Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6071 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
0 crawler(s) on-line.
 79 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Kronos:  9 mins ago
 OlafS25:  14 mins ago
 Gunnar:  18 mins ago
 VooDoo:  26 mins ago
 clint:  48 mins ago
 zipper:  1 hr 2 mins ago
 amigakit:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 dreamlandfantasy:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 28 mins ago
 kolla:  1 hr 58 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
NEO 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:42:00
#801 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Jan-2010
Posts: 14
From: Sweden

@Radov

I can with a high confidence say that Xena ain't AJA Xena. That would make no sense what so ever. I'm currently working as a CTO in a post production company and it would make no sense what so ever to aim a new not widely adopted system to professional editors.

I mean... where would a system like that fit our pipeline? It means that they need something that can compete with Avid, FCP or Premiere (premiere isn't really PRO and I'm biting my tongue when I call FCP pro but guess I have to...).

A system like that has to be able to connect to >2TB DAS fibre storage, SAN or NAS. A system like that is dependent on 3rd party developers like Genarts, The Foundry, Red Giant etc for plugins to even have a chance out there. Not to mention that QuickTime support, unfortunately, is a must for a system like that.

And if it was aimed as just a ingest/transcode station for generation of like DPX or EXR the AJA card isn't what's needed. We're talking about hardware like what DVS provide: http://www.dvs.de/products/video-boards/archive.html We're talking realtime operations if people even would think about it. ANd it's not an easy fiel to compete in.

And if that's what they're aiming at the competition is DVS owns Clipster and then we're playing in a different league and a totally different price (100k+ EUR)...

So based on the argument that it wouldn't make any sense what so ever and that it would be suicide to make a video editing system I say that we can cross that one of the list. =)

Cheers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:42:40
#802 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

Maybe the Natami 060 card will fit in Xorro?

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:43:33
#803 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3037
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@KimmoK

Quote:
dedicated audio/video Xena chip.


Would be cool - but let's wait and see.

I do hope that Hyperion A-Eon are ready to handle the pre-orders for this thing. I also hope that it is well tested too.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fantoma 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:43:44
#804 ]
New Member
Joined: 7-Aug-2006
Posts: 2
From: Melbourne, Australia

Taking a wild stab in the dark (with only the timing of its initial sampling back in October plus will be available Q1 2010 and that it is a dual core as clues) I think the Applied Micro/AMCC APM 83290 could be a contender.

The Xilinx FPGA up near the PCI ports is interesting, PQFP packages aren't really useful for high speed stuff so maybe it is being used to interface with 5V PCI cards or even legacy 5V stuff in the Xorro port?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:46:17
#805 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2163
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Einar

Quote:
Been updated:

http://a-eon.com/4.html


Click on the text boxes for even more intrigue.

This is brilliant, I am realy enjoying the intrigue.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
eXec 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:47:34
#806 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 21-Jun-2004
Posts: 956
From: Burkina Faso

@Swoop

try to writte Cell and IBM in ;)

_________________
____
...administration is for serious people only....

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:48:02
#807 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

It looks like the PPC460GTx dual core chip from Applied Micro (formerly AMCC)
Note the X!!!!
X=PPC460GTx
Do I win a prize?


It even looks like the corner of the chip on the board if you zoom in.
Same colour and rounded edges.

Specs are:
With speeds of up to 1.4 GHz, the PowerPC 460GTx embedded processor offers a powerful mix of high bandwidth, design flexibility, and robust features. With two Gen 2 PCI Express interfaces, an on-chip DDR2 SDRAM controller, network encryption engine, and a rich peripheral mix, the PowerPC 460GTx embedded processor is ideally suited for network and wireless infrastructure, and general purpose control plane applications.


Rogue said:
It's two PCIe x16, three PCIe x1, two legagacy PCI 33 Mhz, and Xorro.

It could even be the PPC460SX
PPC460SX specs

With speeds of up to 1.4 GHz, the PowerPC 460SX embedded processor offers a powerful mix of high bandwidth, design flexibility, and robust features. With three Gen 2 PCI Express interfaces, an on-chip DDR2 SDRAM controller, I2O messaging unit, RAID 5 and RAID 6 acceleration hardware, storage and network encryption engines, and a rich peripheral mix, the PowerPC 460SX embedded processor is ideally suited for RAID controllers, Storage Area Networking (SAN) equipment, iSCSI, NAS, and other embedded storage and networking applications.

Isn't NAS what A-cube is trying to get into? Linked somehow?


Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:03 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:52 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:51 PM.
Last edited by BigBentheAussie on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:50 PM.

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:49:47
#808 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3037
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@Rogue

Quote:
Ooh, nosey, eh? But you didn't find... er... uh... nevermind.


Argh! What? What didn't we find?!

New custom case, new custom chip - clearly going to run 4.1. Someone is finally, FINALLY doing a new Amiga properly.

Is it really possible that the Amiga is back?

We even going ot have an 'A' name?

A1000?

Crikey - we'll be getting proper ring-bound manuals in the box next. Oooh Hyperion - you do spoil us.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ddni 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:50:40
#809 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Jan-2007
Posts: 818
From: Northern Ireland

@BigBentheAussie

Status = Development/Marketing Announcement.... Hmmmmm

_________________
AmigaOne X1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaFreak 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:51:02
#810 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-May-2005
Posts: 128
From: Berlin, Germany

@KimmoK
Quote:
dedicated audio/video Xena chip


It could be a supporting chip (e.g. to speed up or convert) but not full audio/video chip because there's no video port on the board.

_________________
Sam440ep & AmigaOS4.1 @ Morex 3677 case
---
(DaFreak of Liquid Skies & Moods Plateau)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:55:12
#811 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5211
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@zerohero

But I think it was only in some ACK design???

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:56:02
#812 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@BigBentheAussie

Quote:

BigBentheAussie wrote:
It looks like the PPC460GTx dual core chip from Applied Micro (formerly AMCC)
Note the X!!!!
X=PPC460GTx
Do I win a prize?


It even looks like the corner of the chip on the board if you zoom in.
Same colour and rounded edges.

Specs are:
With speeds of up to 1.4 GHz, the PowerPC 460GTx embedded processor offers a powerful mix of high bandwidth, design flexibility, and robust features. With two Gen 2 PCI Express interfaces, an on-chip DDR2 SDRAM controller, network encryption engine, and a rich peripheral mix, the PowerPC 460GTx embedded processor is ideally suited for network and wireless infrastructure, and general purpose control plane applications.





But the X on PPC460GTx is lower case and the cpu is not multicore

I think that the yellow and black colors of the X are relevant.What Company or CPU logo are black and yellow?

PD: Anyway i think that the X is binding to XENA and not to the CPU

Last edited by Fransexy on 03-Jan-2010 at 12:58 PM.

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:56:53
#813 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3037
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@CodeSmith

Quote:
think we may just be getting hardware chipset emulation after all...


Which would be fantastic allowing us the advantage of software updates.

Just trying to clear up this Xorro/Zorro thing though what is a Xorro slot? I know what a Zorro slot is.

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cool_amigaN 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:58:07
#814 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2006
Posts: 1227
From: Athens/Greece

@BigBentheAussie

I doubt it. The cpu you are suggesting is single core while, on the other hand, we have some evidence that we are going dual core!!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zerohero 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:58:44
#815 ]
Team Member
Joined: 4-May-2004
Posts: 2524
From: Uddevalla, Sweden

@KimmoK

Yes, I know, but the specs look quite similar to the high-end board.

_________________
Common sense - So rare it's almost like a super power

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaFreak 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 12:59:12
#816 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-May-2005
Posts: 128
From: Berlin, Germany

@Fransexy
Quote:
think that the yellow and black colors of the X are relevant.What Company or CPU logo are black and yellow?

Freescale (Yellow & Red dots and black font)

Last edited by DaFreak on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:00 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep & AmigaOS4.1 @ Morex 3677 case
---
(DaFreak of Liquid Skies & Moods Plateau)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Glames 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:02:11
#817 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 393
From: Nantes, France

Could it be possible that this new MB already works on AmigaOS 4.1.1?

I can't believe it but I want to

"Remember when computing was fun?" No, but I want to

Would it be possible that XENA is a Minimig?

_________________
Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:03:03
#818 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@DaFreak

Quote:

DaFreak wrote:
@Fransexy
Quote:
think that the yellow and black colors of the X are relevant.What Company or CPU logo are black and yellow?

Freescale (Yellow & Red dots and black font)


Then, What freescale CPU is at least dual core, draws less than 20W and have PCIe x16 controllers?

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:03:36
#819 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

Where is the info/teases about a new case?

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:04:49
#820 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 846
From: Vancouver, Canada

I can see lines running directly to the PCI-Express slots from the CPU. This most likely means an SOC product with dual memory controllers.

The memory slots look like DDR2 - not DDR3. The "bump" is in the middle while in DDR3 it is to the side, I believe. DDR3 would help narrow things down more.

To drive 2x8 + 2x1 you need at least 18 dedicated PCI-Ex lanes. That narrows things down again. My guess is there is some sort of bridge on one or both of the x1 PCI-Ex lanes to drive the SATA, USB, ethernet, PCI and XZorro slots.

Candidates?
- Cell? No PCI-E lanes. OUT
- 8640/8641d? Only 2 x8 PCI-E lanes, cannot operate in 16x mode. OUT
- 8572e? Only supports 1 x8 PCI-E lane. OUT
- QorIQ P10xx series? Only 1 memory controller, few PCI-E lanes. OUT
- QorIQ P20xx series? Only 1 memory controller, few PCI-E lanes. OUT
- QorIQ P40xx series? Dual memory controller, 18 PCI-E lanes. CANDIDATE
BUT current docs only show max link with of 8x on a PCI-E controller

Are there any chips out there that do PCI-Ex 16x? Maybe it's the Titan? A clue is the press release for this chip mentions DDR2, not DDR3. Most other current Freescale chips use DDR3 and I would expect to see DDR3 support on the M/B.

I'm sooo confused.

Last edited by gregthecanuck on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:08 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle