Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6078 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
29 crawler(s) on-line.
 21 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 kolla

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 kolla:  3 mins ago
 Rassilon:  28 mins ago
 BigD:  36 mins ago
 Rob:  40 mins ago
 terminills:  50 mins ago
 Karlos:  57 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  58 mins ago
 Hypex:  1 hr 26 mins ago
 Zendarion:  1 hr 44 mins ago
 pixie:  2 hrs 11 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga General Chat
      /  Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 Next Page )
PosterThread
Zardoz 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 2:15:44
#61 ]
Team Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 4261
From: Unknown

@linnar

Quote:
To make a simple program with som movingparts and music it's take
about 20 code lines. Same program in windows with C take 10-20 time more lines.
It's very simpel to programming, the have more then 600 funktions, most of them to programming graphics.


So, what makes it different from SDL or even Allegro? How is it better that either of them?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 2:35:22
#62 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12145
From: Norway

@opi

Quote:
END IF is fsckin' evil. People, there's a switch()!


you are thinking about "ELSE IF"

Quote:
let us be lame to the max and use GOTO when we're at it?


I have seen some C code use goto as well, and I'm not argument it if used correctly.

Useful if you have lots of error condition and like to clean up before exiting.
or check for error condition on top of function before continuing, basicly it can reduce the number of { and } in a function, making the code easier to read.

but I do agree, goto should not be used as a replacement for functions, it can make the code hard to read as well.

Last edited by NutsAboutAmiga on 16-Feb-2008 at 02:39 AM.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 2:43:26
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 12145
From: Norway

@wegster

you did not understand my point, and it is that basic is not that different from C, and you can do lots of stuff to make C look more like basic if you real don't like the way its done in C.

macro's are where powerful tools in C.

_________________
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/
Facebook::LiveForIt Software for AmigaOS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zardoz 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 2:45:22
#64 ]
Team Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 4261
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:


I have seen some C code use goto as well, and I'm not argument it if used correctly.


There is no "used correctly" for GOTO in a high level language compiled with an optimising compiler for a modern system, IMHO. Even more so if OO stuff enter the equation.

Quote:
Useful if you have lots of error condition and like to clean up before exiting.
or check for error condition on top of function before continuing, basicly it can reduce the number of { and } in a function, making the code easier to read.


There are far less ugly ways of doing that than GOTO.

Quote:
but I do agree, goto should not be used as a replacement for functions, it can make the code hard to read as well.


And break optimisation, if not worse.

Last edited by Zardoz on 16-Feb-2008 at 02:51 AM.
Last edited by Zardoz on 16-Feb-2008 at 02:49 AM.
Last edited by Zardoz on 16-Feb-2008 at 02:48 AM.
Last edited by Zardoz on 16-Feb-2008 at 02:47 AM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rob 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 2:46:30
#65 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Mar-2003
Posts: 6167
From: S.Wales

@mjg59

Quote:
SDL already supports a massively larger number of platforms


Including Amiga OS 3.1, OS4, MorphOS and AROS, I doubt we'll ever see AA for any of them.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fairlanefastback 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 6:16:02
#66 ]
Team Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2005
Posts: 4880
From: New York, USA

@Beamish2040

Quote:

Beamish2040 wrote:
I know AA2 is only a beta version but I find it a little frustrating that I can only compile for windows and wince. I also wish they had a Linux version the development kit. Still, the API seems nice and simple but I'm not sure how this is going to compete with all of the other alternatives out there.


Whats up with that? They said I believe AA2 was out for Windows, Linux, & Symbian, and though not out yet for Mac would be out soon for OSX as well. Whats this about only for Windows?

_________________
Pegasos2 G3 running AOS 4.1 and MorphOS 2.0
Amikit user, tinkering with Icaros VM (AROS)
EFIKA owner
Amiga 1200

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
CodeSmith 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 7:54:00
#67 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 3045
From: USA

@fairlanefastback

It makes perfect sense to me. If Amiga Anywhere 2 doesn't run on Amigas, why should it run Anywhere?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Yo 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 8:29:56
#68 ]
Team Member
Joined: 8-Oct-2004
Posts: 2043
From: France, on an ADSL line

@CodeSmith

Quote:

CodeSmith wrote:
@fairlanefastback

It makes perfect sense to me. If Amiga Anywhere 2 doesn't run on Amigas, why should it run Anywhere?


Gosh... I cannot fault that logic....

_________________
Official Hyperion Zealot

(No, I didn't type that with a straight face.)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 8:36:09
#69 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2089
From: Trondheim, Norway

@Zardoz

Quote:

Zardoz wrote:
@NutsAboutAmiga
Quote:
Useful if you have lots of error condition and like to clean up before exiting.
or check for error condition on top of function before continuing, basicly it can reduce the number of { and } in a function, making the code easier to read.


There are far less ugly ways of doing that than GOTO.


I guess Linux is not for you then


supersmurf ~ # grep -w goto -r /usr/src/linux | wc -l
49804


_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Online!
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 8:53:27
#70 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

Quote:

Does AA2 require DirectX?

AA2 doesn't, generated Win32 executables do.

AA2 is just a cygwin shell with GCC & AA2 libs + cross compiler btw: no IDE, no debugger... I wonder where they think they can go without these components...
At least no serious developer will start a rather big project using it...

Quote:

Nah, all the Win32 stuff is abstracted behind the AA library. But yeah, I've no clue why this would be significantly more appealing than SDL - SDL already supports a massively larger number of platforms, and if you want something more powerful than that then Ideaworks will sell you something that's already being used in the real world and even supports 3D.

Not to mention SDL supports 3D & Network... Something AA lib does not...

Quote:

To make a simple program with som movingparts and music it's take
about 20 code lines.

You don't make music using mods anymore... Even flash-based games use MP3 now... So add MP3 mixer routines to your 20 lines ;)

Btw for now it seems it only supports x86/win32 and ARM/WinCE...

Guess it's high time to let the Amiga die slowly... and move on to something else... No one will ever do something of it now...

Last edited by Leo on 16-Feb-2008 at 08:57 AM.
Last edited by Leo on 16-Feb-2008 at 08:56 AM.

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
opi 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 9:24:23
#71 ]
Team Member
Joined: 2-Mar-2005
Posts: 2752
From: Poland

@NutsAboutAmiga

Quote:
you are thinking about "ELSE IF"


Yes, I was drunk. :)

Sorry.

_________________
OpenWindows Initiative. Port PS3 hardware to bananas. For free. Join today and receive expired $50 cupon from AI!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SpaceDruid 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 9:48:15
#72 ]
Super Member
Joined: 12-Jan-2007
Posts: 1748
From: Inside the mind of a cow on a planet that's flying through space at 242.334765 miles per second.

@Leo

Quote:

Guess it's high time to let the Amiga die slowly... and move on to something else... No one will ever do something of it now...


Wow, I'm struck by how incredibly open-minded you are.

_________________
"Anyone with a modicum of reasonableness may realize that it is like comparing the ride in the world to descend the stairs to catch the milk in the house."

Google Translate

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Leo 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 11:45:50
#73 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1596
From: Unknown

Quote:

Wow, I'm struck by how incredibly open-minded you are.

Guess that's why I'm looking at something else... You must be incredibily close-minded to only see the Amiga as the platform of choice in 2008...

_________________
http://www.warpdesign.fr/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ghauber 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 12:58:46
#74 ]
Member
Joined: 17-Jun-2003
Posts: 32
From: Sunshine Coast, Australia

@linnar

Quote:
I have coding some in AA2. It's use C. I don't think the compiler work's with C++.


I've been coding using AA2 since late last year - and I can assure you the compiler works with C++! All my AA2 code is C++, in fact.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Zardoz 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 13:17:49
#75 ]
Team Member
Joined: 13-Mar-2003
Posts: 4261
From: Unknown

@kolla

Well, I did say "IMHO" and I am a sucky coder.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
fleecy 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 13:56:08
#76 ]

Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 42
From: Unknown

Hey there

currently the SDK is only hosted on Win32 but in its release form it is generating binaries for Win32 and WinCE platforms. In beta we have binaries working for Linux Desktop and for the GP2X device, although not optimised as of yet and not ready to be realised. We also have plans, and I state they are only plans to create binding layers for AA2 to OSX and Symbian. I am not yet ready to say at what status they are at the moment. It is our intention to roll them out to the SDAs when they are done to our satisfaction.

If we get enough enquires and requests for the SDK hosted on another OS, then we'll look at it. Limited resources require choices unfortunately.

cheers

fleecy

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-pekr- 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 14:18:49
#77 ]
Member
Joined: 29-May-2007
Posts: 98
From: Unknown

@Leo

no IDE, no debugger. Those are not the only problems. In fact, you can live without them for quite some time. There is one other thing, which bothers me - no UI classes/widgets. As I come from REBOL land, where REBOL/View is exactly like that - non traditional UI engine - just boxes (containers) and events. AA2 seems to provide basic pixmap functions, bobs and sprites. So, it is for kind of media stuff mostly. What if you try to have buttons, lists, grids, etc.?

We've been thru it for last 7 years. If you make simple UI like with REBOL/View, users will hate it, if it does not behave in host OS friendly way. We got it almost right, but still not right enought. After 7 years we are finally scrapping old design and REBOL 3 should give us both worlds - fine media capabilities, plus easy ability to define UI. That thing seems to be completly missing from AA2 API so far. So, I would not expect it being used for anything more than simple games so far.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
-pekr- 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 14:24:52
#78 ]
Member
Joined: 29-May-2007
Posts: 98
From: Unknown

@fleecy

'lo fleecy, if you really are THAT fleecy Looking at SDK API, not really trying to do any coding myself right now, I think that it was maybe a better idea to join Carl's effort and hook-up with R3 for that matter. I think that its architecture is starting to be kind of Amigaish - messaging, devices, etc

-pekr-

Last edited by -pekr- on 16-Feb-2008 at 03:04 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GregS 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 14:35:26
#79 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Apr-2003
Posts: 1797
From: Perth Australia

@fleecy

We are looking at a niche market that includes Windows, Linux and Mac desktops, and linux embeded and CE.

Our problem is to get 100% compatiblity across all, on the the basis of one user many device per sale.

A bulky Desktop version being able to spawn device specific (and slimmer) versions of the same thing would be a perfect solution.

Is this a reasonable expectation?

My NDA is presently being processed (I will have to ring to confirm it got to your side soon).

We have a couple of other projects on hold, awaiting developments.

Critical to us, is the idea that the user buys the software for whatever devices they may have, which may not be compatible to AIs marketing.

Any comment would be welcome.

Greg Schofield
Perth Australia

_________________
Greg Schofield, Perth Australia

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
GregS 
Re: Amiga Anywhere 2.0 SDK
Posted on 16-Feb-2008 14:39:30
#80 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Apr-2003
Posts: 1797
From: Perth Australia

@-pekr-

I will back you up in this to the hilt. Rebol 3 on this could be very very useful, in fact I was going to suggest it in my post.

REBOL 3 would give a really nice application environment.

Bloody good suggestion -pekr-

_________________
Greg Schofield, Perth Australia

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle