Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5740 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
28 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 matthey

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 matthey:  3 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  30 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  40 mins ago
 annasolano:  1 hr ago
 K-L:  1 hr 23 mins ago
 WeiXing3D:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 eliyahu:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 MEGA.RJ.MICAL:  2 hrs 12 mins ago
 cc3d:  2 hrs 23 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  2 hrs 29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Development
      /  Blitz basic 2 library issues
Register To Post

PosterThread
Ozone 
Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 22-May-2020 14:49:39
#1 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Nov-2003
Posts: 10
From: Mongeham, England

Hi,

I wonder if anybody can help me with Blitz basic 2?
I have recently brought my Amiga 1200 out of retirement and I got myself a replacement hd in the form of a 4gb flashdrive.

I thought I get back into doing some Blitz basic 2 coding. I had already started a project to attempt a Nemesis clone many moons ago. So thought I would dig out my old code and see if I could get it running again....

But my original copy of blitz basic 2 has a read write error, so I had to fine another copy somewhere. Thankfully I found one on an Amiga format cover disk and installed that. Unfortunately when I tried to load my Nemesis clone I get a library not found $005E error....

I also subsequently found that if I just load up the blitz editor and select reload all libraries I also get a library not found $FFFA error....

So something is definitely missing.

I have set up two assignments as suggested by the hd install :-

Assign Blitz2 dh1:blitz
Assign Blitzlibs dh1:blitz/blitzlibs

Any idea? I don't know how to check what libraries are missing cany anyone help please?

Cheers

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DenisPaul 
Re: Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 22-May-2020 15:34:06
#2 ]
New Member
Joined: 14-Sep-2015
Posts: 4
From: Bordeaux, France

@Ozone
Maybe you could install this full version of Blitz Basic :
http://ubb.plus/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
_Steve_ 
Re: Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 22-May-2020 16:38:28
#3 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Oct-2002
Posts: 6759
From: UK

@Ozone

That error sounds like you are missing a 3rd party add on to the deflibs file which you had installed on your original machine.

Unfortunately, unless you know which ones you had installed, re-installing them and getting the deflibs updated with them could be a bit of a pain.

Are you able to copy the deflibs/blitzlibs from your original machine at all, or does the whole folder have read errors?

It has been a long time since I used BB2 myself.

_________________
Test sig

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ozone 
Re: Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 22-May-2020 17:49:34
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Nov-2003
Posts: 10
From: Mongeham, England

@DenisPaul

I dont have access to the Internet on my amiga or a pc to copy this over so am a bit stuck.

Thanks for the link though. May need to go back to this option if everything else fails.

Regards

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Ozone 
Re: Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 22-May-2020 18:02:25
#5 ]
Member
Joined: 30-Nov-2003
Posts: 10
From: Mongeham, England

@_Steve_

Thanks for the feedback. I was able to copy everything from the original floppy copy of Blitz2 except the main Blitz2 executable.

I have managed to find out the comnand that is missing and it is:-

InitCopList
So it comes up in the editor as :-

????? 0,46,251,$1413,8,8,0. I also get a syntax error when I try to complie on Sprite 0 ??

Hope that helps at all? Maybe the version I got from the Amiga format disk was older than my original?

Regards

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DruggedBunny 
Re: Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 23-May-2020 0:43:23
#6 ]
Member
Joined: 26-Mar-2010
Posts: 22
From: Unknown

@Ozone

Quote:
Maybe the version I got from the Amiga format disk was older than my original?


I suspect this might be relevant, though I'd have thought the late-period (1996-97?) Amiga Format version would have been up to date with AGA support. [EDIT: Though maybe you had a still-later version.]

According to the old Blitz User Magazine, the Display library was added to provide AGA support: "The new display library is an alternative to the slice library. Instead of extending the slice library for AGA support a completely new display library has been developed." The first command listed is InitCopList.

Was there not a sort of Compiler Options setting where you had to manually select some libs? Failing that, the UBB setup above looks decent and seems to include a nice PDF version of the manual, handy in itself! (Also the aforementioned BUMs, funnily enough.)

All I can really offer, sadly, as I have no live Amiga/Blitz setup!

Last edited by DruggedBunny on 23-May-2020 at 12:43 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sananaman 
Re: Blitz basic 2 library issues
Posted on 24-May-2020 12:49:26
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Sep-2006
Posts: 222
From: Netherlands

Quote:

DenisPaul wrote:
@Ozone
Maybe you could install this full version of Blitz Basic :
http://ubb.plus/


There is also a video about it. The guy is referring to a new manual.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3wDFlqeV_n4


@Ozone:

There is also another version of Blitzbasic called AmiBlitz (it is intend to be Blitzbasic 3 of what I understand).

https://www.amiblitz.de



Also Aros Development is mentioning about AmiBlitz 3
http://aros-platform.de/amiblitz3-manual.html

_________________
AmigaScene.nl

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle