Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5826 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
50 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 OldAmigan

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OldAmigan:  4 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  5 mins ago
 Jasper:  5 mins ago
 utri007:  11 mins ago
 sTix:  22 mins ago
 Zierline:  25 mins ago
 BSzili:  25 mins ago
 Vidar:  27 mins ago
 Derfs:  27 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )
PosterThread
GaryG 
Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 15-Jan-2020 18:03:09
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

I don't know if I violated some rule or not but I haven't seen a Reply button to respond to this thread that I started.

Assuming I have the right hardware (Plipbox connected to a wi-fi "range extender") and software (OS 3.9 Genesis, AmiTCP, and recently-added demo version of Roadshow) what I need is how to answer the questions that I am asked when trying to log into the wi-fi network for the first time.

I don't have a fixed IP address, which seems to complicate things.

Anyone have any ideas?

Gary

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rose 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 15-Jan-2020 18:10:28
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Nov-2009
Posts: 674
From: Unknown

@GaryG

Tried these instructions?

https://github.com/cnvogelg/plipbox/blob/master/doc/src/amiga.md

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 0:36:17
#3 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@Rose

Thanks. I may have seen them, but my problem right now (as I discovered this afternoon) is that my "range extender" doesn't work any more and I may have to buy one.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 6:43:33
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 989
From: United States of Europe

@GaryG

1. Get range extender.
2. Connect you PC to it with wire.
3. Check your IP with your PC, using Command prompt and IPCONFIG command.
4. Using your PC connect to default gateway with web browser.
5. Find out what is DHCP range, ie IPs wich it gives to computer.
6. Choose IP for your Amiga, based that information, changin only last number.

About IPs

Default gateway is you internet router. Most of cases it gives IP for computers. Service wich does this is DHCP. Usually DHCP has a range of IPs. like 192.169.1.99-200. In this examble you could choose these IPs for you Amiga 192.168.1.2 - 98 and 192.168.1.201 - 254

Last edited by utri007 on 16-Jan-2020 at 06:48 AM.
Last edited by utri007 on 16-Jan-2020 at 06:48 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 15:12:38
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9758
From: Greensborough, Australia

@GaryG

AFAIK remember Genesis/AmiTCP is rather old and doesn't support DHCP. Miami does. As well as Roadshow. I recall Miami having some kind of PLIP driver at least.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 15:51:27
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@utri007

I have a Macbook Pro, not a "PC", so I don't know what a IPCONFIG command is or where to access it.

An idea popped into my head: what if I ran an Ethernet cable from the Plipbox to the Ethernet port of the laptop?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OneTimer1 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 19:02:35
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2015
Posts: 557
From: Unknown

@GaryG
Quote:


I have a Macbook Pro, not a "PC", so I don't know what a IPCONFIG command is or where to access it.


Mac after OSX have a Unix like OS with a shell, they usually provide a command called ifconfig.

@GaryG
Quote:


... if I ran an Ethernet cable from the Plipbox to the Ethernet port of the laptop?


Bad idea as long as you don't know how to configure the Mac as a router.

I would suggest an ethernet connection with your internet router for the first test, look if you can get a stable connection via ethernet before switching to wifi.

Last edited by OneTimer1 on 16-Jan-2020 at 07:03 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 16-Jan-2020 19:08:34
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@OneTimer1

I have no access to the Internet router as I live in a wi-fi environment with routers/access points buried behind ceilings.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 17-Jan-2020 9:48:58
#9 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 989
From: United States of Europe

@GaryG

You can make a educated ques. Find out what is your Mac's IP.

You need to know your Mac's IP addres, subnet mask, gateway. As name servers you should be able to use 8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4 wich are google's public name servers.

If it is something like 192.168.1.165, you could quest that IP like 192.168.1.30 etc are outside of DHCP pool. After that you should ping it, to se that it is not a used (to shell ping 192.168.1.30)

After that you can set it as a manual IP to your TCP stack.

Setting up TCP stack is simple

Both Genesis / Miami

First choose device, plipbox.device and set up IP, gateway, subnet mask and names servers (DNS)

I did it with Genesis and Plipbox last evening, took 2 minits.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 17-Jan-2020 12:24:08
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1418
From: Trondheim, Norway

@OneTimer1

Quote:

Mac after OSX have a Unix like OS


Understatement - macOS (and OSX) *ARE* certified variants of UNIX.

And of course it can be configured as a router, easiest of all is to just "share" your internet connection from system preferences/sharing, tick internet sharing -> select wifi, and tick ethernet.

(and for fox sake - it is called an "IP address", not just an "IP" - if you ask me what IP I have, I will answer "v6" just to mock your ignorance)

Last edited by kolla on 17-Jan-2020 at 12:39 PM.
Last edited by kolla on 17-Jan-2020 at 12:37 PM.
Last edited by kolla on 17-Jan-2020 at 12:25 PM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 18-Jan-2020 1:51:36
#11 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@kolla

I tried connecting the PLIPBOX to the laptop's Ethernet port
and got a message that 802.11a prevented sharing, and I had
to turn off Internet Sharing, but it's not clear to me to get around this.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 22-Jan-2020 15:41:50
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9758
From: Greensborough, Australia

@GaryG

To share the internet over ethernet on the Mac you will likely need a cross over ethernet cable which tend to be red. I've not got a standard cable to work. The cross over is like a null modem cable.

I have used a similar setup to yours regarding a shared wifi network. Modern devices tend to work better but the past chaining two devices together like an Amiga network card to a router connnected to a modem over DHCP causes trouble. If the Amiga used DHCP and the router had WAN over DHCP it used to break.

Not sure how your D-Link works but in the past I have used one with a client wifi mode and DHCP needed to be switched off in it. This also meant the network was broken if it couldn't get a wifi signal. So a bad design not having a DHCP fallback so the router gave some clue it was listening.

So my A4000 has an A2065 card. I have connected it to an LP-Link ethernet to wifi adaptor and it has worked. Over a public wifi network with log in page. I used Miami which has DHCP.

Once I had that setup the last problem to solve was logging into the wifi. It used to work in the Amiga browser but at one point broke. Prefer IBrowse but NetSurf has more modern engine. Sometimes I connected another computer to the adaptors own SSID to setup and browse through. So that I could use a more moderne browser to log in to the wifi. In any case I needed to use Firefox to configure my adaptor as it broke on other browsers.

Are you able to setup the D-Link using your Mac and log in to your wifi network? Either over wifi or ethernet. Leaving it plugged in to the Amiga may be best if you can so you can log it in if the wifi ties MAC addresses to log ins.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 22-Jan-2020 16:35:12
#13 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@Hypex

I haven't used the D-Link since they installed an "access point" in the ceiling of my apartment to amplify the signal from the router in the hallway.

I have tried to connect it to the Plipbox via Ethernet cable, but will buy a crossover cable and report the results.

Do I need to start a TCP stack on the Amiga if the connection works, or would it be redundant since the Macbook Pro side already is online via wi-fi?

Last edited by GaryG on 22-Jan-2020 at 05:45 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 0:49:15
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@Hypex

Well, I got a crossover cable and connected it to the Plipbox's Ethenet receptor and the Macbook Pro's Ethernet port, but I get a popup message from the Mac side that my Internet connection cannot be shared because it is protected by 802.1x, and suggests disablying Internet sharing or selecting another network.

Where do I got from here, if anywhere?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 6:29:46
#15 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 989
From: United States of Europe

@GaryG

Forget crossover cables, it is really a simple to setup network with Amiga. Don't hassle!

I tried to found what TCP/IP stack you are trying to use???

If it is Raodshow you need to copy one file and edit it with text editor.

Roadshow Guide will tell you rest.





 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 7:38:14
#16 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1418
From: Trondheim, Norway

@GaryG

Quote:

my Internet connection cannot be shared because it is protected by 802.1x


Finally something that made sense in this - 802.1x means that this is not a regular "public" WPA/WPA2 protected wifi network with just a pre-shared key (PSK, aka "wifi passord"), but rather an "enterprise" network with user authentication through the wifi supplicant.

Yes, those typically have policy of not allowing network sharing.

And you can also forget getting the Amiga on such a wifi network, and quite a few wifi bridges as well I suspect. But a raspberry pi, or orange pi etc. can do it, as long as you NAT behind them, so NAT behind NAT etc.

If your network IPv6 also, by any chance?

Last edited by kolla on 23-Jan-2020 at 07:42 AM.

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 10:26:15
#17 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@kolla

>If your network IPv6 also, by any chance?

I have no idea.

I see in the Mac System Preferences that I can disconnect 802.1x Would that help, or just take my network down?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GaryG 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 10:29:36
#18 ]
Member
Joined: 8-Aug-2005
Posts: 82
From: Maryland

@utri007

Is it necessary to use a TCP/IP stack on the Amiga side at all?

I have the Roadshow demo, but haven't installed it. In general, I don't like to mess with my settings, especially when I don't understand them well.

How do I edit Roadshow to get my Amiga online?

I also have Miami (just not DX).

I used AmiTCP 4.0 demo that came with the OS just while testing out the connection.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
utri007 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 10:59:58
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 12-Aug-2003
Posts: 989
From: United States of Europe

@GaryG


Prety much everything what ordinary user might want to do on Network requires TCP/IP stack.

You should decide wich TCP/IP stack you are going to use.

Note** RoadShow and Miami supports DHCP, wich mean they will get IP-addres automatically.

AmiTCP doesn't support DHCP, so you need to setup IP-addres manually.

You might want to setup IP-addres manually in any case, because it will make Amiga's boot faster, especially, if there is a problems to get IP-addres.

Here -->

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r_nDWK7COpQ

He is configurin 3com PCMCIA nic to use with Raodshow. He is using Adrianne (Another Amiga NIC) as a template.

So if you install Raodshow you can start video from 4:00 copy files like him, but instad renaming it to 3c589, rename it to PlipBox

Only mandatory thing is copy file, to corret place. renaming it is just to make things clear.

From: 6:00 is second mandatory thing, you need to edit correct device driver to that config file, you just copied.

Again instead of 3c589 reneme it to plipbox.device

Of course you need to have plipbox.deive copie to sys:devs draver.

PS. In video he is making a config wich does NOT start Roadshow automatically, that why I told you a times to watch.







 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Still need help getting my Amigas connected to a wifi network
Posted on 23-Jan-2020 16:44:51
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9758
From: Greensborough, Australia

@GaryG

What happens if you connect the Mac to the access point using cable?

As stated yes you still need a TCP stack on the Amiga side. But by the looks of it, it would be easier without it. However, some driver will need to connect it to the internet.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle