Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5731 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
47 crawler(s) on-line.
 33 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 amisteph

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 amisteph:  7 secs ago
 sibbi:  13 mins ago
 outrun1978:  14 mins ago
 Debaser:  15 mins ago
 Everblue:  16 mins ago
 clint:  22 mins ago
 LarsB:  23 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  29 mins ago
 OlafS25:  35 mins ago
 Hypex:  44 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Oriculator 0.0.2 (Oric emulator)
Register To Post

PosterThread
xeron 
Oriculator 0.0.2 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 31-Mar-2009 19:44:03
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

My latest project:

Oriculator.



Edit: Updated to 0.0.2

Last edited by xeron on 06-Apr-2009 at 06:58 PM.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
drHirudo 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 31-Mar-2009 19:59:17
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Apr-2004
Posts: 1082
From: Sofia

@xeron

Nice work. Especially when the best Oric emulator for Amiga (AmOric) is not updated since 1995, and does not give sound on AmigaOS 4.1 (on 4.0 I have succeeded with early prereleases and NallePuh).
I have tried it with three of my games.
MazezaM it did not work.
Seachess worked, but some attributes were not correctly rendered.
Garden worked fine, but is slower than normal, and have no sound.

_________________
Games, programs, reviews

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 31-Mar-2009 20:01:36
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@drHirudo

Thanks for trying them out There is no sound emulation yet.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
yoodoo2 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 31-Mar-2009 20:48:34
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 4-Aug-2003
Posts: 1325
From: Stourbridge, UK

@xeron

Fantastic. The world's best home computer now on the world's best OS!

Can't wait until the weekend to have a play.

Good job!

_________________
Happiness is mandatory.
MindSpace: MindMaps and UML diagrams for OS4
Recursion Computer Fair: Saturday 1 July 2017 at Stratford-upon-Avon

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 31-Mar-2009 21:19:55
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

What was the name of that apparently really good diving game for the Oric?
I had the terrible C64 version and Wouldn't mind trying the orginal version.

Edited to add, er.. how do you load a tape?

Last edited by Stephen_Robinson on 31-Mar-2009 at 09:40 PM.
Last edited by Stephen_Robinson on 31-Mar-2009 at 09:32 PM.

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 31-Mar-2009 22:33:29
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@Stephen_Robinson

Once you've selected the tape in the menu, type:

CLOAD ""

and hit enter.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 1-Apr-2009 0:29:57
#7 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4402
From: Portsmouth England

@xeron

I misread your title as an ORAC emulator And was expecting something more in keping with todays date



_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Stephen_Robinson 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 1-Apr-2009 19:24:07
#8 ]
Super Member
Joined: 29-Apr-2005
Posts: 1991
From: UK

@xeron

Thank 'oo!

Just had a 'game' of Hunchback, just as I remember it! (terrible!)

_________________
Rage quited 29th May 2011

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 1-Apr-2009 21:49:01
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@drHirudo

MazezaM is interesting. The whole tape loads correctly, but the motor doesn't get turned off and the game doesn't start. If you hit F2, type "r pc $500" then exit the monitor, you get the title screen, although you can't start the game.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 2-Apr-2009 7:56:15
#10 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

Well, if I send an extra zero once the tap file has finished, MazezaM loads and works OK. Weird.

Good game, though.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
drHirudo 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 2-Apr-2009 9:38:56
#11 ]
Super Member
Joined: 26-Apr-2004
Posts: 1082
From: Sofia

@xeron

Quote:

xeron wrote:
Well, if I send an extra zero once the tap file has finished, MazezaM loads and works OK. Weird.

Good game, though.

Probably the zero byte lack is a bug of CC65 which I used. Seachess is also done with CC65, but loads Okay. I am not sure why. Have to check. MazezaM also uses inverse attributes to achieve more colors on single scanline, without the loss of space for a control space. Does this work properly with Oriculator?

_________________
Games, programs, reviews

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 2-Apr-2009 9:50:30
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

@drHirudo

There isn't anything (that i can see) wrong with the .TAP file for MazezaM as it is now. For some reason the Oric ROM still looks for a positive pulse on the tape line after the file is loaded. I think if I set the tape input high when the motor is turned off, it might fix it.

Edit: Oh, and MazezaM seems to work perfectly in Oriculator once loaded.

Edit 2: My thinking was flawed there... the ROM doesn't turn the motor off. I'll step over the ROM code and see whats going on later.

Last edited by xeron on 02-Apr-2009 at 11:03 AM.
Last edited by xeron on 02-Apr-2009 at 09:50 AM.

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
xeron 
Re: Oriculator 0.0.1 (Oric emulator)
Posted on 6-Apr-2009 18:58:43
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 22-Jun-2003
Posts: 2440
From: Weston-Super-Mare, Somerset, England, UK, Europe, Earth, The Milky Way, The Universe

Just uploaded an update (0.0.2).

Made a first try at AY sound. Its rubbish, but all 3 voices are emulated. Consider sound a work in progress

Other changes include a reduction in CPU usage, working blink attribute

_________________
Playstation Network ID: xeron6

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle