Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6020 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
78 crawler(s) on-line.
 24 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  6 mins ago
 htvront:  8 mins ago
 BSzili:  24 mins ago
 Rob:  25 mins ago
 matthey:  34 mins ago
 Birbo:  47 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  47 mins ago
 AP:  48 mins ago
 Musashi5150:  49 mins ago
 Trixie:  55 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 Next Page )
PosterThread
klx300r 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 19:14:16
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3651
From: Toronto, Canada

@zzd10h

well I'm personally for small updates that are much needed now rather than later afterall that's what
AmiUpdate was made for. I totally understand that A-Eon/Hyperion have not one but two new hardware models to support but that shouldnt mean that necessary small updates to issues existing now for current owners get pushed back and released when the 'newer' products get shipped.

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 19:55:45
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2287
From: Germany

@noXLar
Quote:

noXLar wrote:
@cdimauro

isn't it cloantos decision then? they give support to their emulation package and os4.1 classic via their software.. it is still not hyperion's official support area, that is cloantos

From Hyperion's home page:

"Hyperion Entertainment CVBA is very happy to announce the immediate availability of AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition for Classic for purchase as digital download.

In close cooperation with Cloanto Italia srl, well known for their Amiga Forever and C64 Forever lines of products, this is the first step and testbed for Hyperion Entertainment towards offering gradually its full line of products as digital downloads in addition to the traditional distribution of physical products through the existing dealer network.

[...]

Customers of the digital download version of AmigaOS 4.1 Final Edition for Classic get an archive containing

ISO9660 image of the installation media,
ADF image of the bootfloppy disk,
PDF of the DVD cover,
PDF of the CD label,
PDF of the booklet and
the serial number in confirmation mail,
which enables them to produce their own backup media including the official artwork*"


Please, notice the word used: "customers". If you buy it, you're an Hyperion customer, and it doesn't ask you for real hardware or emulation.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 20:15:20
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@cdimauro

you are insisting on nothing!
Emulator = software who simulate e real machine and real hardware ...
Cyberstorm allow only 128mb , Blizzard allow only 256mb ...

AMEN

PS: im sure you dont have any registerd copy of AmigaOS Classic ...

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cdimauro 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 20:30:49
#64 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Oct-2012
Posts: 2287
From: Germany

@tlosm

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@cdimauro

you are insisting on nothing!
Emulator = software who simulate e real machine and real hardware ...
Cyberstorm allow only 128mb , Blizzard allow only 256mb ...

AMEN

Totally false. In fact an emulator can emulate much better hardware or remove some limit of the original machine.

How long it's that you don't touch an emulator? I'm not talking only of (Win|FS)UAE, here.
Quote:
PS: im sure you dont have any registerd copy of AmigaOS Classic ...

Indeed. What does it matter with the topic?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kicko 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 20:35:37
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Jun-2004
Posts: 5009
From: Sweden

@cyborg

It crap waiting for ages just to get a fix for example the old fonts problem. For example you open arteffect and get the requester and you see only font names with .otag at the end which makes it if you wanna see how all fonts looks like the user has to remove the .otag from the filename in the requester to actually see how the font looks like. So doing that for every font take ages. And if you rerun/reboot then you have to do all again from start. Really annoying and old bug.

Wonder how many other bugfixes endusers/3rd party developers waits for. I just described one i need :)

This is diskfont.library 53.8 (2014-07-24)

Its ok that they dont want to release daily updates as the situation for x5000, tibor and whatever hardware is in plan after that, but at least do smaller packages like every second/third months or so with at most important bugfixes. Wait for the enhancments if it has to but at least give us bugfixes.

Last edited by Kicko on 23-Jan-2016 at 08:38 PM.
Last edited by Kicko on 23-Jan-2016 at 08:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 21:55:14
#66 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@cdimauro

Quote:
ndeed. What does it matter with the topic?



because are cocking us with something that you dont have ...
Return in topic do another thread for emulator ... here we are speaking about real NG hardware

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 21:55:57
#67 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 715
From: Norway

@cdimauro

you just proved my point.

what does "close cooperation" with cloanto means.. and the digital download isn't just for emulation, it is available for all classic users.

_________________
nox's in the house!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Phantom 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 21:59:43
#68 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 2-Aug-2007
Posts: 2047
From: Unknown

If you order a meal to a restaurant, and they delay your order more than usual, then you are start thinking to leave... The worst thing is, if you have paid for it in advance.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 22:03:30
#69 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9248
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
Cyberstorm allow only 128mb , Blizzard allow only 256mb ...


Don´t forget Z3 RAM...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 22:50:58
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1810
From: Trondheim, Norway

@tlosm

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@cdimauro

Quote:
ndeed. What does it matter with the topic?



because are cocking us with something that you dont have ...
Return in topic do another thread for emulator ... here we are speaking about real NG hardware


"cocking"? I have licensed OS4.1FE, and I support cdimauro here. What do you say the day Qemu gets a profile to emulate "real NG hardware"?

Last edited by kolla on 23-Jan-2016 at 10:52 PM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 22:51:28
#71 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1077
From: France

@tlosm @noxlar

Imagine that you didn't replied to them... It will be nice, no ?

edit : "Nice" maybe not but "better"

Last edited by zzd10h on 23-Jan-2016 at 10:53 PM.

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 22:55:03
#72 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

The Z3 Ram have only 16 mb/s performances on amiga 4000 , this why was selected to use as Swap instead of an HD more slower than 16 mb/s on cyberppc.device .
The Cyberstorm ram is more faster . Os 4.1 Classic = Real Amiga

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
noXLar 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 22:57:33
#73 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-May-2003
Posts: 715
From: Norway

@zzd10h

okay..sorry :)

_________________
nox's in the house!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 22:59:50
#74 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@zzd10h

Ok... i will stop reply the troller

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 23:00:47
#75 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9248
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Note: OS3 uses Z3 RAM as normal Fast RAM.

Sorry for OT...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 23:01:59
#76 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@kolla

yes... cooking (bones) ... is one of south italian words for people who insist in something

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 23:07:19
#77 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2721
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

Quote:
Note: OS3 uses Z3 RAM as normal Fast RAM.

yes i know :)

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 23:53:43
#78 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1810
From: Trondheim, Norway

@tlosm

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@kolla

yes... cooking (bones) ... is one of south italian words for people who insist in something


But you did not write "cooking" (bones), you wrote "cocking" (boner).

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 23-Jan-2016 23:54:52
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1810
From: Trondheim, Norway

@tlosm

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
@pavlor

The Z3 Ram have only 16 mb/s performances on amiga 4000 , this why was selected to use as Swap instead of an HD more slower than 16 mb/s on cyberppc.device .
The Cyberstorm ram is more faster . Os 4.1 Classic = Real Amiga


Emulators (and FPGA) are not limited by "real life" hardware limitations, in WinUAE, Z3 RAM can be just as fast as mainboard RAM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
zzd10h 
Re: Hyperion : why no OS4FE updates since 1 year ?
Posted on 24-Jan-2016 0:21:51
#80 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 21-May-2012
Posts: 1077
From: France

@tlosm
"Ok... i will stop reply the troller"
As I have now my reply from Hyperion (even if I would have prefer that it will support users rather than support only his betatester, his first class users ?) , feed the trolls as you want :)

As your ancestors said, this thread is "damnatio ad bestias" !

_________________
http://apps.amistore.net/zTools

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 | 21 | 22 | 23 | 24 | 25 | 26 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle