Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6035 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
60 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  46 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 19 mins ago
 bhabbott:  1 hr 34 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 57 mins ago
 agami:  3 hrs 11 mins ago
 tygre:  3 hrs 54 mins ago
 RobertB:  3 hrs 56 mins ago
 RTK0103:  4 hrs 3 mins ago
 dframeli:  4 hrs 21 mins ago
 amigakit:  4 hrs 36 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  MAP == A-Eon.com?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )
PosterThread
Glames 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:02:11
#821 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 16-Mar-2003
Posts: 384
From: Nantes, France

Could it be possible that this new MB already works on AmigaOS 4.1.1?

I can't believe it but I want to

"Remember when computing was fun?" No, but I want to

Would it be possible that XENA is a Minimig?

_________________
Glames / Boing Attitude :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:03:03
#822 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@DaFreak

Quote:

DaFreak wrote:
@Fransexy
Quote:
think that the yellow and black colors of the X are relevant.What Company or CPU logo are black and yellow?

Freescale (Yellow & Red dots and black font)


Then, What freescale CPU is at least dual core, draws less than 20W and have PCIe x16 controllers?

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:03:36
#823 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

Where is the info/teases about a new case?

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:04:49
#824 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 846
From: Vancouver, Canada

I can see lines running directly to the PCI-Express slots from the CPU. This most likely means an SOC product with dual memory controllers.

The memory slots look like DDR2 - not DDR3. The "bump" is in the middle while in DDR3 it is to the side, I believe. DDR3 would help narrow things down more.

To drive 2x8 + 2x1 you need at least 18 dedicated PCI-Ex lanes. That narrows things down again. My guess is there is some sort of bridge on one or both of the x1 PCI-Ex lanes to drive the SATA, USB, ethernet, PCI and XZorro slots.

Candidates?
- Cell? No PCI-E lanes. OUT
- 8640/8641d? Only 2 x8 PCI-E lanes, cannot operate in 16x mode. OUT
- 8572e? Only supports 1 x8 PCI-E lane. OUT
- QorIQ P10xx series? Only 1 memory controller, few PCI-E lanes. OUT
- QorIQ P20xx series? Only 1 memory controller, few PCI-E lanes. OUT
- QorIQ P40xx series? Dual memory controller, 18 PCI-E lanes. CANDIDATE
BUT current docs only show max link with of 8x on a PCI-E controller

Are there any chips out there that do PCI-Ex 16x? Maybe it's the Titan? A clue is the press release for this chip mentions DDR2, not DDR3. Most other current Freescale chips use DDR3 and I would expect to see DDR3 support on the M/B.

I'm sooo confused.

Last edited by gregthecanuck on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:08 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Prober 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:05:55
#825 ]
Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2005
Posts: 43
From: Czech Republic

Who will buy my Sam440?

_________________
Pegasos II / 1266 Mhz, 2GB RAM, 2x 320GB HDD, ATI Radeon 9250, Sound Blaster Audigy 2, AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition Update 1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-Sam- 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:07:21
#826 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2003
Posts: 3027
From: Yorkshire Dales, United Knigdom

@zerohero

Quote:
Look at "Notable uses"


Is it me - or does Wikipedia seem to know eveything very quickly?

_________________
Sam

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:08:10
#827 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@gregthecanuck

"- 8640/8641d? Only 2 x8 PCI-E lanes, cannot operate in 16x mode. OUT"

Is it possible to combine 2 x8 lanes to one x16?

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DaFreak 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:08:39
#828 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-May-2005
Posts: 128
From: Berlin, Germany

@Fransexy
Quote:
Then, What freescale CPU is at least dual core, draws less than 20W and have PCIe x16 controllers?


Why no 8641D as mentioned already?

Wikipedia: The MPC8641D (dual core) is manufactured on a 90 nm SOI based process. 8641D draws less than 25W at 1.5 GHz.
Well it supports "only" dual x8 PCI Express but it should also work with x16 PCIe ports.

Last edited by DaFreak on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:10 PM.

_________________
Sam440ep & AmigaOS4.1 @ Morex 3677 case
---
(DaFreak of Liquid Skies & Moods Plateau)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gregthecanuck 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:10:21
#829 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2003
Posts: 846
From: Vancouver, Canada

Quote:

KimmoK wrote:
@gregthecanuck

"- 8640/8641d? Only 2 x8 PCI-E lanes, cannot operate in 16x mode. OUT"

Is it possible to combine 2 x8 lanes to one x16?


I don't think so. Someone will probably shoot me down in flames any second now. Even if it was, there are still two other 1x PCI-E slots. What will run them? There is possibly a bridge chip hiding on the motherboard somewhere. That's the kicker.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:11:23
#830 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@gregthecanuck

Xena?

Last edited by KimmoK on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:12 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ruben 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:11:58
#831 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 364
From: Portugal

This is fun. Thanks Hyperion. My cash is waiting to be spent on this.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:12:19
#832 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2157
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@all

Is that mounting holes for a cooler, or for a cpu board?

If for a cpu board, could it be upgradeable for various cpu's?


_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:13:30
#833 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 349
From: Perth, Western Australia

I guess this has nothing to do with A-Eon / MAP / hyperion etc, but I found an old site (2002) showing (effectively) set top boxes named Xena, and a second set of set top boxes running an OS named Enigma. There were no OM references in there though

Check out the Xena / Enigma / PPC set top box page.

My guess is also that Xena is a 'glue' chip to go from old to new. Maybe FPGA with AGA/ECS/OCS chipset, maybe it's bus logic glue to use old Zorro cards (although, why would one want to use Zorro cards on a new motherboard running a new OS?)

Xorro may just be a familiar sounding name to use along with Amiga. I think I see an Xlinix chip there just above the hidden 'Not Yet...' section.

tiffers

Last edited by tiffers on 03-Jan-2010 at 01:18 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
steril606 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:15:40
#834 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 11-Oct-2008
Posts: 462
From: Munich/Bavaria/Germany


Sounds too good to be true, doesn't it?


Quote:

New custom case, new custom chip - clearly going to run 4.1. Someone is finally, FINALLY doing a new Amiga properly.

Is it really possible that the Amiga is back?

We even going ot have an 'A' name?

A1000?

Crikey - we'll be getting proper ring-bound manuals in the box next. Oooh Hyperion - you do spoil us.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigBentheAussie 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:18:15
#835 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1690
From: Melbourne, Australia

@Fransexy

Quote:
But the X on PPC460GTx is lower case and the cpu is not multicore

Well, I quickly re-edited and added PPC460SX which is upper case, but you beat my repost, which is hardly surprising the speed this thread is going. Sorry.
Well, just in case our SMP hopes are dashed it could be one of those chips.
SMP would really be a MAP....but even supporting this board, with a single core chip could be the MAP for all we know.
There's ambitious and then there's crazy ambitious.... and SMP, requiring a full redesign of AmigaOS is really really crazy ambitious.
I am preparing to have my SMP hopes dashed. Are you?

_________________
Leo Nigro, CTO Commodore USA, LLC
Opinions expressed are my own and not those of C= USA.
Commodore/AMIGA "Beautiful, High-Performance, Home Computers for Creativity and Entertainment."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:19:49
#836 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5209
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

I combine this
http://a-eon.com/gfx/justadot.png

and this
http://a-eon.com/gfx/tease.jpg

The Board is A-EON Technology AmigaOne Power.
No PowerPC in the name.
So the CPU could have Power cores rather than traditional PowerPC.

(but there is no known power chip below 20W ?)

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fransexy 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:20:41
#837 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Jun-2004
Posts: 2334
From: Elche (Alicante), spain

@KimmoK

Quote:

KimmoK wrote:
@gregthecanuck

Xena?




XENA in black, yellow and red

_________________
No PowerPC, No Fun
Make Amiga Great Again

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tiffers 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:22:26
#838 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Jun-2007
Posts: 349
From: Perth, Western Australia

@BigBentheAussie

Quote:
There's ambitious and then there's crazy ambitious.... and SMP, requiring a full redesign of AmigaOS is really really crazy ambitious. I am preparing to have my SMP hopes dashed. Are you?


Hmm. I think you're forgetting that all along they've said they were working on putting Memory protection in, and it's there but turned off. It's probably been developed from the very start, and now comes the time to turn it on, along with SMP.

You need SMP hardware to develop SMP software. Why not develop a nice board with SMP capabilities and then release another 'Beta' with it. Public paid Betas seem to have worked so far for Hyperion

I really am more convinced that SMP is on the way.

tiffers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Salup 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:22:27
#839 ]
Member
Joined: 12-Jun-2003
Posts: 44
From: Sydney

@Rogue

This is not really my field but doesn't this imply that maybe we are looking at a 64-bit AmigaOS? Isn't 4 gigs the maximum amount of memory that can be allocated in a a 32-bit system?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tommo1975 
Re: MAP == A-Eon.com?
Posted on 3-Jan-2010 13:23:04
#840 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Feb-2009
Posts: 21
From: Leighton Buzzard, UK

All this is very exciting and I'd buy the new hardware if the CPU was powerful enough. However, if the hardware is in the bag, then the main thing holding back the Amiga now is software, i.e. Flash, Java support, proper Office package etc. Timberwolf would take care of the browser situation (in that OWB is good, but not a name that non Amiga people would recognise) so we know that'll soon be sorted.

I'm hoping the big announcement covers both the hardware specs and prices AND the software issues.

The other good news is that Amiga OS 4.1.x must now have inbuilt support for PCIE graphics cards as the new m'board has these - I'm hoping there is support for the current set of cards (ATI and Nvidia ideally), not ones that are hard to find in stores at a resonable price.

_________________
Sadly now selling up all my Amiga Stuff

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 | 27 | 28 | 29 | 30 | 31 | 32 | 33 | 34 | 35 | 36 | 37 | 38 | 39 | 40 | 41 | 42 | 43 | 44 | 45 | 46 | 47 | 48 | 49 | 50 | 51 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle