Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5823 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
57 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 klx300r:  19 mins ago
 Jasper:  26 mins ago
 Rob:  34 mins ago
 ealm:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  1 hr 4 mins ago
 nbache:  1 hr 15 mins ago
 tonyw:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 sTix:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 TRIPOS:  1 hr 58 mins ago
 Plaz:  2 hrs 13 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 19:13:24
#21 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@number6

I entered a stack 250,000 which provided 3 GRs.

Then I increased it to 524,288 and still got 3 GRs, but the page loaded quick as fast as I could click "More" and "Continue Program" 3 times.

I also get a JavaScript error message box. I just click on "OK" which is the only choice.

Last edited by Moxee on 25-Mar-2011 at 07:29 PM.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 19:33:38
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@Moxee

ok. We have at least 2 other things you can try.

(1)Move your IBrowse prefs file someplace safe, so you can move it back later. You will be starting IBrowse without prefs, in other words. Then try that naughty test page again.

and/or

(2)IBrowse prefs/cache.
Set cache to the left. Size "off"
Set memory cache below that to about 16.096 for both images and pages.
Then try that naughty test page again.

Either one of these curing your problem will point a different direction and we'll go from there. Hope one of them works.

Remember, this one test page is merely a test for crash vs non crash and nothing more.

Note:these are settings from a machine that won't crash the test page are not meant as absolutes.

#6

Last edited by number6 on 25-Mar-2011 at 07:35 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 21:20:30
#23 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@number6

Quote:

(1)Move your IBrowse prefs file someplace safe, so you can move it back later. You will be starting IBrowse without prefs, in other words. Then try that naughty test page again.


Still 3 GRs and now the main icon at the top won't display to show all those number windows.

Quote:
and/or


Trying them both together (1 & 2) provides the same outcome as above.

Quote:
(2)IBrowse prefs/cache.
Set cache to the left. Size "off"
Set memory cache below that to about 16.096 for both images and pages.
Then try that naughty test page again.


This by itself increased the GRs from 3 to 5, but the main icon will display to show those number windows.

Quote:

Either one of these curing your problem will point a different direction and we'll go from there. Hope one of them works.


Sadly no.

Throughout these 3 tests I still get the JavaScript error window. Should I turn off the the "Display error requester" in Preference -> JavaScript?

That damn JPEGTMP requester keeps popping up too. Should I increase the size of the "Memory limit for JPEG decoder" in Preferences ->Images? It's 1,024k. Or should I assign JPEGTMP?

Here is what I have now on Preferences -> Images

Use Fastmem for images (unticked)
Play GIF animations (Always)
Load images (All)
Swap for JPEG decoder (JPEGTMP)
Memory limit for JPEG decoder (1,024k)

Palette (Fast)
Dithering (Floyd-Steinberg)
Don't dether backgrounds (unticked)
Progressive JPEGs (ticked)

JPEG (External)
PNG (External)
XBM (Internal)
GIF (Internal)

Quote:
Remember, this one test page is merely a test for crash vs non crash and nothing more.

Note:these are settings from a machine that won't crash the test page are not meant as absolutes.


Understood.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 21:22:46
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@Moxee

Quote:
Throughout these 3 tests I still get the JavaScript error window. Should I turn off the the "Display error requester" in Preference -> JavaScript?


Mine is unchecked "off".

Quote:
That damn JPEGTMP requester keeps popping up too. Should I increase the size of the "Memory limit for JPEG decoder" in Preferences ->Images? It's 1,024k. Or should I assign JPEGTMP?


I have assigned jpegtmp to ram:[directory of choice]. In my case I have the following lines in user-startup:
Makedir RAM:JPEGTMP
Assign JPEGTMP: "RAM:JPEGTMP"
Then, in IBrowse/settings/HMTL/Images I have:
Swap for JPEG decoder:Ram:JPEGTMP
Memory limit for JPEG decoder:No limit
Please note that these do not exactly emulate what IBrowse has posted in the past. Once again, I'm just giving you my settings which load that page just fine and dandy.


Quote:
Here is what I have now on Preferences -> Images

Use Fastmem for images (unticked)
Play GIF animations (Always)
Load images (All)
Swap for JPEG decoder (JPEGTMP)
Memory limit for JPEG decoder (1,024k)


Use Fastmem for images - ticked
Play GIF animations - Always
Load images - All
see above for jpeg decoder settings.

Quote:
Palette (Fast)
Dithering (Floyd-Steinberg)
Don't dither backgrounds (unticked)
Progressive JPEGs (ticked)

JPEG (External)
PNG (External)
XBM (Internal)
GIF (Internal)


Palette - Best
The rest are set as yours and some are ignored anyway for gfx cards.

I could give a detailed explanation of why each setting is the way it is for my system, but our goal is to get you past the crash. If you can load that page safely, then you will be able to play a LOT of flash that the plugin supports, and when it is unsupported, should safely exit.

#6

Last edited by number6 on 25-Mar-2011 at 09:42 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 21:32:24
#25 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@number6

Yeah, I need to go outside and pretend it is nice out there.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 21:45:31
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@Moxee

Quote:
Yeah, I need to go outside and pretend it is nice out there.


Heh. yeah, weather took a downturn back east too.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 25-Mar-2011 22:12:25
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5115
From: Right here...

@Moxee

Next step, make a second IB directory & do a clean IB install, copy no files over, not even the keys. Test the site & tell us what happens.

It seems your settings aren't the problem, so a clean install will help determine if it's a support file or something else, like datatype or a mui lib.

Last edited by sundown on 25-Mar-2011 at 10:24 PM.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 0:58:52
#28 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@sundown

OK, I downloaded IBrowse 2.4 and tried to use the install script and received this:
Quote:
Sorry... An Error Has Occured!

Interpreter: Executing non-function in line 1367.


So... I am sure I don't need them all, but I copied over the unpacked files which I figured should be in the new directory compared to the old directory.

Using this new IBrowse 2.4:
I receive the JPEGTMP requester 2-3 times, but no GRs. The debt clock site seems to load fast with the exception that the main clock with the number windows will not open.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 2:27:01
#29 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@ thread

In Preferences -> Cache:

I left the Images and Pages both at 16,096k and changed the PROGDIR:Cache/ back to 2M.

The debt clock numbers window now opens once more, but again I receive 3 GRs while it loads.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 6:26:40
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@Moxee

Quote:
I receive the JPEGTMP requester 2-3 times, but no GRs.


Perfect. no GRs is what we are looking for.
Change the .jpeg decoder back to external in prefs and you should be rid of the requestor once again as well.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 6:29:42
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@Moxee

Quote:
but again I receive 3 GRs while it loads.


Erm, I don't think sundown or I said to turn the progdir:cache back on.
Your were SO close before you did that. SO close. heh.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sundown 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 7:15:54
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Aug-2003
Posts: 5115
From: Right here...

@Moxee

Remember, that web site does not work with IB or owb, but it should load without any GRs. If the clean IB install loaded that site without any GRs, then you may have a disk cache problem.

_________________
Hate tends to make you look stupid...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hotrod 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 7:56:34
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2778
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@number6

I thought that I should mention that a good way to get rid of the JPEGTMP: requester is to simply change the memory limit for the jpeg decoder to "No limit". I have a hard time seeing that you will run out of RAM because of that and you won't risk that IBrowse starts to swap data to disk which is slow.

Also I'd like to add that I can't make IBrowser crash using the new plugin on that site no matter what crazy settings I choose in IBrowse (tried to turn on javascript error requester, turn off buffer completely for pictures, websites).

This is with AOS 4.1 upd 2 on an A1 G4 XE, 512MB RAM.

Disk cache is off between. Since it's known to cause crashes sometimes it could be a good idea to delete the cache (everything manually inside the directory) completely and start over. I haven't used the disk cache in ages but IIRC that's what I did to solve it, start over so to speak.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 12:12:37
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@hotrod

Quote:
I thought that I should mention that a good way to get rid of the JPEGTMP: requester is to simply change the memory limit for the jpeg decoder to "No limit". I have a hard time seeing that you will run out of RAM because of that and you won't risk that IBrowse starts to swap data to disk which is slow.


Agree, that's why I posted my entry in Post #24:

Quote:
Memory limit for JPEG decoder:No limit


Moxee had his set at 1024k, mentioned in Post #23.

Quote:
Also I'd like to add that I can't make IBrowser crash using the new plugin on that site no matter what crazy settings I choose in IBrowse (tried to turn on javascript error requester, turn off buffer completely for pictures, websites).


Thank you for another confirmation. I appreciate it.

Quote:
Disk cache is off between. Since it's known to cause crashes sometimes it could be a good idea to delete the cache (everything manually inside the directory) completely and start over. I haven't used the disk cache in ages but IIRC that's what I did to solve it, start over so to speak.


Agreed. That's what we were narrowing this down to. He was almost rock solid, then turned on the cache again, and "boom". Heh.
You'll note also in my prefs Post #23, I have it off.
But we have had recommendations in the past on several ways to set up a cache partition on disk, so before I feel like saying "turn it off" is the only answer, I want to check a few more things.

@Futaura

If you are reading any of this, I am aware that the unreleased version has no cache issues. I'm not a complainer, so I won't beg for it to be released. But if you think that the users -could- play a part in that happening in any way at all, please let us know.

Futaura quote:

Quote:
We gave up trying to hunt down mysterious crash bugs in 2.4 on OS4, as firstly in works just fine on OS3.x/68K and secondly because once we had IBrowse running fully natively on OS4 we found that these random crashes went away completely.


#6

Last edited by number6 on 26-Mar-2011 at 12:24 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hotrod 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 13:33:47
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2778
From: Stockholm, Sweden

@number6

Oh, sorry I missed that.

I played around with other settings as well but it was still stable.

Don't know if it's interesting to anyone but I checked my stacksize and it was 8192 bytes and still rock stable.

I'm wondering if the new install had a new cache dir? In that case it shouldn't cause any issues this soon, it usually happens after days/weeks of usage. Anyway it seems to be related to that which is good since it's easy to fix.

Ibrowse only uses about five external MUI classes so it is easy to compare the versionnumber in case it's causing issues. Probably the cache though, I hope.

Time to get some sleep, just sharing some thoughts.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 13:37:19
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@hotrod

Quote:
Probably the cache though, I hope.


Yep. Thanks again for posting. Agree with all you have to say.

#6

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 18:43:53
#37 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@number6

Quote:

Quote:
I receive the JPEGTMP requester 2-3 times, but no GRs.


Perfect. no GRs is what we are looking for.
Change the .jpeg decoder back to external in prefs and you should be rid of the requestor once again as well.


This was using the fresh IBrowse install without any changes to Preferences -> Cache. They are still set to:
Size (2M)
Images (512k)
Pages (1,024k)
Min. Chipmem (100k)

The decoders are all on Internal.

Does it matter that the debt clock does not display? I suppose not.

EDIT:
OK, the only changes I've made to the fresh install are:
Preferences -> HTML -> Images:
JPEG (External
PNG (External)

Now the debt clock page loads fast with out any requesters nor GRs!

Last edited by Moxee on 26-Mar-2011 at 07:07 PM.
Last edited by Moxee on 26-Mar-2011 at 06:55 PM.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 18:45:48
#38 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@number6

Quote:

Quote:
but again I receive 3 GRs while it loads.


Erm, I don't think sundown or I said to turn the progdir:cache back on.
Your were SO close before you did that. SO close. heh.


No one did. Since the fresh install had 2M and did not GR I thought I'd try it with the original IBrowse install.

Last edited by Moxee on 26-Mar-2011 at 06:57 PM.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Moxee 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 19:16:56
#39 ]
Team Member
Joined: 20-Aug-2003
Posts: 6291
From: County Yakima, WA State, USA

@sundown

Quote:

Remember, that web site does not work with IB or owb, but it should load without any GRs. If the clean IB install loaded that site without any GRs, then you may have a disk cache problem.


When using the fresh install the page finished loading without any GRs, but the main debt clock window did not display.

The fresh install is loading the main debt clock window fine now, minus the numbers of course.

_________________
Moxee
AmigaOne X1000
AmigaOne XE G4
I'd agree with you, but then we'd both be wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
number6 
Re: What Amiga browsers support shockwave and/or flash?
Posted on 26-Mar-2011 19:23:14
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 10837
From: In the village

@Moxee

Quote:
Now the debt clock page loads fast with out any requesters nor GRs!


Perfect!

Now it's ok to leave that cache disabled, as mine is. In which case, you can put back the same #s I posted above for images and pages.

Sundown might have some things you can try to create a reliable on disk cache,
if that's what you really want.

Quote:
They are still set to:
Size (2M)
Images (512k)
Pages (1,024k)


^^If you intend to leave the on disk cache active he'll want to have you alter the above.

#6

Last edited by number6 on 26-Mar-2011 at 07:35 PM.

_________________
This posting, in its entirety, represents solely the perspective of the author.
*Secrecy has served us so well*

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle