Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6035 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
65 crawler(s) on-line.
 13 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 DiscreetFX:  14 mins ago
 cdimauro:  20 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 50 mins ago
 bhabbott:  2 hrs 38 mins ago
 ggw:  3 hrs 1 min ago
 agami:  4 hrs 15 mins ago
 tygre:  4 hrs 58 mins ago
 RobertB:  5 hrs ago
 RTK0103:  5 hrs 7 mins ago
 dframeli:  5 hrs 25 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
Derfs 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:02:35
#741 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 787
From: me To: you

@CodeSmith

Quote:

CodeSmith wrote:
@Derfs

Problem is that I don't think there are any PCIe controllers right now that provide more than 32 lanes. That's why I think the x16 slots only have 4 or 8 active lanes.


i totally agree with you, but at least the slots are the right size :D

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:03:01
#742 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@DaFreak

While that would be great, I'd actually not like it so much... an 8 core monster would not come cheap.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:04:06
#743 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@DaFreak

What current PowerPC has 8 cores?




Every task is running on one of the 8 SPU units of the cell chip [quote]

Last edited by Fransexy on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:06 PM.

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
graincloud 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:04:19
#744 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Feb-2009
Posts: 41
From: Unknown

@tony23

maybe this xena chips is responsible for bringing smp to amigaos????

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:04:40
#745 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@CodeSmith

This is working out really well.

I love the idea that you can guess and the page gives you responses.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:04:45
#746 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2677
From: Wellington

@CodeSmith

I thought you were going to bed?

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:04:48
#747 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@Spirantho

I think you're right, yes. My Core2 motherboard does exactly that, at any rate.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BinoX 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:05:03
#748 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2005
Posts: 711
From: Cornwall, UK

@CodeSmith

Well.. if there's 8 tasks at 25% each it probably is only 2 cores.. otherwise there would be 8 tasks running at 100% if it was 8 core

Last edited by BinoX on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:05 PM.

_________________
Back to action!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:05:17
#749 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 787
From: me To: you

@Spirantho

Quote:

Spirantho wrote:
@CodeSmith

I think PCI Express x16 slots work in x8 configuration under SLI don't they? Otherwise high-end PC boards would have the same problem.


its a x16 slot so the fast cards can fit, but only 4 or 8 lanes so the cards wont be maxed out, but its damn faster than pci still. yes this is how x86 mobo's do it for sli/crossfire

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:05:48
#750 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@TrevorDick

Every time I refresh there's more stuff to read!!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaFreak 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:05:48
#751 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-May-2005
Posts: 128
From: Berlin, Germany

@Derfs

I'm afraid yes... not under 1.000$. But we'll see... maybe the case will be only a shoe box. ;)

Last edited by DaFreak on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:07 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep & AmigaOS4.1 @ Morex 3677 case
---
(DaFreak of Liquid Skies & Moods Plateau)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:06:37
#752 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@Amiga_3k

Quote:
Now, what's missing in this white rectangle, or is it just a position to put a label?


*goes to check* It's a place to put a label on.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:08:05
#753 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 787
From: me To: you

@Rogue

says the guy with one right there lmao

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:08:10
#754 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@steril606

Quote:
So, we know about a mobo and a dedicated case with a boing ball on it.


A new custom chipset?!

If so then what we could have here is a 'true' next gen Amiga heart and soul.

Nintendo have shown that you don't need the fastest to be the most successful.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:08:16
#755 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@BinoX

Depends on how the OS reports it. In Windows if you have a quad core CPU and four tasks running at full bore, Task Manager will report that each task is consuming 25% of the CPU. I've never run Linux on anything other than single core, so I don't know how it reports.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rogue 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:08:56
#756 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 14-Jul-2003
Posts: 3999
From: Unknown

@Derfs

It's two PCIe x16, three PCIe x1, two legagacy PCI 33 Mhz, and Xorro.

_________________
Seriously, if you want to contact me do not bother sending me a PM here. Write me a mail

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:09:13
#757 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@All

I am getting exited ...

Woohoo!!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:10:07
#758 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@CodeSmith

Quote:
Man, I can't believe no-one is picking the board apart yet. I'll break the ice...


That's why you're here!

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:10:11
#759 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 787
From: me To: you

@Rogue

i thought the length was a bit weird on that 3rd slot

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:10:31
#760 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

@Rogue

what is Xorro??

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle