Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5782 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 77 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 hth313:  7 mins ago
 tygre:  21 mins ago
 Budda:  43 mins ago
 ne_one:  50 mins ago
 CSIXTY4:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 DaleH:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 14 mins ago
 freak:  1 hr 50 mins ago
 amigasociety:  1 hr 59 mins ago
 Bradsco:  2 hrs 4 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )
PosterThread
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 14:48:06
#321 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10894
From: Norway

@Everblue

Quote:
Ah well I understand what you mean. What I didn't understand is your Minimig comment =)


Its maybe degradation from the topic, software emulation vs FPGA.

Minimig is not software emulation, instead logical getas are connected by programing a array of wires with in the chip, FPGA is short for "Feal Programable Gate Array".

This chips can be rewired simply by uploading a digram to chip, they are flexible and relative expensive chips, but they simplify the design and there for cut costs.

There for FPGA grete is perfect to simulate hardware.

And one more thing MiniMig does not have USB, it has 9 pin joystick ports like the orignal Amiga, this makes big difference when your playing a game.

PS/2 is serial, GamePorts are parallel, and USB is protocol based with serial transferee.

It all comes down to transferee speed, PS/2 and USB comes to about the same in speed, but parallel based game ports are always faster.

It might be that USB1.1 was slower then PS/2, but that was a long time ago.

Anyway if your playing a rally hard game like Agany or ProjectX, and the space ship does not move instantly when you need it to, your going to lose a life.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 03:21 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 03:07 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 02:55 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 02:53 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 02:48 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Everblue 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 14:53:21
#322 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2006
Posts: 562
From: Malta, EU

@NutsAboutAmiga

Ah I understand now. So if you are playing Agony and Project X in WinUAE using a USB joypad, game is going to be much harder because it won't be 100% responsive right?

By the way, no one seem to have Minimig in stock.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 14:57:38
#323 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10894
From: Norway

@Everblue

Yes.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 16:25:08
#324 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
The QEMU emulation used by Tony is to slow to beat Sam440, its no way it can beat X1000, if you only get 1/20 to 1/10 of Mhz on I5/I7, 200Mhz – 400Mhz, it wont help having better support for graphic cards under emulation.


CPU speed is not the biggest problem. My conservative estimate is 400 to 1000 MHz 604e (on Core i5-2500K), most application benchmarks confirm lower boundary. 128 MB RAM and 4 MB GFX RAM - that is most severe limitation (68k GFX driver also doesn´t use Petunia, however GFX is not slow).

Quote:
because no one has yet run any ragemem and mplayer benchmarks.


Give me some time.

Quote:
Its even trick to emulate some ting as simple as a Amiga 500 on I7 correct.


A500 games I tried work good in RunInUAE (Populous II, Battle Chess).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 16:35:15
#325 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10894
From: Norway

@pavlor

Quote:
A500 games I tried work good in RunInUAE (Populous II, Battle Chess).


Interlace?

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 16:40:10
#326 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Interlace?


I don´t understand. I run these games from OS4 via RunInUAE. 320x256 screen is used.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 16:47:01
#327 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 10894
From: Norway

@pavlor

Interlace is 320x512 only some games use this, like "shadow of the beast" I believe and "slam tilt".
PAL 320x256 is progressive and there for always looks good.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QojksfRs_5g

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 04:51 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 04:49 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 04:48 PM.
Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 27-Sep-2014 at 04:47 PM.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 16:50:40
#328 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
Interlace is 320x512


I know what is interlace, I only didn´t get your question. Now it is clear even to me.

Still much to test.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 18:12:49
#329 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

Benchmarks on notebook with Core i5-2430M 2.4 GHz:

RAGEMEM v0.37 - compiled 11/06/2010

CPU: 604e 9.516 @ 261 Mhz
Caches Sizes: L1: 32 KB - L2: none - L3: none
Cache Line: 32

CPU
MAX MIPS: 1996

L1
READ32: 1261 MB/Sec
READ64: 1842 MB/Sec
WRITE32: 1191 MB/Sec
WRITE64: 1732 MB/Sec

RAM
READ32: 992 MB/Sec
READ64: 1371 MB/Sec
WRITE32: 965 MB/Sec
WRITE64: 1225 MB/Sec
WRITE: 473 MB/Sec (Tricky)

VIDEO BUS
READ: 74 MB/Sec
WRITE: 66 MB/Sec


For comparison result of 440EP 800 MHz Rafemem benchmarks thread (Spectre660, post 61):
AGEMEM v0.37 - compiled 11/06/2010

CPU: AMCC PPC440EP 1.3 @ 799 Mhz
Caches Sizes: L1: 32 KB - L2: none - L3: none
Cache Line: 128

CPU
MAX MIPS: 1598

L1
READ32: 2873 MB/Sec
READ64: 5693 MB/Sec
WRITE32: 2868 MB/Sec
WRITE64: 5705 MB/Sec

RAM
READ32: 323 MB/Sec
READ64: 323 MB/Sec
WRITE32: 204 MB/Sec
WRITE64: 204 MB/Sec
WRITE: 910 MB/Sec (Tricky)

VIDEO BUS
READ: 41 MB/Sec
WRITE: 63 MB/Sec

Edit: Correct result. I hope so.
Edit2: 440EP 800 MHz

Last edited by pavlor on 27-Sep-2014 at 06:34 PM.
Last edited by pavlor on 27-Sep-2014 at 06:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 18:23:34
#330 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

Same hardware as in above post - now MUI-MPlayer (generic version):

mplayer -benchmark -nosound -ao null -vo null -lavdopts skiploopfilter=none "Prometheus - Trailer.mp4"

BENCHMARKs: VC: 668.605s VO: 0.039s A: 0.000s Sys: 3.475s = 672.119s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 99.4772% VO: 0.0058% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.5170% = 100.0000%

Pegasos 2 G4 1 GHz (AltiVec) scores 153.6s (Source)
If I remember correctly, SAM440EP 800 MHz scores cca 500s in this benchmark (I can´t find this result right now).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 19:48:02
#331 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2547
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

do you had the opportunity to install and run SysMon ?
just because if you need you can compare with this results

http://amiga.ikirsector.it/forum/viewtopic.php?f=37&t=17550

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 20:39:25
#332 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Jun-2005
Posts: 3703
From: Unknown

@pavlor

Compliments of a backup DVD.
Mui-Mplayer. Sam440ep-flex 800Mhz


mplayer -benchmark -nosound -ao null -vo null -lavdopts skiploopfilter=none "Media:My Videos/Test/Prometheus - Trailer.mp4"
MPlayer UNKNOWN-4.4.3 (C) 2000-2010 MPlayer Team
160 audio & 349 video codecs

Playing Media:My Videos/Test/Prometheus - Trailer.mp4.
libavformat file format detected.
[lavf] stream 0: video (h264), -vid 0
[lavf] stream 1: audio (aac), -aid 0, -alang eng
VIDEO: [H264] 1920x816 24bpp 90000.000 fps 6828.3 kbps (833.5 kbyte/s)
Clip info:
major_brand: mp42
minor_version: 0
compatible_brands: mp42isomavc1
artist: 20th Fox
title: Prometheus - Trailer
encoder: HandBrake 4344svn 2011111001
date: 2012
==========================================================================
Opening video decoder: [ffmpeg] FFmpeg's libavcodec codec family
Selected video codec: [ffh264] vfm: ffmpeg (FFmpeg H.264)
==========================================================================
Audio: no sound
Starting playback...
Movie-Aspect is 2.35:1 - prescaling to correct movie aspect.
VO: [null] 1920x816 => 1920x816 Planar YV12


BENCHMARKs: VC: 530.312s VO: 0.014s A: 0.000s Sys: 2.184s = 532.511s
BENCHMARK%: VC: 99.5872% VO: 0.0026% A: 0.0000% Sys: 0.4102% = 100.0000%

Exiting... (End of file)

Last edited by Spectre660 on 27-Sep-2014 at 08:40 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 21:52:50
#333 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@Spectre660

Quote:
532.511s


Thanks! Good to see my memory is not that bad.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 21:55:19
#334 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
do you had the opportunity to install and run SysMon ?


Not yet. It seems SysMon uses Ragemem for this benchmark - you can see my values in post 329.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 22:07:33
#335 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2547
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

Not bed ;)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 22:19:50
#336 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@tlosm

I don´t think MIPS values of Ragemem are comparable between different CPUs. 600 MHz 440EP as fast as 600 MHz G3? Strange. That is why I rather use application benchmarks (like MPlayer).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 22:23:13
#337 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2547
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

I usually prefer use quake software rendering because it is the only one program available to all Os ... Mplayer example on MacOSX ppc cant make the bench :-/


_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 27-Sep-2014 22:36:24
#338 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Yes, Quake is good benchmark. Will try later (I got cca 30 FPS with various WarpOS versions in 320x200 and I expect similar result also in OS4 - FPU emulation is really slow ). Doom benchmark gives above 100 FPS with ADoomPPC (it was nearly 250 FPS in WarpOS with 68k JIT for GFX card driver), I think "slower" GFX is bottleneck here (Picasso IV driver is 68k and uses only interpretive emulation).

Edit: WarpOS (+ 68k JIT GFX card driver) result was from another (faster) computer. I expect it would be still faster on notebook I use right now (here I don´t have RTG enviroment for WarpOS).

Last edited by pavlor on 28-Sep-2014 at 08:52 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 28-Sep-2014 8:30:46
#339 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2547
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

Can you pass me the exactly line for benchmarking with doom ?
im pretty curious to bench the jit version on Euae jit ppc...

I hope SnakeCoils will fix the Qemu core for FsUae PPC ... On Qemu on Quad i have a G3 733 mhz in emulation performance i will be really curious under FsUae :P

Last edited by tlosm on 28-Sep-2014 at 08:31 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: WinUAE with Cyberstorm Emulation.
Posted on 28-Sep-2014 8:54:02
#340 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 8802
From: Unknown

@tlosm

ADoomWOS -forcedemo timedemo demo3

Post both realtics and FPS.
Note: It will be much slower when using AGA screen - use RTG display.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright © 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle