Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6044 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
40 crawler(s) on-line.
 22 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 NutsAboutAmiga,  MEGA_RJ_MICAL,  matthey

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 NutsAboutAmiga:  2 mins ago
 matthey:  2 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  3 mins ago
 FerruleMedia:  7 mins ago
 Karlos:  11 mins ago
 Marcian:  29 mins ago
 nbache:  31 mins ago
 deadduckni:  45 mins ago
 Trekiej:  45 mins ago
 kiFla:  1 hr 3 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )
PosterThread
jPV 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 18:59:44
#41 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 755
From: .fi

Quote:

Stephen_Robinson wrote:

It's always fun trying to download a TCP/IP stack on a computer with no TCP/IP stack.

There's pretty many computers around where you can put couple of files to CD for example. Shouldn't be that hard to get TCP/IP stack transferred.

Quote:
Ditto trying to edit the user-startup with a text editor, and the lack of an installer were all problems that deeply effected the usability of MorphOS 1.4.5, all history now since the release of MorphOS 2.x, but I don't think it helps any to just brush aside people who had problems and were out off because of them.


Nevertheless installing MorphOS 1.4.5 was way easier than building complete system with classic Amiga, which misses all kind of stuff more badly. I don't know how Amiga users have suddenly become so helpless when they've done similar things for decades. Or are you saying there's new users without Amiga experience? :)

Anyway you can still get 1.4.5 to pretty decent system as you can update original release with latest versions of MUI and Ambient etc.

_________________
- The wiki based MorphOS Library - Your starting point for MorphOS
- Software made by jPV^RNO

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OS4_Gamer 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 20:52:23
#42 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Jan-2009
Posts: 27
From: Germany

dont chance the Workbench-Look. its the best GUI forever, simply and efficient!

i buy one of the last Pegs, but i sell it last Year because i can't go happy with Ambient.


_________________
A1-SE G3@733MHz, 1Gb RAM, Radeon9250, Sil0680, SB-Live 5.1 with OS4.0/4.1, Debian-Linux

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chain-Q 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 3-Feb-2009 22:24:39
#43 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Jan-2005
Posts: 823
From: Budapest, Hungary

@Zylesea
Quote:
Since MorphOS 1.4 (or was it 1.3) MorphOS supports usb msd.

Actually, it wasn't that easy, unfortunately, since 1.4.x didn't contain a FAT filesystem by default, you had to install the 68k FAT95 from Aminet. So plugging an USB stick by default didn't work... It was a trouble for me, when i got my Peg in early 2004 (damn, that was some time ago), and i had no blank CDs at home to burn, and also my Amiga only had SCSI, while the Peg only had IDE, so i couldn't even plug the HDD to transfer some stuff. And i didn't had a PC either. So i was screwed with a chicken & egg problem.

Luckily, some Peg1 owner living nearby helped me to get stuff on the Peg2, we plugged my IDE HDD into his machine, and copied the necessary addons... So i can perfectly understand people who complained about this. However, 2.x came out, so all people who are not talented enough to solve 1.4.x installation quirks, should get 2.x and then enjoy themselves. Period.

(2.x has a brand new PPC native FAT filesystem, and USB stack is configured by default to use it, so this is not true any more, of course. But since 2.x got a TCP/IP stack too, you don't need USB to transfer stuff... )

_________________
MorphOS, classic Amiga, demoscene, and stuff
"When a bridge is not enough, build a Viaduct!"
"Strip the Amiga community of speculation and we can fit every forum on a 720k floppy" (by resle)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 4-Feb-2009 13:53:48
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10599
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Ruud

Quote:
Who wants to be on my Purple team?


Nice one! Pefect solution. Hope you win the $200,000. Hehe.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 4-Feb-2009 14:20:06
#45 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@OS4_Gamer

You're probably confused, because workbench itself doesn't really have any gui at all, except icon display itself (tho it's a bit better with latest version that at least got some kind of listview).

Last edited by Fab on 04-Feb-2009 at 02:20 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 4-Feb-2009 14:52:48
#46 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12197
From: Norway

@Fab

GUI is short for graphical user interface.

Yes workbench is graphical, and does interface whit user.
Windows, Icons, Screens, menus, Icons, background picture…
every thing is graphical, even AmigaDOS is graphical.

MSDOS is none graphical, font size is fixed, and pixel based images can not be displays side by side of text consol.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 6-Feb-2009 15:16:16
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10599
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Fab

Quote:
If you are happy with it, you just register it.


Does doing so cost money?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 6-Feb-2009 15:20:10
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 10599
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Stephen_Robinson

Quote:
It's always fun trying to download a TCP/IP stack on a computer with no TCP/IP stack.


This makes me wonder. What the heck do you use for a network driver? If you have to use an emulated 68k tcp/ip stack there is not much chance it will have a driver the the Pegasos. Should be zero chance really. :-"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zylesea 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 6-Feb-2009 15:43:46
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2004
Posts: 2223
From: Ostwestfalen, FRG

@Hypex

Quote:

Hypex wrote:

This makes me wonder. What the heck do you use for a network driver? If you have to use an emulated 68k tcp/ip stack there is not much chance it will have a driver the the Pegasos. Should be zero chance really. :-"


I don't remeber exactly where thE driver was, but I ran Miami jus rant fine for a couple of years on the Pegasos. Until MOSNet came out and replaced the Miami version I had. In the end I had my Pegasos online since ages (used it as main mailing maschine from early 2003 on - that's the oldest evidence for being online I actually have).

_________________
My programs: via.bckrs.de
MorphOS user since V0.4 (2001)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 6-Feb-2009 15:59:13
#50 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Hypex
1.4 obviously came with native network drivers. A driver for integrated ethernet (via rhine) and for realtek 8139 too.

About registering 2.x, no, it's not free, but at least you can try it before buying it, which is the whole point. I don't think OS4 or its 4.1 update is free either, is it? :)

@NutsAboutAmiga 
Sure, but OS4_Gamer still seems seriously confused and likely confuses intuition (including skins), mui/reaction (with their default theme), and the desktop itself (ambient or workbench). You can't say there's something great about workbench GUI alone, since it just displays icons and menus and that's it basically. That's really the minimum any desktop can do (the problem is it's also the maximum in that case).


Last edited by Fab on 06-Feb-2009 at 04:00 PM.
Last edited by Fab on 06-Feb-2009 at 03:59 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gebrochen 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 8-Feb-2009 11:10:56
#51 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Nov-2008
Posts: 1410
From: Australia, VIC

@Fab

QUOTE
@NutsAboutAmiga 
Sure, but OS4_Gamer still seems seriously confused and likely confuses intuition (including skins), mui/reaction (with their default theme), and the desktop itself (ambient or workbench). You can't say there's something great about workbench GUI alone, since it just displays icons and menus and that's it basically. That's really the minimum any desktop can do (the problem is it's also the maximum in that case).
END QUOTE

could you please give an extended answer on your version of, "it is also the Maximum in that case"?

I am simply a tad confused here on your statement, as everything I have done has literally not involved anything but Graphical User Interface.

Cheers.

_________________
Courtesy of SAM440Flex & Amiga OS4.1 only
CD32 / SX1 Expansion
A500 with HxC & 1mb Chip Ram, Flicker Fixer Box
C=OS (Usa) Laptops
MorphOS PowerBook G4
AROS / AmiPUP Netbook
A1000 with 1.5MB RAM.
https://blitterwolf.blogspot.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 8-Feb-2009 11:14:27
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

Now is this boring or what ? Now when your father and my father is here. Let see who is stronger. Let the world know ? bah

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Simon 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 8-Feb-2009 11:57:11
#53 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 16-Feb-2005
Posts: 999
From: Antwerp / Belgium

Strange ... I tought that this topic was about comparing MOS2.2 and OS4.1 on a PEG2 . But apparently I have mistaken and it's about " my one is bigger than yours" ... am I on Amigaworld or in a kindergarden? GROW UP.

Last edited by Aminicle on 08-Feb-2009 at 11:57 AM.

_________________
- Proud Member Of The Belgian Amigaclub Since 2003 -

The Belgian Amiga Club on FACEBOOK !

The Belgian Amiga Club Website

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 8-Feb-2009 13:50:35
#54 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@Hypex

Intrestingly, or not, I just installed a demo copy of Windows 7 on my oldish AMD 2600+ PC, it did't install from the DVD, so I had to install over a copy of XP, got it working and found out it didn't have drivers for my network card, a standard onboard thing on a standard (can't remember which one, too lazy to check) Motherboard, so to get everything working I had to stick a spare old Reltek network card it so it could download the graphics card drivers etc. And that's a DVD install of 2/3 gigs.

Morphos had the drivers for the network card, not too suprising given the amount of hardware it runs on, but that wasn't the problem.


I'm sure I had a point when I started writting this, but, nope I forget.

Oh, yeah windblows is terrible....

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomas 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 8-Feb-2009 13:54:58
#55 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2003
Posts: 4286
From: Unknown

@Leo
I would find such benchmarks interesting at least.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fab 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 8-Feb-2009 14:23:19
#56 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Mar-2004
Posts: 1178
From: Unknown

@Tomas

Sure, let's benchmark q3 vs q3, mplayer vs dvplayer (or mplayer), mame vs xmame and so on. Should give interesting results. :)

Last edited by Fab on 08-Feb-2009 at 02:23 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 17:08:43
#57 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

@Aminicle

haha ;)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
balis 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 10-Feb-2009 18:37:19
#58 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 22-Apr-2005
Posts: 139
From: Lille

@Fab

Have you any to show?
I am really interested in how it compares.

Thanx m8.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Slayer 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 12-Feb-2009 19:09:23
#59 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2005
Posts: 416
From: New Zealand

@pavlor

Quote:

pavlor wrote:
@Wol

Quote:
I think MorphOS will win...



Maybe on morphzone.net...


LOL

now that brightened my morning

_________________
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Slayer 
Re: OS4 VS MorphOS on the same hardware
Posted on 12-Feb-2009 19:20:55
#60 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 4-Jan-2005
Posts: 416
From: New Zealand

@Leo

Quote:

Leo wrote:
Quote:

AmigaOS4.x is built on the actual source to AmigaOS. That's what makes it official.

Sure, but what do people prefer ? something official, or something better ? (I'm not implying MOS is better, I'm just wondering)... I mean: Amiga (the name) is now dead and burried... It just means nothing at all, and seeing how low it has gone, just isn't of any use today. So what's the point of having something "official" (as in based on original sources) ?


AmigaOS is the only OS. You alternative OS using people would like nothing more than to think you can simply kill off the Amiga because it suits you. The AmigaOS is what made the 'Amiga' in anycase, the custom chips were needed in the earlier days to make the features of the OS a reality. Technology changes.

AmigaOS isn't going anywhere, it'll be here as always.

So what do I prefer? Something offical. People who have no patience also have no faith LOL so we who are offical are also with God

_________________
~Yes I am a Kiwi, No, I did not appear as an extra in 'Lord of the Rings'~
1x AmigaOne X5000 2.0GHz 2gM RadeonR9280X AOS4.x
3x AmigaOne X1000 1.8GHz 2gM RadeonHD7970 AOS4.x

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle