Vista, and many people prefer the almost decade older OS.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 13-Feb-2009 23:09:03
#102 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

Quote:

But it is fair to compair Windows 2000 with Vista, and many people prefer the almost decade older OS.

Vista was released in 2007.
Windows 2000 was released in 2000.

That's 7 years.

Anyway, you don't have to compare Vista to anything else to see it really sucks and is bloated... And we're talking about AmigaOS/MorphOS, right ? Why bringing Windows on the table ?

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DiscreetFX 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 0:07:11
#103 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Feb-2003
Posts: 2186
From: Chicago, IL

No OS fighting please.

http://www.theledger.com/apps/pbcs.dll/article?AID=/20060418/NEWS/604180378/1039

_________________
Sent from my Quantum Computer.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
maurensen 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 15:01:22
#104 ]
Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2009
Posts: 18
From: Padova, Italy

Bah,
I am a Joe user and I don't care about trance or petunia, cgx or p96, mui or reaction, optimization or not.
Peopole using the 2 amigaoses in the same machine could tell us which is fast in everyday normal usage (watching videos,surfing internet,browsing images on hd,etc). We have always seen that MorphOS boots faster than OS4 so, for now, blue 1 red 0.
So teh world may know.

Last edited by maurensen on 14-Feb-2009 at 03:10 PM.

_________________
Excuse me in advance for my very poor english.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
PowerBook G4 15" 1,67ghz running OSX (for now), MorphOS (when it's done!).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 15:33:14
#105 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@maurensen

MorphOS boots from power on faster, but OS4.1 warm reboots faster than MorphOS reboots.



I use both, I wouldn't say one was significantly faster than the other.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 15:43:40
#106 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Stephen_Robinson

But warm reboot isn't reliable.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 15:55:14
#107 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@Fab

Isn't it?

I've been using it perfectly well for the last 3/4 years now.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:01:19
#108 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Stephen_Robinson

After a bad crash (which is generally the reason for a reboot), it can sometimes fail to boot properly if you use a warm reboot.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:04:30
#109 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5888
From: Work

@Stephen_Robinson

Reminded me of when I was drinking a GT first time I went to Kenya. Some nitwit came over and explained to me that tonic doesn't work in Africa. I go like: Whatcha mean doesn't work? It makes my gin taste less evil, that seems to be more or less excactly what I've always used tonic for.

OF course I know quinine doesn't kill Plasmodium Falciparum anymore, but that's hardly the number one reason people purchase GT's in bars...

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:06:27
#110 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@Fab

It has never once failed to warm reboot, sometime it crashes so bad you have to turn the power off, but that is not the same as being unstable after a warm reboot.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
balis 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:09:00
#111 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Apr-2005
Posts: 139
From: Lille

@Stephen_Robinson

Quote:
MorphOS boots from power on faster, but OS4.1 warm reboots faster than MorphOS reboots.

I use both, I wouldn't say one was significantly faster than the other.


Thanks for your comment. The very first relevant one in this thread

Anyone else using both OSes on Peg2 willing to give us a feedback?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:18:05
#112 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Stephen_Robinson

And yet, it can happen.

For instance, i could reproduce it with a mplayer crash (i naively forgot that under os4, user was always required to guess the stack a random program uses). After such a crash, only reset button helped.

Last edited by Fab on 14-Feb-2009 at 04:21 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AV 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:18:19
#113 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Aug-2003
Posts: 184
From: Unknown

@olegil

Quote:

OF course I know quinine doesn't kill Plasmodium Falciparum anymore, but that's hardly the number one reason people purchase GT's in bars...


I think only few will understand your example.
Nice reference though.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 16:28:44
#114 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@balis

Persoannaly i think they're both about as good as each other, my early experience of MorphOS suggested it was a bit more buggy, but I traced that down to a dodgy hard drive. d'oh!

I've been meaning to write a more detail description of the likes and dislikes of each,

For OS4.1
Screen draging,
warm reboot,
The CLI starting in the active draw that's open
more traditional feel,

For MorphOS
able to power down from software
scroll bars in shell

That sort of thing, but I can't be bothered.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
guruman 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 17:39:08
#115 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2007
Posts: 133
From: Padova, Italy

@abalaban
Quote:
abalaban wrote:
@kiero & @jPV

I won't spend all day long talking with you if you don't want to understand what I'm saying. it was just to say that what you would be benchmarking is how well written and optimized is a 3rd party soft on one OS compared to another 3rd party soft on another OS.
Results won't indicate anything about the OS (and even if you are rigourous not even about the softs, because you changed almost all the conditions, OS *and* Soft).
Else it's easy to hedge results, I just have to very poorly code one soft that pretend to do one thing on MorphOS and compare that to a carefully written and optimized one under AOS4...

I admited such *tests* might indicate which OS provides better *user experience* to do such or such thing, but again that won't be *OS benchmarks*, that would be OS comparison (which might be interesting too I agree on that). Now if you don't want to hear me then no need to continue polluting this thread, I have said what I had to say, now everyone is free to make is own mind, I certainly don't want to impose mine.

What I find somewhat "problematic" with such answer is that it does look a lot like a preemptive strike. I mean, we could of course discuss a lot about the validity of this and that benchmark, after the benchmark has been done, and we could also discuss why the results have been like that and so on.
But dismissing the whole concept of benchmarks and comparison tests before?!? I just can't see why... I am one of those interested in as much datas there can be now that we can compare the OSes on the same HW. Of course we should take numbers with a punch of salt, but we need to see some numbers before...

It has always amused me to a point the fact that, as you can see also in this thread, MorphOS developers (kiero, itix, Fab) for first are curious about such comparisons. And that some AmigaOS users/supporters seem not to want to even get to see them. Why? It wouldn't be that strange if in some cases AmigaOS 4 looked better in some tests.

I hope someone will eventually run some comparisons (and yes, running the same sw, i.e. Quake3, on the same hw would tell a little bit about the possible user experience) and will publish the results somewhere.

Kind regards,
Andrea

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ssolie 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 18:43:49
#116 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 2755
From: Alberta, Canada

@Leo
Quote:
Now the world may know ;) No more talking...

Up to 115+ posts now and still no quantifiable facts or metrics to be seen. Surprised?

_________________
ExecSG Team Lead

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
maurensen 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 19:32:38
#117 ]
Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2009
Posts: 18
From: Padova, Italy

@Stephen_Robinson

Ok, let's say now we are 1.5-1.0 for MorphOS. The half point is because mos cold reboot at about the same speed of os4 warm reboot...
So we have the first bench after 6 pages of this 3d... not so bad
Now, another 6 pages of chit-chat and maybe we'll know f. ex. which quake version is faster

_________________
Excuse me in advance for my very poor english.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
PowerBook G4 15" 1,67ghz running OSX (for now), MorphOS (when it's done!).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 19:44:54
#118 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@maurensen


How do you get it to show the framerate in quake?

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
maurensen 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 19:52:01
#119 ]
Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2009
Posts: 18
From: Padova, Italy

@Stephen_Robinson
Dunno, but I think there are more Quake addicted than me that can give you an answer.
Ciao.

Mauro

_________________
Excuse me in advance for my very poor english.
----------------------------------------------------------------------
PowerBook G4 15" 1,67ghz running OSX (for now), MorphOS (when it's done!).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 14-Feb-2009 20:22:37
#120 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5888
From: Work

@maurensen

Yeah. Like maybe google or something.

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle