Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6050 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
46 crawler(s) on-line.
 22 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 robxbl69

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 robxbl69:  2 mins ago
 Kronos:  17 mins ago
 duga:  18 mins ago
 gryfon:  31 mins ago
 AndreasM:  36 mins ago
 pixie:  41 mins ago
 agami:  1 hr 1 min ago
 BigD:  1 hr 42 mins ago
 LaBodilsen:  1 hr 55 mins ago
 michalsc:  2 hrs 2 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )
PosterThread
A1200 
Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 30-May-2008 2:16:06
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3086
From: Westhall, UK

Who said getting your A600/A1200 online via a PCMCIA WiFi card has to be expensive or complicated? I have found a winning combination.

Two biggest problems with doing Amiga WiFi on the cheap:

1: Not sure what PCMCIA card to buy
2: AmiTCP is hard to configure

OK I have found a seller of new 802.11b 5v Orinoco PCMCIA cards. They have tons, and even though I had one already, at the price they are charging, I bought another. It arrived next day. See link to the eBay listing here or if you are reading this months from when I posted it, their eBay shop here. The description of the card you need is "FAST WIRELESS WIFI 802.11B LAPTOP/NOTEBOOK PCMCIA CARD "

So that's problem number 1 solved, now problem 2.

First of all download and install the prism2 driver here.

Then download AmiTCP here. To install and configure the program, use this excellent guide!

I wanted to email the guys who wrote this guide, but couldn't find email addresses for them. If anyone knows the authors of this document, please pass on my appreciation.

Points to note:
1: When the guide mentions cnet.device, obviously look for/type prism2.device.

2: These older cards don't have WPA/WPA2 encryption so you need to bear that in mind when getting it to work with your router/access point - you need to use WEP (for added protection when using WEP, turn on MAC address filtering).

Using this solution, I am using IRC and Email on my 2MB/68000 Amiga 600! Its incredible - even after loading workbench, the TCP/IP stack, screensaver, Grapevine IRC client, Iris Email client I STILL have about 500k RAM remaining!

I am going to put my second WiFi card to good use in an 68030 powered A1200 machine I am putting together this week

I hope this post helps someone on a budget to get their A600/A1200 online. If you want an all-in-one software/hardware solution with a more automatic installation method and lots of networking programs, Amigakit have a solution here.

Last edited by A1200 on 18-Sep-2014 at 03:37 PM.
Last edited by A1200 on 30-May-2008 at 02:16 AM.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 30-May-2008 14:17:16
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 756
From: UK

@A1200

Yup this is the exact place I got my card from, really easy to set up and works brilliantly!

I've been looking for the Orinoco cards for a while but that guy has loads and there all new AND at a reasonable price, a winning combination.

I urge anyone who needs a card to get one from that link NOW before they all run out!

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
spotUP 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 30-May-2008 19:15:30
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2896
From: Up Rough Demo Squad

@DBAlex

i just bought one! thanx!!

_________________
AOS4 Betatester, Peg2, G4@1ghz, Radeon 9250 256mb, 1gb RAM.

http://www.asciiarena.com
http://www.uprough.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xyphoid 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 30-May-2008 20:34:01
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 18-Jul-2007
Posts: 71
From: Unknown

@A1200

I use genesis tcp, are they the same? will that work?

I'm state side USA.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 30-May-2008 22:23:25
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3086
From: Westhall, UK

@xyphoid

It would work fine. As I said, just like the AmiTCP install, you will need to use the prism2.device driver, not the cnet one :)

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
tomazkid 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 4:47:22
#6 ]
Team Member
Joined: 31-Jul-2003
Posts: 11694
From: Kristianstad, Sweden

@A1200

Quote:
1: Not sure what PCMCIA card to buy


http://www.g-mb.de/pcmcia_e.html

_________________
Site admins are people too..pooff!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 5:45:23
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

hello,

- the ocorino cmcia card work inside a metal tower like a dbox (elbox) tower ????

-what is the max transfer speed you optain with this card ???


(Know nothing about this subject, use ethernet with mediator here).

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 10:25:00
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5888
From: Work

@Mrodfr

I guess you need to use a pcmcia angle adapter for your tower. Don't know where to get one of those, though. If I could only find a source for female PCMCIA connectors I would be all over the task of selling those adapters, including cabled versions for drive bay or PCI slot hole mounted PCMCIA...

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 10:56:28
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5888
From: Work

@olegil


Ok, so that was stupid. FCI have them.

Memo to self:

Female: 10014744-002
Male R/A for cabled version: 10001489-056HA
Male straight for R/A adapter: 94937-0543LF

D'oh.

Last edited by olegil on 01-Jun-2008 at 10:56 AM.

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
d4m0n 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 14:18:58
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-May-2005
Posts: 204
From: West Wales

@A1200

Is there definitely no way to get any of the cards working with WPA-2? I really would not like to switch from that to WEP, because once somebody cracks your access point (which is easy with WEP), it's then easy to grab any MAC address and spoof it...

That price seems very good, probably because most people want 11g cards these days...?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 17:18:06
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@olegilá

I have the pcmcia angle adapter. my question is wifi work inside a metal tower (pcmcia is all inside the tower) ??

BTW, could you explain more your post #9 ??? possible to make a pcmcia angle adapter with a ribbon ??? what is FCI ???

Last edited by Mrodfr on 01-Jun-2008 at 05:19 PM.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
olegil 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 17:23:01
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Aug-2003
Posts: 5888
From: Work

@Mrodfr

FCI is a company that makes connectors

Of course it's possible to have a PCMCIA adapter with a ribbon. 30-40 cm should be no problem. It's basically an ISA bus, after all. Not rocket science...

But how well it'll work inside a metal tower, who knows. Try

_________________
This weeks pet peeve:
Using "voltage" instead of "potential", which leads to inventing new words like "amperage" instead of "current" (I, measured in A) or possible "charge" (amperehours, Ah or Coulomb, C). Sometimes I don't even know what people mean.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bert64 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 18:42:45
#13 ]
Member
Joined: 6-Jun-2007
Posts: 18
From: Unknown

@Mrodfr

Quote:
- the ocorino cmcia card work inside a metal tower like a dbox (elbox) tower ????


Should do, being inside the case won't shield the signal completely, but might reduce the performance and range.
A lot of cards have external antenna connectors, so you can easily mount an antenna on the outside of the case.

Quote:
-what is the max transfer speed you optain with this card ???


I tended to get about 400KB/sec out of these cards in an x86 based laptop, not sure what an Amiga would achieve. It's usual to get around half the rated speed with wireless, 11mb wifi -> 400kb/sec, 54mb wireless -> 3MB/sec etc...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xyphoid 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 1-Jun-2008 23:03:43
#14 ]
Member
Joined: 18-Jul-2007
Posts: 71
From: Unknown

@Mrodfr

For those looking for a solution:

http://amigakit.leamancomputing.com/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=42&products_id=690&osCsid=348b1e8469527f75115dbcdb0743d424

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 2-Jun-2008 11:12:02
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@xyphoid

yes, but need the same with a ribbon for putting the pcmcia outside the tower (in case of metal tower like dbox here) ???

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DBAlex 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 2-Jun-2008 16:50:40
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 23-Jul-2006
Posts: 756
From: UK

@Mrodfr

Hmm... You could try and get a card with antennae and then put it through a blank pci slot and out the back of the case?

Could work... Problem is I don't know any amiga compatible cards that take an antennae...

Maybe someone can help on that?

_________________
A1200, 68060/64MB/1.2GB/WiFi/AGAtoCRT/OS3.9 Pegasos I, G3 600Mhz/512/9200SE/80GB WinUAE, Ryzen 5 2400G/Vega11, 8GB DDR4, 256GB SSD,Win 10 Pro x64 Amiga Forever !

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ncafferkey 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 3-Jun-2008 16:10:05
#17 ]
AROS Core Developer
Joined: 8-Jul-2003
Posts: 274
From: Unknown

@DBAlex

There are Amiga-compatible cards that have an antenna jack, for example the original Orinoco cards (NOT the ones linked to in the original post, which I suspect are just trying to cash in on the Orinoco name).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Rudei 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 4-Jun-2008 11:06:56
#18 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Nov-2002
Posts: 3589
From: Dallas, Texas

@A1200

I bought one too - does it matter which wireless router I purchase and can anyone recommend one - I'm looking to connect the A1200, the AmigaOne XE and a 'Bloze Laptop

Thanks,
Rude!

_________________
2017 Camaro 2SS

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bugsthor 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 4-Jun-2008 19:31:56
#19 ]
Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2008
Posts: 27
From: Unknown

@A1200

since jan i baught job lots of amiga and the games utilites.

i got a parallel and com1 to serial cable with the software to off Ebay. but how exactly do i get
the software to the Amiga as i am having problems with both , so unless one of you

insightfull Amigans help me the card i baught which arived to day wil go unused. the one you sudgested in the first post i downloaded the software to.
i got a peace of software called ADF Sender terminal which does send to the amiga Hurray!!
but i dont see it in RAM here is the link to the walk through incase anyone else has this problem and in the interest of being helpfull to others HERE IT IS
ADF SENDER SENDER WALK THROUGH

i am completely new since its been so long that i used an amiga.

i have a 80mb flash card to but unsure which PC card reader would make this so much easier. if anyone has an idea on any of this well besides helping me think of the thousands who will read these posts

Go on i know you want to....

Last edited by bugsthor on 05-Jun-2008 at 06:31 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Bowler 
Re: Amiga PCMCIA Wireless
Posted on 6-Jun-2008 1:10:01
#20 ]
Member
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 63
From: Unknown

@A1200

Hi


i decided to get one of these too.

any idea where to put the wep key when using Genesis?
i have used the wizard for most of the settings and it seems to connect Ok but will not load any pages in a browser. I think it must be the wep key is needed to allow access but cannot see anywhere to enter this. Is genesis not able to use a wireless network?


many thanks



bowler

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 | 3 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle