Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5823 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
64 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  35 mins ago
 Rob:  36 mins ago
 Lou:  1 hr 48 mins ago
 klx300r:  2 hrs 19 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 30 mins ago
 SHADES:  2 hrs 32 mins ago
 Samurai_Crow:  3 hrs 3 mins ago
 fishy_fis:  3 hrs 14 mins ago
 Jasper:  3 hrs 56 mins ago
 ealm:  4 hrs 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Gaming
      /  Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
jabirulo 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 17:13:18
#41 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 342
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

@samo79

Check for protection bits, script should have S E bit set

Just copy zgloomGUI.scipt and zgloom.debug to ZGLOOM (main) drawer.
script just uses C:RequestChoice too show a requester with 4 Gloom rfeleases.

Or you can open a ShellC/LI and:
cd ZGLOOM
zgloom.debug GLOOM
and it should start the Gloom (drawer) game.

zgloom.debug GLOOMDELUXE
should start GloomDeluxe game.

It just auto changes to ARGUMENT drawer and loads game assets/files.

You should have (sorry for bad "image"):

ZGLOOM (main-drawer)
|-- zgloomGUI.script
|-- zgloomGUI.script.info
|-- zgloom.debug
|-- Gloom (drawer)
|-- GloomDeluxe (drawer)
|-- ZombieEdition (drawer)
|-- ZombieMassacre (drawer)

Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Mar-2020 at 06:38 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Mar-2020 at 05:19 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Mar-2020 at 05:16 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Mar-2020 at 05:15 PM.
Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Mar-2020 at 05:15 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jabirulo 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 17:14:08
#42 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2004
Posts: 342
From: Donosti (GUIPUZCOA)

Oops double post

Last edited by jabirulo on 22-Mar-2020 at 05:14 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 22-Mar-2020 20:06:13
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3401
From: Italy, Perugia

@jabirulo

Quote:
Check for protection bits, script should have S E bit set


Ah you right solved now, just i didn't noticied that the script checkbox was not ticked :)
Also tried loading from shell and everythings works aswell, great

Then still only that 2 remained things

Quote:
2) When you iconified the program, the name of the icon takes the entire path ("/zgloom_debug") instead of just the binary name

3) In Workbench titlebar you may add the full name and the version+date aswell
For example something like: "ZGloom 0.2 (21.03.2020)"


And maybe to see if resizing in window mode could be applied

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 0:21:06
#44 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5151
From: UK

@Thread

Gloom seemed quite derivative to me and it was the sound design and atmosphere that made AB3D the de facto Amiga FPS. I guess Alien Breed 3D felt a bit survival horror and I guess it was a precursor for Alien Isolation which was a another underappreciated gem. Gloom struck me as gory duck hunt game.

I loved Xtreme Racing and Guardian and consider Mark Sibly a genius but I don't consider Gloom his high point. Andy Clitheroe is most definitely a genius, though he should have just used the original game engine and added a better story and Alien Breed terminals and lore rather than try and beat John Carmack!


Andy Clitheroe

Last edited by BigD on 23-Mar-2020 at 12:22 AM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
K-L 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 23-Mar-2020 13:47:02
#45 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-Mar-2006
Posts: 1348
From: Oullins, France

@jabirulo

Thanks !

Can't wait to have musics too ! Excellent work

_________________
AmigaONE X1000, 2GB, Sapphire Radeon HD 7700
Webmaster of Amiga-NG.org (French)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pleng 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 25-Mar-2020 0:46:31
#46 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 458
From: Unknown

It's a shame that a topic about AB3D seems to have been overtaken by Gloom.

Getting back to topic....

I have tried the music pack from this post. I downloaded the pack and put it in my game folder. There are not further instructions so I assume that's all that's required.

After doing so, I get music on the title screen but once I actually start the game, there is no music. Does anybody know what I'm doing wrong? The post says you can activate it from the "Project Osiris" menu, but I don't see any option for it there.

I would ask on the thread linked but the their anti-userspam measures don't permit signing up without intricate knowledge of the Doom/Heretic/Hexen games (seriously! try it for yourselves if you don't believe me - it's one of the most ridiculous things I've come across in my lifetime)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
juMa 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 25-Mar-2020 9:00:21
#47 ]
Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2012
Posts: 17
From: Unknown

@Pleng

Add line to gzdoom-yourusername.ini file. Old savegames will stop working but music works.

[Global.Autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/CD32 Music Fix.pk3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pleng 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 25-Mar-2020 11:32:03
#48 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 458
From: Unknown

@juMa

juMa thanks a lot for that - it's now working and I'm a happy chappy.

I don't need to worry about savegames because I've had no time to play it anyway and even if I did have the time, I would have waited until I got the music working :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 25-Mar-2020 12:26:24
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5151
From: UK

@juMa

Sweet! I've never heard the CD32 soundtrack and only patched in the Menu Screen music on the original in recent years! Shame Commodore didn't get a grip on upgrading Paula as AGA machines should have had HD Floppy Disk support so that publishers didn't have to crunch every byte and leave out cut scenes and music on these mid 90s games!

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 26-Mar-2020 16:44:05
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9755
From: Greensborough, Australia

@BigD

Actually AGA machines did have HD floppy support. They just needed the hacked HD drive to drop the speed down. Except for the A4000 they didn't include a HD drive like they should have. The A1200 got the old DD drive. It's possible old machines can support HD as well with working drivers but I haven't tested this.

One again this was due to commodore not upgrading components. By the time AGA came out the old Shugart floppy interface had been supplanted by the PC one. Though similar, they should have redesigned the floppy port so cheap PC drives could be plugged in, and cut costs as well. I doubt it would matter if it made old Amiga drives incompatible. Get a new drive and plug it right in.

At least three components should have been upgraded. Paula should have been speed up to deal with HD floppy speeds, the CIA should have been upgraded to enable faster serial and faster parallel up to the current EPP//ECP standards. But no, as they liked to do in the end. They crippled it.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 26-Mar-2020 16:47:40
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5151
From: UK

@Hypex

Quote:
Actually AGA machines did have HD floppy support. They just needed the hacked HD drive to drop the speed down. Except for the A4000 they didn't include a HD drive like they should have. The A1200 got the old DD drive. It's possible old machines can support HD as well with working drivers but I haven't tested this.


Yep, I upgraded all my machines with HD floppy drives (external Power Computing or big box Chinon internal units) but not many others did and the A1200 retrograde decision to only include DD drives meant that ALL AGA software came on 880kb disks! Wasted opportunity never mind not upgrading the chips if you create a kludge then stick with it at least!!

P.S. The Power Computing external drives required drivers.

Last edited by BigD on 26-Mar-2020 at 04:50 PM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 28-Mar-2020 17:56:50
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5151
From: UK

@Pleng

Quote:

Pleng wrote:
@juMa

juMa thanks a lot for that - it's now working and I'm a happy chappy.

I don't need to worry about savegames because I've had no time to play it anyway and even if I did have the time, I would have waited until I got the music working :)


It's Saturday and time for the weekly Project Osiris blast! Good shout about the CD32 music! It's just the thing without being too oppressive and it kinda conjures up a feeling of hard endeavour and overcoming the odds rather than feelings of doom (no pun intended). It's still far more atmospheric than Doom IMHO which aimed at an arcade action feel rather than scares really (other than the Arch-Viles which are terrifying).

It was fun starting from the beginning and the tweaks that have been made for version 0.9 and the CD32 music make it feel really polished. I've just showed my kids the original on YouTube and they asked me; "Is that how you played it?"

They could see it was the same game but I guess it's hard for them to understand that the computer power for 3D was not always there! They've always had Pixar films and Toy Story 3 on the PS3 is considered their go to sandbox game!

Yeah, the ini file that you amend to get the CD32 soundtrack option to show up is a hidden folder on the 'username' folder on the C:// drive APPDATA/GZDoom etc. To save people the time if they're not used to PC file structures.

Last edited by BigD on 28-Mar-2020 at 06:01 PM.
Last edited by BigD on 28-Mar-2020 at 06:01 PM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 2:01:30
#53 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1528
From: N-Space

@BigD

Quote:
other than the Arch-Viles which are terrifying

I would almost have a panic attack when I heard that ra-ra-rah sound they make when they're nearby, but haven't seen you yet. You can't even circle-strafe them -- they lock on, and then the barbecue starts, unless you can get behind a solid object. And they're fast.

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pleng 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 4:36:41
#54 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 458
From: Unknown

This game seems to have mouse aiming turned on by default. An odd decision as that's nothing like the original game.

Is there any way to turn this off so it goes back to classic point-and-shoot ?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gryfon 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 10:15:01
#55 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2005
Posts: 11
From: Unknown

@BigD

Thanks - but I'm finding that's tantalisingly close without being the final answer...!

On first running GZDoom I get a gzdoom-myusername.ini in the root of the GZDoom folder (I've substiuted username with "myusername").

Customising that file to add in the line to include CD32 music (as well as downloading the pak file to the root folder) doesn't work - I got no extra music.

But...

If as suggested I go into users C:\users\myusername\appdata\ folder and search for either the filename gzdoom-username.ini or just the letters GZ, I get a single match. But when I right-click on it and select "Open File Location" or right-click "Edit" the file, it opens the file mentioned above in the GZDoom folder / or that root folder - not a location or file in AppData.

Is that expected? It's not clear from previous posts.

So the only thing in my AppData structure is a pointer to the folder / file which is being generated in the root GZDoom folder anyway.

So - if it is in AppData could someone please explain more precisely where?

If not - if it IS the file being created in the root GZDoom folder - can some explain why editing that file wouldn't have any impact?

The filename I have is:

CD32 Music fix.pk3

Here I have copied the actually section and the bits above / below to show what I have in there:

[Chex.AutoExec]
Path=$PROGDIR/autoexec.cfg

# WAD files to always load. These are loaded after the IWAD but before
# any files added with -file. Place each file on its own line, preceded
# by Path=
[Global.Autoload]
Path=$PROGDIR/CD32 Music Fix.pk3

# Wad files to automatically load depending on the game and IWAD you are
# playing. You may have have files that are loaded for all similar IWADs
# (the game) and files that are only loaded for particular IWADs. For example,
# any files listed under 'doom.Autoload' will be loaded for any version of Doom,
# but files listed under 'doom.doom2.Autoload' will only load when you are
# playing a Doom 2 based game (doom2.wad, tnt.wad or plutonia.wad), and files listed under
# 'doom.doom2.commercial.Autoload' only when playing doom2.wad.

[doom.Autoload]

[doom.id.Autoload]


I can't see what I've done wrong :(.

Last edited by gryfon on 29-Mar-2020 at 10:18 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BigD 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 13:25:09
#56 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Aug-2005
Posts: 5151
From: UK

@gryfon

It's in C://Users/'USERNAME'/Appdata/Roaming/GZDoom/

... on my set up. I had to tick show hidden folders in the 'Appearance and Personalization/Folder Options/View Tab' Control Panel options to see it but it was there. The ini file actually in the game folder cannot be edited and should be left alone although that's where the CD32 music file should be placed.

Edit: I stuck the code needed at the bottom of the file and saved and then the option for music was included in the Project Osiris Options.

Last edited by BigD on 29-Mar-2020 at 01:28 PM.
Last edited by BigD on 29-Mar-2020 at 01:26 PM.

_________________
"Art challenges technology. Technology inspires the art."
John Lasseter, Co-Founder of Pixar Animation Studios

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gryfon 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 14:32:36
#57 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2005
Posts: 11
From: Unknown

Guessed it might be something simple.

My username.ini is appearing the root of GZDoom - that's fine.

I needed to go into Project Osiris Settings, in the Settings Menu, to find and activate the CD32 Music option. Missed that the first time.

Thanks BigD!


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gryfon 
Re: Project Osiris - Alien Breed 3D Remake Released
Posted on 29-Mar-2020 14:32:39
#58 ]
Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2005
Posts: 11
From: Unknown

Double Post

Last edited by gryfon on 29-Mar-2020 at 02:33 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle