Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6053 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
55 crawler(s) on-line.
 9 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Karlos:  7 mins ago
 eliyahu:  12 mins ago
 FloridaRealEstate:  19 mins ago
 ThailandReal.Estat:  22 mins ago
 spud101:  26 mins ago
 Trixie:  41 mins ago
 daydreamer:  1 hr 5 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  1 hr 30 mins ago
 outlawal2:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 53 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Software
      /  steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )
PosterThread
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 16-Oct-2008 11:54:21
#41 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

@itix
>have planned to create an updated version of AmigaSDL based on PowerSDL for >MorphOS (since it is ported from AmigaSDL and well compatible) but I think I never >have enough time to do that. It could be nice to find someone to backport changes >from PowerSDL to AmigaSDL or create completely new AmigaSDL port from >PowerSDL...

yes i see that powersdl source is in aminet.thats nice to get actual versions.

OS4 sdl library source i not found, i search on OS4 depot and aminet.intrestesting to see wy on OS4 redallert videos work.or maybe OS give no recoverable alert when a semaphore is free and free semaphore is called ?.but i think the error is good for developing.

where can OS4 sdl library get ?

I compare powersdl with newest 1.2.13 from sdl homepage.I see it differ too a lot.files are older and the directory tree and include files are mucht diffrent to actual sdl.

powersdl help me a lot to see how the amiga files can better work, but i use newest files(dir structure) and includes.

currently i have working most in video, events std dir with newest files.
the immidiate crash on fullscreen is gone, but sdl test show only a flickering screen and can quit with esc.

the error when play the movie in redalert semaphore is in illegal state is still in, with upatet video.c file.

I think its a program fault, windows or other os tolerate maybe to free a still free semaphore and do nothing.AOS tolerate this too, but give recoverable warning message.but on redalert every 4 sec this message come...

I want sdl easy to update and hopefully get the amiga OS target then to sdl mainsource, so iots same as with new gcc nit mich work need to build newest version-

I want get too 3d over stormmesa working.I think with that and 8 MB gfx card classic amiga users can play very good 2d or 3d sdl games.sdl seem allow too use 2d functions with 3d cards.

it seem the crashes when wipeout enforcer run, come from ixemul, without -ixemul sdl test work ok.

but redalert cant compile without ixemul because putc and some other funcs are miss.

i have no idea what i can link with.

ixemul i have test too the V49 from MOS because the trap free version work better with my graphical debugger and it is possible to single step code, but same problem with sdl test, but in OWB only V48 work.

ixemul is also a speedbrake.

when do string operations as toupper that convert a char to uppercase, the compiler use not the availible inline functions and call exemul.this have lots of calling .

Last edited by bernd_afa on 16-Oct-2008 at 11:57 AM.
Last edited by bernd_afa on 16-Oct-2008 at 11:56 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 16-Oct-2008 13:08:02
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3398
From: Freedom world

@bernd_afa

Quote:

OS4 sdl library source i not found, i search on OS4 depot and aminet.intrestesting to see wy on OS4 redallert videos work.or maybe OS give no recoverable alert when a semaphore is free and free semaphore is called ?.but i think the error is good for developing.


It is on drummond's web page. But it is no use because it uses OS4 call syntax, uses P96 instead of CGX and has quite lot OS4 only calls. PowerSDL uses MorphOS only calls but it is easier to port. It also fixes bugs which are not in the main SDL tree (nobody appears to understand why 16LE modes can not work on BE SDL).

Quote:

I compare powersdl with newest 1.2.13 from sdl homepage.I see it differ too a lot.files are older and the directory tree and include files are mucht diffrent to actual sdl.


Guys changed SDL directory layout and I havent bothered to keep my sources in par with those changes. Most changes on the main SDL tree are redundant (i.e. fixes to other platforms) or even improperly slow down SDL (in the main SDL tree AltiVec acceleration is disabled for HW surfaces, couldnt bother to nurse about it...). There was an attempt to bring back Amiga/CGX back into SDL tree but I had other things to do, drummond disappeared and Sam Lantigna propably lost interest on it completely.

Quote:

the error when play the movie in redalert semaphore is in illegal state is still in, with upatet video.c file.


I think semaphore handling is broken in AmigaSDL.

Quote:

sdl seem allow too use 2d functions with 3d cards.


What do you mean? Of course you can use 2D functions with 3D cards...

Quote:

it seem the crashes when wipeout enforcer run, come from ixemul, without -ixemul sdl test work ok.


ixemul should be used only for GeekGadgets. DO NOT USE IXEMUL IF IT IS NOT FOR GEEKGADGETS. In special cases I have used ixemul because SDL game needs vfork()/fork() but I should restate that DO NOT USE IXEMUL FOR NATIVE AMIGA APPLICATIONS. Thank you

Quote:

but redalert cant compile without ixemul because putc and some other funcs are miss.


You need new libnix. Or use clib2. Or something. But please do not use ixemul with SDL or with anything Amiga native toolkit. Thank you.

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
itix 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 16-Oct-2008 13:10:08
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Dec-2004
Posts: 3398
From: Freedom world

@bernd_afa

Quote:

it seem the crashes when wipeout enforcer run, come from ixemul, without -ixemul sdl test work ok.


IIRC ixemul had an enforcer hit somewhere... reading from 0x00000000 or something like that.

_________________
Amiga Developer
Amiga 500, Efika, Mac Mini and PowerBook

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 16-Oct-2008 15:21:51
#44 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd

SDL AOS4.x: http://rcdrummond.net/sdl/

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 17-Oct-2008 15:35:32
#45 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

@itix

I try newest clib2 for 68k and linker errors are same.i see in stdio.h macros, maybe the c++ code dont call this.

but with clib2 on both compiler 3.4.0 and 4.3.2 a start from shell return immidiatly without start the program or report a error in snoopdos

when debugging it take long time in this routine, strange what the eor.l code do.

MOVE.L (A3)+,D4
MOVE.L (A5),D5
CMP.L D4,D5
BNE.S $10E5DE48 ;10E5D
MOVEA.L D0,A0
JSR (A0)
EOR.L D2,D4
EOR.L D2,D5
CMP.L D5,D4
BCC.S $10E5DE56 ;10E5D
CMP.L D3,D4
BLS.S $10E5DE56 ;10E5D
MOVE.L D4,D3
MOVE.L (A3)+,D0
BNE.S $10E5DE3C ;10E5D

i find no newer libnix, for 68k, clib2 contain this files not.

when i remember correct, there is no MOS library clib2 here.

what do MOS do to work without ixemul ?

clib2 dont work and give linker errors when want use ixemul

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 17-Oct-2008 18:00:38
#46 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

I hope someone with knowledge here will help you about this subject

there are maybe some amiga coder site with members that maybe could help you for this subject

Last edited by Mrodfr on 17-Oct-2008 at 06:11 PM.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 2:25:07
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3443
From: Italy, Perugia

@bernd_afa

So any news Bernd

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 14:48:33
#48 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

@samo79

Yes see the OWB thread, i look and see not optimal socket activity.maybe a winuae only problem, but i think it also slowdown real system by wait longer than necessary.

http://amigaworld.net/modules/news/article.php?storyid=4634#62018

I want see OWB running, maybe on windows, pocketpc to see if can work well and internet access run good.

but i see no actual OWB binary.
so i think it is not too bad, to wait.

I have by the time SDL update to 1.2.13 as linker file and gcc4.3.2 for cygwin ready.
But i want add a switch so SDL put every second frame to gfx card.

if somebody want test, there is here a sourceforge project for devtools

http://amigaos68kdevto.svn.sourceforge.net/viewvc/amigaos68kdevto/

A geek gadgets install for 68k (with old compilers) can find on shinkuros Page

http://shinkuro.altervista.org/amiga/guida/english/index.htm

develop_1.3.lha

but the defendguin_benchmark dir in svn source browse, contain a binary defendguin_68k.exe.

The game is here

http://www.newbreedsoftware.com/defendguin/screenshots/

this is build with mew SDL lib.-work fullscreen window mode and show a framecounter.

intresting to see what frame rate a classic system can get when the envarc var

SDL_HWSURFACE is set and when not.

Note: when change, reboot or make sure you change var in env:too

Last edited by bernd_afa on 03-Dec-2008 at 03:05 PM.
Last edited by bernd_afa on 03-Dec-2008 at 02:55 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 19:28:09
#49 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa

not understand all but:

1. On amigaos68kdevto, found a SDL 12.6 68k with 237ko, mine is SDL 12.6 68k 180 ko ???

2. found the game and 68k exe and game work with the 2 SDL.library. just a problem to found data dir with aos4 archive.

the game work on my 68k but slow (maybe 3-6 frame/seconds (but no counter, speed found just with my noze

question:

- where is the framecounter ??? on the game ???

- how using SDL_HWSURFACE is set and when not ??? (in env, SDL_HWSURFACE .txt file with 0 or 1) ???

bye

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 22:29:00
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd:
there is someone that seems to have updated or started to update some essential 68k libraries, among them ixemul.library. look at this page:
megacz (dot) back2roots (dot) org
maybe this person could be helpful in this case.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
samo79 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 3-Dec-2008 22:32:40
#51 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 13-Feb-2003
Posts: 3443
From: Italy, Perugia

@bernd_afa

How to port directly latest MorphOS PowerSDL ?

http://aminet.net/package/util/libs/powersdl_src

_________________
BACK FOR THE FUTURE

http://www.betatesting.it/backforthefuture

Sam440ep Flex 800 Mhz 1 GB Ram + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6
AmigaOne XE G3 800 Mhz - 640 MB Ram - Radeon 9200 SE + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
asymetrix 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 0:47:31
#52 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 868
From: United Kingdom

@samo79

There is a GCC suite in this site :

click on the Develop 1-3 lha link for 68k (32 MB)

http://shinkuro.altervista.org/amiga/guida/english/index.htm

_________________
Download 499.26 Mbps, 659.94 Mbps Upload :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 9:32:30
#53 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

>the game work on my 68k but slow (maybe 3-6 frame/seconds (but no counter, >speed found just with my noze

the framerate is draw in right side, in the second player point area

Was your workbench in 16 bit mode ?

16 bit mode give best speed.

I now have the feature add, that only every second frame is draw to gfx card.i have add this in dir docs/readme_amiga.txt

https://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=246765&package_id=301483

I hope it is clear now how envarc can set.My english is not the best.
here is text

""""
This version have a framecounter on top right side.

there is also a hotkey(CTRL+LALT+h) you can press so it draw only every second frame.
this is usefull, because most SDL games are written for 30 fps.

If the amiga have not enough speed, to 30 fps, then all run in slowmotion.
If you press the hotkey then only every second frame is transfer to gfx Card so to get correct
speed your amiga must only be able to draw 15 fps to have correct game speed.

there can a enviroment Variable set (add a file in dir envarc)
SDL_HWSURFACE that is maybe faster.depend on the system and game you have.
on sdl games with alphablendet images SDL_HWSURFACE mode seem slower.
but on games as defendguin with no alphablending SDL_HWSURFACE give maybe a speedup.Let me know the fps results
"""""

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 15:16:00
#54 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd_afa
the test-game doesnt work here:

Error: I could not initialize video!
The Simple DirectMedia error that occured was:
Found no sufficiently capable CGX visuals

this happens with both the old and the updated sdl.library 12.6
it is known to me from other sdl apps that rely on shared sdl.library.
none of them works.
owb works somehow since it doesnt need that anymore as i recall.
since my system is an a4k with mediator and voodoo3, it is an p96 environment.
it seems sdl doesnt work with p96 on classics, other than on custom winuae p96.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bernd_afa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 15:36:51
#55 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 14-Apr-2006
Posts: 829
From: Unknown

@wawa

can you start sashimi to see debug output ?.also on older SDL lib ?
On working system this should output for example when a 16 bit SDL game run on a 32bit workbench screen

Have you a screenmode 640*480 *8 , 640*480*16 and 640*480*24 640*480*32 ?

I look in code and and see, there is a check for 640*480 screen with fixed width done.If you have on your system no screenmode of 640*480 then this can fail.

or maybe your BestCModeIDTags command in P96 or driver work wrong.Are there users with mediator and voodoo 3 and working SDL ?

Uint32 tID=BestCModeIDTags(CYBRBIDTG_Depth,depth,
CYBRBIDTG_NominalWidth,640,
CYBRBIDTG_NominalHeight,480,
TAG_DONE);

Neuer Shell-Prozeß 15
15.h0:wbstartup> sashimi
Sashimi installed ([Ctrl]+C or "Break 15" to remove)
depth 32 hidden depth 32
Pixel Format 12
Pixel Format 12
Pixel Format 12
bits per pixel 16 ret 0
bits per pixel 16 ret 0
bits per pixel 15 ret 0
bits per pixel 32 ret -1
bits per pixel 32 ret -1
screen depth 32
Set Video mode depth 32
window depth 32
Pixel Format 12
Pixel Format 12
Pixel Format 12
32 4
surface depth of SDL_VideoSurface 32
shadow surface
surface depth 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 16:15:37
#56 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

@bernd_afa

i will try to debug with muforce and sashimi. allthough its all new to me.
i suppose the bestmodeid command doesnt work corretly here. the same happens when testing ab3 examples that use that. the p96 driver that comes with mediator for voodoo is naturally a third party one, that means one of elbox, and actually it seems a little bit brute force hack. i could fireup the other machine i have that comes with piv-and the original p96

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 16:40:46
#57 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

no success mith muforce up till now. its a little to complicated for me @the mom. but snoopdos reports to me a missing variable USE_P96_FIX. should be set to yes i suppose, but where should it be? i have put such in env/picasso96 folder but no effect.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 17:26:44
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6259
From: Unknown

update: on the other060 machine with piv im getting up to 4-5fps with this game in a window mode on 16 bit 1152x900 workbench, but it seems sdl doesnt exit properly since system remains shakey. also not all the sdl graphics render really properly i suppose. i see also this app doesnt need shared sdl library ok.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 18:05:45
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@wawa

Check well your ixemul.library and ixnet.library. Must be:

-48.0 from aminet
OR
-48.3 from megacz site.

again and again and for all. ixemul.library 48.2 from aminet NOT WORK.

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Mrodfr 
Re: steps to run OWB 68k more than 3* faster
Posted on 4-Dec-2008 18:38:24
#60 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2007
Posts: 1396
From: French

@bernd_afa 

tested here with my amiga1200+060/50 with 800x600x16 P96.The game work allways, of course:

- without ctrl+lalt+h, around 2 to 4 frames on the counter.
- with ctrl+lalt+h, around 4 to 8 frames on the counter.
AND same result with the 2 SDL.library (237ko (bernd) and 180ko (original)).

- on the one player, 2 player, options, quit screen and without crl+lalt+h, upper part of the screen trashed (title of the game). look like bad modulos when ripping a gfx with an action replay). Used ctrl+lalt+h solve the problem.

The general problem: when playing the game, hum... testing the game and move the amiga pointer, the mouse pointer move and halt and move and alt and the frame move to 4 to 8 to 4 to 8 (more or less).

Just to say that the old 12.6 68k SDL maybe have a problem somewhere that stop and move and stop the mmouse during 68k SDL programs running. (Maybe a fix has been made on MorphOS or AOS4 port for this problems).

bye

_________________
BTW, what you have done for the amiga today ????

-A1200+Mediator+VooDoo3+060/50+96mo+SCSI-KIT
-SAM440EP-667mhz-on MapowerKC3000+AOS4.1

Amiga Docs Disks Preservation Project

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle