Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6078 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
87 crawler(s) on-line.
 14 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 ferrels

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 ferrels:  1 min ago
 bison:  56 mins ago
 agami:  58 mins ago
 datura:  1 hr 40 mins ago
 Akiko:  2 hrs 35 mins ago
 BigD:  2 hrs 49 mins ago
 terminills:  2 hrs 57 mins ago
 Rob:  3 hrs 16 mins ago
 Karlos:  3 hrs 47 mins ago
 zipper:  4 hrs 24 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
EntilZha 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 0:58:22
#21 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 27-Aug-2003
Posts: 1679
From: The Jedi Academy, Yavin 4

@Steff

Quote:
I thought one of the Friedens already had a dual G4 (or G3) cpu module or something like that?


Yes. It was a dual 7410 module. However, it was still for the old revision boards, and I think it only runs at 100 MHz FSB. But it shows that this is possible with the current system (i.e. the CPU modules on the MegArray slot).

_________________
Thomas, the kernel guy

"I don't have a frigging clue. I'm norwegian" -- Ole-Egil

All opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Hyperion Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 2:26:44
#22 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@EntilZha

Quote:

EntilZha wrote:
@Steff

Quote:
I thought one of the Friedens already had a dual G4 (or G3) cpu module or something like that?


Yes. It was a dual 7410 module. However, it was still for the old revision boards, and I think it only runs at 100 MHz FSB. But it shows that this is possible with the current system (i.e. the CPU modules on the MegArray slot).


Thomas- so to clarify this slightly, I'm assuming this means you had a dual CPU card installed, under AOS4, using a single CPU for tasks, but test code to recognize the second CPU? Or was this more, ie beginning of SMP code branch?

(I know it won't be in 4.0 and don't expect it to be, but it's still exciting, right?

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 8:30:37
#23 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1968
From: Taranto, Italy

@EntilZha

ok, but Alitivec is used by the system, but not and os4/macos feature. or not?

Now, can you tell me in wich part of os is used? just for my knowledge.

Thx!

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
elwood 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 9:59:54
#24 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 3427
From: Lyon, France

@afxgroup

Quote:
can you tell me in wich part of os Altivec is used

Huh? GUIs don't need to use Altivec.
Ok, maybe Moovid uses it I don't know.

_________________
Philippe 'Elwood' Ferrucci
Sam460 1.10 Ghz
AmigaOS 4 betatester
Amiga Translator Organisation

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
EntilZha 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 10:03:43
#25 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 27-Aug-2003
Posts: 1679
From: The Jedi Academy, Yavin 4

@wegster

Quote:
Thomas- so to clarify this slightly, I'm assuming this means you had a dual CPU card installed, under AOS4, using a single CPU for tasks, but test code to recognize the second CPU? Or was this more, ie beginning of SMP code branch?


No, this was before OS4 was in a state that could boot. At that time, the new board revision came out so the modules didn't work anymore and it was no priority, anyway.

_________________
Thomas, the kernel guy

"I don't have a frigging clue. I'm norwegian" -- Ole-Egil

All opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Hyperion Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
EntilZha 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 10:05:49
#26 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 27-Aug-2003
Posts: 1679
From: The Jedi Academy, Yavin 4

@afxgroup

Quote:
ok, but Alitivec is used by the system, but not and os4/macos feature. or not?


Altivec is not used by the syste (i.e. no parts actually use alternate code paths for Altivec), but the system has to support application altivec code by providing the scheduler support for Altivec... nothing more, nothing less...

_________________
Thomas, the kernel guy

"I don't have a frigging clue. I'm norwegian" -- Ole-Egil

All opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Hyperion Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 10:17:46
#27 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1968
From: Taranto, Italy

@elwood

it is probable that moovid use it for mpeg codecs but i don't know

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mlehto 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 10:53:58
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Dec-2004
Posts: 1006
From: Unknown

@EntilZha

Quote:
On the PPC, instructions are always 32 bit in size, regardless of the processor (32 or 64 bit).

Edit: Can somebody integrate a spellchecker in amigaworld.net ?


Ok, it is just good then because of linearity.

Every now and then I shame my english in this list. I lost my dictionary month's ago ... in finnish we don't have b,c,d,f,g,q,w,x,z letters allmost not at all and it is too often best quess how I write down them here uhhh...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Chip 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 10:55:28
#29 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2005
Posts: 574
From: Budapest, Hungary

@afxgroup

avcodec.library detects altivec and utilizing it. While moovid decodes via avcodec.library, it is altivec accelerated.

IIRC the update2 contains moovid+avcodec.library and altivec enabled kernel. Anybody can tell me the version of them? (Is there any releasenotes inculded in the update?)

Chip...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
afxgroup 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 4-Mar-2005 11:24:43
#30 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2004
Posts: 1968
From: Taranto, Italy

@Chip

news about libac3 and altivec?

_________________
http://www.amigasoft.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Kluz 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 5-Mar-2005 20:51:07
#31 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Feb-2005
Posts: 60
From: Dubrovnik, Croatia

@Rogue

Yeah, I know that lots of stuff that was planned for later versions are
already in 4.0 I wrote that in 1st sentence.
The map is only a rough guide, with features that are already in or planned
to be put in the next versions.
Also, this map was the only one I've found on the web. I know it's old, but
I'm not out of date.

You're doing wonderfull job so far, and I like it very much. (I only saw
OS4 from demos for the web). I plan to buy A1 very soon and I'am looking forward
to see what OS4 can do with my own eyes.

I know that you've done a lot so far, but if can do it faster that would be
nice. (things are moving very slow)
I apreciate your work very much, and I think you've done it just the way we
want it, way we use to use AOS - please HURRY. We must catch up with rest of
the world, (when you done it (I mean cathching up thing) AOS will be far ahead
of competition).
I showed demos to my fiends and neighbours.
Comments about functionality and speed were like this:
"This is not possible, that must be an edited video, apps can't load and
execute so fast"
"Boot time 9 seconds-don't belive you 'till I see you with my own eyes
at your home" and lot's of comments like that.
They are used to Win XP, which runs pretty slow even on very fast machines.

Keep up the GREAT work!

My very best regards!

Tomo

_________________
I don't want a bubble gum, I want change!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 5-Mar-2005 22:00:23
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4273
From: Australia

@wegster

Quote:
while MS still doesn't have a 64 bit Windows that's released AFAIK.

Like AmigaOS4 Pre-release edition, MS has released a "Release Candidate"(precursor to RTM status) Windows XP X64 in the general public. Windows XP X64 planed for release sometime in April 2005 e.g. NVIDIA already has WHQL X64 drivers. Microsoft is basically waiting for other HW partners to submit their candidate WHQL X64 drivers.

Secondly, Microsoft already released a 64bit edition of Windows XP/2003 for Itanium.

Last edited by Hammer on 05-Mar-2005 at 10:09 PM.

_________________
Ryzen 7 5800X, DDR4-3600 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Amiga 1200 (rev 1D1, KS 3.2, TF1260, 68060 @ 63 Mhz, 128 MB)
Amiga 500 (rev 6A, KS 3.2, 68K 50Mhz, 12 MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Intuitioned 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 5-Mar-2005 22:03:30
#33 ]
Super Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2003
Posts: 1340
From: Unknown

@EntilZha, Rogue,

Roughly when do you think we will see multi-user abilities and full memory protection and resource tracking?

Multiple users is not something that I am overly worried about but I like the idea of usually running a machine in non administrator or super user mode.

As for full memory protection, if applications didn't miss behave we wouldn't need it.

Also I like this OS X eye candy so is there any plans of changing the graphics subsystem to be more like Quartz / OpenGL and Avalon / DirectX 10?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Intuitioned 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 5-Mar-2005 22:09:23
#34 ]
Super Member
Joined: 27-Oct-2003
Posts: 1340
From: Unknown

Quote:
while MS still doesn't have a 64 bit Windows that's released AFAIK.


I can't remember it's name but there was that Xeon version that has been around for a while.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 5-Mar-2005 22:14:47
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4273
From: Australia

@Intuitioned

MS Windows 2003 Server IA-32 edition's the service pack X64 update is at RC2 (Release Candidate 2) status.

_________________
Ryzen 7 5800X, DDR4-3600 64 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, GeForce RTX 3080 Ti
Amiga 1200 (rev 1D1, KS 3.2, TF1260, 68060 @ 63 Mhz, 128 MB)
Amiga 500 (rev 6A, KS 3.2, 68K 50Mhz, 12 MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jahc 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 2-Apr-2005 4:44:24
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-May-2003
Posts: 2959
From: Auckland, New Zealand

*bump*

can we get a response to comment 33? :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wegster 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 2-Apr-2005 4:51:42
#37 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2004
Posts: 8554
From: RTP, NC USA

@Hammer

Quote:

Hammer wrote:
@wegster

Quote:
while MS still doesn't have a 64 bit Windows that's released AFAIK.

Like AmigaOS4 Pre-release edition, MS has released a "Release Candidate"(precursor to RTM status) Windows XP X64 in the general public. Windows XP X64 planed for release sometime in April 2005 e.g. NVIDIA already has WHQL X64 drivers. Microsoft is basically waiting for other HW partners to submit their candidate WHQL X64 drivers.

Secondly, Microsoft already released a 64bit edition of Windows XP/2003 for Itanium.


Wow, Hammer's back to try to play Devils Advocate as usual. Care to share when MS releases a final x64 release for 2003 server? Want to compare it to how long it's been available for Redhat, SuSE/SLES, and other Linuxes? Yeah, Microsoft innovation and 'capability' at work, huh?

NO ONE uses Itanium, and it was still late.

_________________
Are we not done with the same silly arguments and flames yet??!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kindergip 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 2-Apr-2005 5:13:50
#38 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 7-Aug-2004
Posts: 312
From: Canada

@all

I'd like a fast G4 system with new RAM/graphics
possibly with a dual cpu. I can wait.

With OS4-pre I am having a bunch of fun as it
comes together. I was looking at a case today
in a camera shop and am now thinking about a
luggable that can run solid state RAM/CF card
for about 12-15 hrs with a wall plug switchover
to extend that.

The case would allow all sorts of stuff not possible
with the Reimertronic Tablet design.

First we need a finished OS. Then it would be nice
to have a 5000 A1 machine supply followed by a new
fast G4 micro ATX. At that point in time there
should be new apps available.

I really don't want to see open office ported. Sorry.
I wouldn't mind needed functionality being defined
properly and Amiga style programming techniques being
applied to create a suite of tools and functions.

I've got a full fledged desktop publisher here that is
less than a 2M executable. My browser while buggy is
a similar size and footprint. We may need features
desparately but we don't need the bloat that has
occurred elsewhere. A fast G4 would throw these apps
around. My G3 without DMA and JIT makes them really
snappy and useable.



 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
EntilZha 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 2-Apr-2005 9:23:03
#39 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 27-Aug-2003
Posts: 1679
From: The Jedi Academy, Yavin 4

@jahc

Quote:
can we get a response to comment 33? :)


Of course we can

_________________
Thomas, the kernel guy

"I don't have a frigging clue. I'm norwegian" -- Ole-Egil

All opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Hyperion Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
EntilZha 
Re: OS4 MultiCPU Support, Altivec, G5/64bit mode?
Posted on 2-Apr-2005 9:29:28
#40 ]
OS4 Core Developer
Joined: 27-Aug-2003
Posts: 1679
From: The Jedi Academy, Yavin 4

@Intuitioned

Quote:
Roughly when do you think we will see multi-user abilities and full memory protection and resource tracking?


Multi-User: No idea. It's not a priority right now.

Full memory protection: This is not going to work on AmigaOS. All we can do is a partial protection, but that's it. To do a full protection, a lot of things have to change and this will definitely break a lot of old applications.

Resource tracking: Frankly, I don't know. There is already some resoure tracking facility, but it's not extensively used due to some problems (some programs allocating stuff in one task, and then freeing it in another task while the first task was already killed, etc).

Quote:
Also I like this OS X eye candy so is there any plans of changing the graphics subsystem to be more like Quartz / OpenGL and Avalon / DirectX 10?


Yes, there are ideas floating around for a "3d"-hardware-accelerated window system. Note: NOT a 3D window system (I personally find these to be utterly useless), but a window system that uses 3D hardware as some sort of "super-blitter" much like Mac OS does.

_________________
Thomas, the kernel guy

"I don't have a frigging clue. I'm norwegian" -- Ole-Egil

All opinions expressed are my own and do not necessarily represent those of Hyperion Entertainment

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle