Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5685 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
42 crawler(s) on-line.
 7 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 redfox,  klx300r

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 klx300r:  50 secs ago
 redfox:  3 mins ago
 kolla:  12 mins ago
 eliyahu:  49 mins ago
 RobertB:  58 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 simplex:  1 hr 56 mins ago
 ssolie:  1 hr 57 mins ago
 JetBlack:  2 hrs 22 mins ago
 freak:  2 hrs 38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Atari betting us again
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )
PosterThread
fishy_fis 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 8-Jul-2019 14:50:43
#61 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Mar-2004
Posts: 1851
From: Australia

@Rob

Demean?
There was no demeaning, it was meant as tongue in cheek.

Also, never heard of auto correct? On occasion a wrong word will slip in.

You understood anyway, so out of curiosity was you being defensive, petty, or deliberately obtuse and pedantic?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 8-Jul-2019 15:55:06
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9625
From: Greensborough, Australia

@kolla

Quote:
Then you have not paid attention.


I don't even recall seeing that site before.

But isn't that for the MIST board? I know about MIST. I'm thinking of a dedicated MiniMig follow up board with AGA.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spudmiga 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 8-Jul-2019 17:24:29
#63 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Dec-2002
Posts: 809
From: England, United Kingdom

@g01df1sh

Pretty much, though the VCS does have a bit of a "yet another failed Linux gaming box" aura about it....

Amiga will continue to splinter, argue, fight, when really Amiga in its heyday was all about desktop computers running its own OS on proprietary hardware.
So simple yet so hard for so many to achieve.

The last Amiga that did this was the relaunched Amiga 1200 in 1995/96.

_________________
A1200 / 2Mb+4Mb / 4Gb CF / OS 3.1 / 1438S Multisync
Founder of NWAG - North West Amiga Group (England)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 8-Jul-2019 17:25:04
#64 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 498
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:

I'm thinking of a dedicated MiniMig follow up board with AGA.


Minimig was a design, the design is made for an FPGA, it could be used with a real 68k CPU or with a free soft core 68k CPU and needs an ARM for HD emulation on SD-Card.

Maybe you thought Cloanto was the only source for Minimig hardware but that's wrong.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 15:35:11
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9625
From: Greensborough, Australia

@OneTimer1

Quote:
Maybe you thought Cloanto was the only source for Minimig hardware but that's wrong.


I don't recall where the hardware came from. But it would be strange Cloanto producing it as they focus on software. I saw one years ago and it was okay as a minature A500. But it also lacked a case so looked a bit hackish.

I expected another model to be produced with AGA. Though catching up to AGA, when it was thought obsolete even in the early 90's, seems strange.

Sure, it's made for an FPGA, but I don't recall anyone buying a MiniMig to do anything but Amiga on it. Nowdays it's a one hardware, run many platforms, type of world.

Last edited by Hypex on 09-Jul-2019 at 03:36 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 15:49:38
#66 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 4974
From: UK

@Hypex

What other platforms worth their salt are there worth emulating in a FPGA?

Atari ST for BlueWar III
Acorn Archimedes for Starglider 3000
Not much else is of value to be honest when I can emulate Super Mario Bros. 3 on an Amiga!

Retro Amiga for fun on preferably Amiga-like hardware without PC bloat and slow response and a Windoze or Mac box for the day to day. Why use a Windoze box for emulating your prefered machine?

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 16:06:41
#67 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9625
From: Greensborough, Australia

@BigD

Quote:
What other platforms worth their salt are there worth emulating in a FPGA?


Maybe an Atari Falcon and Sharp X68000.

A Vampire would be a good one to simulate in an FPGA. Oh wait...

Wait, worth emulating in a FPGA, you say? Wash your keyboard out young man! Emulation has no place inside an FPGA.

Quote:
Why use a Windoze box for emulating your prefered machine?


All it can do is emulate but it does have raw CPU power at its disposal these days. An FPGA may be slower for raw CPU grunt and 68K simulation but it can provide a more accurate simulation of the Amiga chipset being closer to the hardware level.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 16:26:15
#68 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 498
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:


But it would be strange Cloanto producing it as they focus on software.


You are right I mixed it up with 'ACube Systems Srl' another Italian company.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 16:46:41
#69 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 498
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:

Hypex wrote:
@BigD

Quote:
What other platforms worth their salt are there worth emulating in a FPGA?


Maybe an Atari Falcon and Sharp X68000.


MiSTer has this computer cores, Atari STs seems missing:

Acorn Archimedes
Altair 8800
Amiga
Amstrad CPC 6128
ao486
Apogee
Apple II+
Apple Macintosh Plus
Aquarius
Atari 800XL
BBC Micro B,Master
BK0011M
Commodore 16, Plus/4
Commodore 64, Ultimax
Commodore PET
Commodore VIC-20
DEC PDP-1
Jupiter Ace
MSX
MultiComp
Orao
SAM Coupe
Sharp MZ Series
Sinclair QL
Specialist/MX
TI-99/4A
TSConf
Vector 06C
X68000
ZX Spectrum
ZX81

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 16:51:33
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9625
From: Greensborough, Australia

@OneTimer1

Ah yes, I recall seeing that on the ACube site. Out of stock. Design is a bit dated based on PS/2 and VGA. It's not clear what is meant by PIC and ARM options. Not that it matters anymore.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 9-Jul-2019 19:23:17
#71 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 498
From: Unknown


Quote:

Hypex wrote:

It's not clear what is meant by PIC and ARM options.



An Amiga needs a hard disc or at least a floppy disk, those 'FPGA Amigas' are using an standard FAT32 formatted flash cards that have ADF or Hardfiles in them. The MCUs (PIC or ARM) is decoding the hard file or ADF and emulating a hard disk or floppy for the 'FPGA Amiga'

Nice, but to expensive for a commercial Amiga clone, they will use the cheapest possible ARM hardware ( 5-10€ with RAM, FLASH and SoC) and call it 'The Amiga Mini' if they can get the name licence.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ferry 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 10-Jul-2019 0:26:17
#72 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 26-Aug-2003
Posts: 686
From: Valencia, Spain

@ne_one

Quote:

ne_one wrote:
@davebraco

Quote:
Nice but dont wish that for the Amiga.


Market relevance and economic success?

You're right. That would be horrible.

I mean, why generate revenue to propel the platform forward?


I'm with @davebraco: thanks, but no, thanks.

Is a RaspberryPi running Amibian an Amiga? I'd say no, and you can already buy it, the same way that you can buy a PC and put WinUAE in it. Again, not an Amiga. But both cases show a complete a full-featured and fully usable Amiga system, they can be used to mantain or expand the system userbase, and some Amiga-emulated users will jump into the real-machine bandwagon, buying a real A1200, A600, whatever.

What the people making those consoles named "Atari" is doing is making profit from the name and the memories, selling a retro videogame console, not expanding the classic Atari userbase.

This has been done with many, many dead brands: to prostitute the name just because people still remembers it.

Saluditos,

Ferrán.

_________________
Amiga user since 1988
AOS4 Betatester
Member of ATO Spain
A1 Cfg
OS4 SCR
A1200

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Nonefornow 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 10-Jul-2019 18:58:05
#73 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Jul-2013
Posts: 137
From: Greater Los Angeles Area

@OneTimer1

Quote:


MiSTer has this computer cores, Atari STs seems missing:

Acorn Archimedes
Altair 8800
Amiga
Amstrad CPC 6128
ao486
Apogee
Apple II+
Apple Macintosh Plus
Aquarius
Atari 800XL
BBC Micro B,Master
BK0011M
Commodore 16, Plus/4
Commodore 64, Ultimax
Commodore PET
Commodore VIC-20
DEC PDP-1
Jupiter Ace
MSX
MultiComp
Orao
SAM Coupe
Sharp MZ Series
Sinclair QL
Specialist/MX
TI-99/4A
TSConf
Vector 06C
X68000
ZX Spectrum
ZX81


Say what now - no C128?

I'm out.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 11-Jul-2019 8:04:21
#74 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 3945
From: Australia

@hth313

Quote:

hth313 wrote:

Realistic in as being a way to build a decent low cost Amiga like system. You need x86 (or ARM) for this. Amiga OS does not run on either of those and are unlikely to ever be able to do that. This for two reasons, Amiga OS relies on a lot of low level assembly language and are in the hands of a company that is not able to do much progress and who does not want to even go this route.

Take a look at BSD and Linux. BSD is a genuine UNIX, Linux is a reimplementation. BSD ended up in the court about ownership issues with the UNIX trademark owner. Linux did not have this problem and grabbed a lead. The court case was eventually settled, but BSD has never been able to really catch up. Thus, having the genuine code with a certain heritage is not the most important thing, people just want something that works and that does not have issues.

I do even dream about the Amiga being able to touch the mainstream competition like Windows, macOS or Linux. That train left the station 20-25 years ago.

FreeBSD is currently the kernel software for Sony's PS4.

Last edited by Hammer on 11-Jul-2019 at 08:05 AM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE U1 + MS Windows 10 Pro X64
Intel i7-7820X @ 4.5 Ghz, DDR4-3600 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Atari betting us again
Posted on 11-Jul-2019 15:29:48
#75 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9625
From: Greensborough, Australia

@OneTimer1

Quite a big list. And yes some obvious ones missing. I'd be interested in the Commodore 16, Plus/4 simulation. But I wouldn't want to overload the FPGA so it burns out. In case the simulation was too accurate.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle