Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
59 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 broadblues:  8 mins ago
 AmeegaGuy:  9 mins ago
 Jasper:  22 mins ago
 nbache:  25 mins ago
 walkero:  25 mins ago
 amigakit:  40 mins ago
 Yicker:  59 mins ago
 Troels:  1 hr 1 min ago
 scuzz:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 jima:  1 hr 19 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 Next Page )
PosterThread
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Jun-2018 15:24:05
#141 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2630
From: Amiga land

@wawa
I know Zoltan do something about 460ex that is formally a 440 core with faster clock , i dont know or i dont remember if he did something about instructions emulations and this can be upgraded by him.
About Qemu and Jit . yes, qemu have is jit, it is formally called tcg and is all in c++ but it is "fast" on mac emulation . This is an old version of Qemu running on Threadripper (left) vs Qemu in kvm on G5


https://scontent.fnap1-1.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/27540591_10211001296249952_3934778983080779619_n.jpg?_nc_cat=0&oh=523c1f6cddb62032b5879224613d210d&oe=5BBE5122

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 20-Jun-2018 15:28:24
#142 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6157
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
i dont know or i dont remember if he did something about instructions emulations and this can be upgraded by him.


it doesnt look like that from the commit log. we als have discussed things like that on aros dev ml and i didnt have an impression he wanted to mess with it. but i wouldnt like to speak for someone else.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 22-Jun-2018 15:12:32
#143 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2630
From: Amiga land

new pull



git://github.com/dgibson/qemu.git tags/ppc-for-3.0-20180622

BALATON Zoltan (3):
ppc4xx_i2c: Remove unimplemented sdata and intr registers
ppc4xx_i2c: Implement directcntl register
target/ppc: Add missing opcode for icbt on PPC440

Sebastian Bauer (1):
sm501: Fix hardware cursor color conversion

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 22-Jun-2018 15:21:20
#144 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6157
From: Unknown

@tlosm

i dont see it:
https://github.com/qemu/qemu
i think these are older commits just pulled to some other repo?

Last edited by wawa on 22-Jun-2018 at 03:34 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mulder77 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 22-Jun-2018 22:33:18
#145 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Aug-2011
Posts: 10
From: Unknown

@tlosm

I compiled that latest source, but it crashes all the same.
I start it like this:

qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -serial stdio -drive if=none,id=cd,file=amigaos41-sam440ep.iso,format=raw -device ide-cd,drive=cd,bus=ide.0

What else do I need to set?

On the other side, I am not sure how to clone that particular branch/tag.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 22-Jun-2018 23:51:14
#146 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2630
From: Amiga land

@mulder77


Quote:
migaos41-sam440ep.iso,

i dont think will work and never will do it

Last edited by tlosm on 22-Jun-2018 at 11:51 PM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mulder77 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Jun-2018 15:02:22
#147 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Aug-2011
Posts: 10
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Why not? Is it not the correct version for Sam460?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Jun-2018 15:50:50
#148 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11048
From: Norway

@mulder77

Sam440 and Sam460 is not the same hardware,

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Jun-2018 16:53:32
#149 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9518
From: Greensborough, Australia

@mulder77

Also it has SATA.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Jun-2018 16:55:54
#150 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9518
From: Greensborough, Australia

@tlosm

Do you know if the QEmu team tackled Pegasos emulation? This should be easier. It's CHRP based so more generic in function. Aside from the custom firmware. I woud have thought it would be emulated by now. Plus it runs OS4.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Spectre660 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 23-Jun-2018 16:59:51
#151 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jun-2005
Posts: 3742
From: Unknown

This is going to be interesting as stocks of AmigaOS 4.1 Sam460ex CD's are limited .
Acube has about 6 packages left.
Amiga on the Lake 2 .

On Your Mark, Get Set . Oops

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 27-Jun-2018 2:19:28
#152 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 587
From: Unknown

@Spectre660

Alright, alright, I fell for it and bought a license.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 27-Jun-2018 6:21:30
#153 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2630
From: Amiga land

@Hypex

no pegasos 2 on qemu. if someone can do it in qemu the team is open to add. i know the pegasos emulation was did by mos team on qemu many time ago but never shared and included in qemu.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mulder77 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 27-Jun-2018 13:46:35
#154 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Aug-2011
Posts: 10
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

OK, I assumed it's the same like with AROS where it's a single image for both platforms.

So I checked out the given tag by
git checkout tags/ppc-for-3.0-20180622

and gave it another try with:

qemu-system-ppc -machine sam460ex -serial stdio -drive if=none,id=cd,file=amigaos41-fe-sam460.iso,format=raw -device ide-cd,drive=cd,bus=ide.0

And this one fails with the hint of missing GFX card.

So I assume progress is made over time.

What about the changes from the git repository?
Aren't they checked in into the official repository of qemu?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 27-Jun-2018 14:17:55
#155 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2630
From: Amiga land

@mulder77

the pull af patches are merged for the pubblic only when release candidate are available.
Right now there are not release candidate, there are just only test pull like the last one i had been write before.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mulder77 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 28-Jun-2018 8:59:21
#156 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Aug-2011
Posts: 10
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Thanks, understood.
So the dgibson repository is the one where current patches are checked into?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 28-Jun-2018 9:10:51
#157 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2630
From: Amiga land

@mulder77

yes, clone it freely.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mulder77 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 28-Jun-2018 10:16:11
#158 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Aug-2011
Posts: 10
From: Unknown

Anyone able to launch the ESM?
Or is this exclusive to Classic OS4.1?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Jun-2018 12:37:25
#159 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 328
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@mulder77

Nop, seems video sm502 emulation isn't fully functional, or maybe some AOS4.1fe module/component doesn't like QEMU :-/
I just stick on a garbled bootlogo and C:LoadDrivers telling can't open sm502 screenmode.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 29-Jun-2018 12:59:01
#160 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6157
From: Unknown

@jabirulo

Quote:
Nop, seems video sm502 emulation isn't fully functional,


perhaps, but i dont see any problems or glitches with sm502 on aros. admittedly its still limited to basic 640x480 resolution. would have to look if this is due to aros not providing modes to choose from for this hardware, but i simply didnt care so far, i must admit.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle