Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5685 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
60 crawler(s) on-line.
 5 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 redfox:  9 mins ago
 wawa:  13 mins ago
 klx300r:  24 mins ago
 kolla:  35 mins ago
 eliyahu:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 RobertB:  1 hr 22 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 54 mins ago
 simplex:  2 hrs 19 mins ago
 ssolie:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 JetBlack:  2 hrs 46 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  sam460 emulated in qemu
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )
PosterThread
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 7:57:06
#181 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 124
From: Napoli - Italy

Maybe it's time to swap from winuae to qemu.

..Any news for PowerMac compatibility with kvm support?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 8:31:47
#182 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6187
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:
did you try to add an extra vdevice device like are realtek or e1000?


doesnt work with our e1000 driver on aros, but its probably the driver endian issue.
ony sort of works here in configuration zoltan mentions on hiis page. im trying to understand whats wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 8:51:49
#183 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Quote:

did you try to add an extra vdevice device like are realtek or e1000?

I don't know how to add a new network device: command line arguments of qemu are not that easy to understand.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 11:24:44
#184 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2654
From: Amiga land

@Leo

add
-net nic,model=rtl8139 -net user

or for all device just -device help


Quote:
I don't know how to add a new network device: command line arguments of qemu are not that easy to understand.


yes i totally agree about.

Last edited by tlosm on 05-Jul-2018 at 11:25 AM.
Last edited by tlosm on 05-Jul-2018 at 11:24 AM.

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 12:59:53
#185 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Thanks! I now have network working (no idea why but I had to manually enter DNS servers in MorphOS/network configuration).

Now I'm trying to install it on a disk image.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Fl@sh 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 18:13:20
#186 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2004
Posts: 124
From: Napoli - Italy

I'd like to know speed differences about winuae vs qemu under windows os.

I think qemu should be faster.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cmsj 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 18:28:59
#187 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2016
Posts: 19
From: Unknown

EDIT: Blah, ignore the stuff below, I built the wrong branch :)

screenshot


BLAH:
Has anyone had any luck with this yet? I've built the relevant repo linked from zoltan's page, and OS4.1FE boots, but even with the patched ISO the graphics are very blue and heavily corrupted, so much so that everything just leaves artifacts and I can't even see where UI elements are (e.g. no bitmaps draw, only text and a few lines).

Quote:

tlosm wrote:
from Zoltan,
info instructions and help. thanks for his time


http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/

Last edited by cmsj on 05-Jul-2018 at 06:43 PM.
Last edited by cmsj on 05-Jul-2018 at 06:42 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kamelito 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 19:11:46
#188 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Jul-2004
Posts: 702
From: Unknown

@cmsj

how is the speed compared to WinUAE?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cmsj 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 19:17:09
#189 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2016
Posts: 19
From: Unknown

@kamelit0

The graphics emulation is pretty slow, but the CPU emulation is fine on my 4GHz Skylake i7.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cmsj 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 5-Jul-2018 20:22:51
#190 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Jun-2016
Posts: 19
From: Unknown

https://youtu.be/_2Xvm7qAF7g video of the install CD booting to Workbench and the start of the install. I couldn't get the installed disk to boot, but the video doesn't go that far because the install was going so slowly and I didn't want to deal with gigabytes of video.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 6-Jul-2018 2:45:59
#191 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6187
From: Unknown

@cmsj

my experience on aros ppc side is rather different. i find the graphics not that quick but acceptable, bit more responsive as on your video, even if its ony a frame buffer. however binary operation is very slow imho. have you tried to run a browser? owb feels like it loads and executes here as if it was 68k or even slower. might be that network driver and heavy fonts carriy part of responsibility for it.

while thinking about practical usability it might be interesting to compare speeds at some point on the same hardware. im testing on an i5 6200u 2.3ghz notebook currently, and this within vmware host. the system loads apparently much faster here, but its hard to judge if the difference is real against a video. and i dont have an os4 copy, nor really wish to have.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 6-Jul-2018 2:47:59
#192 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6187
From: Unknown

i could try morphos though.. perhaps.

Last edited by wawa on 06-Jul-2018 at 02:48 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 6-Jul-2018 8:43:32
#193 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2654
From: Amiga land

@all
thanks for share your experiences .
Zoltan usually read here the comments and this can help improving something from him or for the others than are capable to make Qemu more efficient.



_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 6-Jul-2018 16:56:02
#194 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9010
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Dnetc can be used as a simple integer benchmark, lame as a simple fpu benchmark. Doom benchmark shows integer and 2d gfx performance, Quake both fpu and 2d gfx performance (software rendering).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 6-Jul-2018 16:57:30
#195 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2654
From: Amiga land

@pavlor

I know :) is to early to start benchmarking . Many things are need to do

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Jul-2018 12:29:46
#196 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

Anyone would have a copy of the patched openbios.elf file?

This site http://zero.eik.bme.hu/~balaton/qemu/amiga/ appears to be down today.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Jul-2018 12:44:33
#197 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2654
From: Amiga land

@Leo

isnt needed any more. that was the patched uboot now is included in qemu

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 7-Jul-2018 13:49:48
#198 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

@tlosm

Are you sure? Right now it boots but I have no mouse or keyboard working without this file.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 8-Jul-2018 12:45:04
#199 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2654
From: Amiga land

@Leo

from zoltan,

think what tlosm meant is the ehci patch for AmigaOS but what Leo was
talking about is the OpenBIOS patch for MorphOS. MorphOS on mac99 still
needs patched OpenBIOS and it still does not boot on sam460ex (even 3.11
seems to behave the same as 3.10). AmigaOS on sam460ex works with latest
QEMU ppc-for-3.0 tree without other patches. (Although the patch to fix
USB for AmigaOS wasn't for U-Boot but for QEMU EHCI emulation.) Hope this
clears the confusion.

Regards,
BALATON Zoltan

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tlosm 
Re: sam460 emulated in qemu
Posted on 9-Jul-2018 8:37:29
#200 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Jul-2012
Posts: 2654
From: Amiga land


The final Pull before release condidate



git://github.com/dgibson/qemu.git tags/ppc-for-3.0-20180709

BALATON Zoltan (4):
sm501: Implement i2c part for reading monitor EDID
sm501: Fix support for non-zero frame buffer start address
sm501: Set updated region dirty after 2D operation
sam460ex: Update u-boot-sam460ex firmware


David Gibson (3):
sam460ex: Check for errors from libfdt functions
sam460ex: Don't check for errors from qemu_fdt_*()
sam460ex: Make sam460ex_load_device_tree() handle all errors internally


Philippe Mathieu-Daudé (1):
ppc440_uc: Fix a copy/paste error

Sebastian Bauer (4):
sm501: Perform a full update after palette change
sm501: Use values from the pitch register for 2D operations
sm501: Implement negated destination raster operation mode
sm501: Log unimplemented raster operation modes

_________________
I love Amiga and new hope by AmigaNG
A 500 + ; CDTV; CD32;
PowerMac G5 Quad 8GB,SSD,SSHD,7800gtx,Radeon R5 230 2GB;
MacBook Pro Retina I7 2.3ghz;
#nomorea-eoninmyhome

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19 | 20 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle