Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
6085 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
37 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Hypex

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hypex:  3 mins ago
 amisteph:  7 mins ago
 tygre:  22 mins ago
 Kronos:  34 mins ago
 nbache:  37 mins ago
 amigang:  43 mins ago
 _ThEcRoW:  46 mins ago
 Rob:  56 mins ago
 ian-uk:  59 mins ago
 ggw:  1 hr 11 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
Georg 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 10:10:06
#21 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 446
From: Unknown

@Cool_amigaN

Quote:
Team17 had stated that Superfrog took the ECS chipest to its limits.


Very unlikely. Wasn't it just one of those only half-smooth games (like others from Team17),
where the scrolling was smooth/full frame rate, but the real game ran at half the framerate?




 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Cool_amigaN 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 10:19:31
#22 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Oct-2006
Posts: 1204
From: Athens/Greece

@Georg

Quote:

Georg wrote:
@Cool_amigaN

Quote:
Team17 had stated that Superfrog took the ECS chipest to its limits.


Very unlikely. Wasn't it just one of those only half-smooth games (like others from Team17),
where the scrolling was smooth/full frame rate, but the real game ran at half the framerate?


Dunno about this technical aspect you are referring, but I am absolutely sure about what Team17 stated.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 10:34:10
#23 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

As with MAME, there might be a ton of games that run smooth and a few that do not (ie:Mortal Kombat 3 etc.) depends also on the number of Mhz your CPU is running on (533Mhz Sams will behave differently from 800Mhz ones).

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
m3x 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 12:00:19
#24 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-May-2003
Posts: 311
From: Bologna, Italy

@ChrisH

At the following link you'll find a version of E-UAE recompiled for Sam I did some days ago.
Don't know if it'll bring more performance on your setup, or not, but you may give it at try.

http://www.soft3dev.net/games/uae_0.8.29-sam.lha

_________________
Massimiliano Tretene, ACube Systems, Soft3

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 13:34:17
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@m3x
Nice! Is there a Sam specific MAME re-compile?

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 14:11:52
#26 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5197
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@m3x

Optimizations for DSP instructions????

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 15:00:50
#27 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@KimmoK
By the way what is the purpose of those DSP instructions in the 440? Are they somewhat similar to MMX?

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaBlitter 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 15:41:51
#28 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 26-Sep-2005
Posts: 3499
From: Unknown

@DAX

Maybe he's talking about the FPGA. If the FPGA coud be used as a little dsp the audio/video operations could be done more fast.

As far as i know the FPGA chip is practically empy/unused at 99.5 %

_________________
retired

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 15:50:20
#29 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@AmigaBlitter
That would be great also, but I was referring to this part of AMCC description (from the product brief):"...the PowerPC 440 core includes dynamic branch prediction and 24 digital signal processing (DSP) instructions..."

Their purpose being

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
KimmoK 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:05:28
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-Mar-2003
Posts: 5197
From: Ylikiiminki, Finland

@DAX
"By the way what is the purpose of those DSP instructions in the 440? Are they somewhat similar to MMX?"

I have not looked, but I assume that they are aimed at telecom use. So they are less usefull on desktop than MMX/Altivec/3Dnow but might speed up ethernet (etc.) processing.
(or perhaps those instructions could take some load of sound mixing, speech synthesis, etc..)

about the FPGA...
because the FPGA is outside of the CPU, I think it can not greatly speed up SW running on the CPU (IIRC, the bus to FPGA is 16bit ‚66Mhz)
Perhaps the performance of the FPGA could be unleashed by OpenCL. (Hyperion MAP ?)
Most likely it will be most usefull as I/O expansion (atari/ps2 joystick port, amiga legacy ports, Wlan, DigitalTV)

ideas for the FPGA:
http://amigaworld.net/modules/newbb/viewtopic.php?topic_id=27379&forum=33

Last edited by KimmoK on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:16 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:13 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:11 PM.
Last edited by KimmoK on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:09 PM.

_________________
- KimmoK
// For freedom, for honor, for AMIGA
//
// Thing that I should find more time for: CC64 - 64bit Community Computer?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
geen_naam 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:30:39
#31 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 29-Nov-2003
Posts: 111
From: The Netherlands

@KimmoK

That's not correct.
The 440 core contains an additional 24 DSP instructions divided into three groups: multiply (a*b), multiply accumulate (a*b+c) and multiply substract (a*b-c). These kind of instructions are commonly used in digital signal processing (f.e. FIR FII, FFT DCT etc...) Inverse Cosine transform is one of the cpu intensive parts of MPEG1/2/4 decoding and will benefit greatly from these instructions.

Those instructions will operate on up to 16 bit signed/unsigned integers with up to a 32bit-result.


It's like altivec but without the SIMD and 128bit part.

Last edited by Geennaam on 30-Nov-2009 at 11:14 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
klx300r 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:34:32
#32 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 4-Mar-2008
Posts: 3632
From: Toronto, Canada

@m3x

hey thanks this optimized version does run quite quicker on my system ! mind you its still a little slow for my liking on many games though thats probably because I need to play with the setting better perhaps??...

Last edited by klx300r on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:35 PM.

_________________
____________________________
c64-2sids, A1000, A1200T-060@50(finally working!),A4000-CSMKIII
! My Master Miggies- Amiga 1000 & AmigaOne X1000 !
mancave-ramblings
X1000 I BELIEVE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:39:29
#33 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@m3x
Thanks for the link, but your web site currently seems down

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:40:37
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@klx300r
How is the speed with v0.8.28? It should FLY if you use my config on your 800MHz Sam.

Last edited by ChrisH on 30-Nov-2009 at 04:43 PM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:55:09
#35 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@ChrisH
I'm on windows right now and clicking the link immediately starts the download

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 16:59:52
#36 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@DAX
No, still doesn't work here, even on Windows. Maybe a DNS change has not propogated to my ISP yet?

Anyone got an IP address for www.soft3dev.net ? Typing "ping www.soft3dev.net" in DOS should report it. Please check you can view their web site first!

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Smurfen 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 17:15:23
#37 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 25-Mar-2005
Posts: 160
From: Unknown

@ChrisH

85.17.208.84

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 17:17:46
#38 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@ChrisH
I just sent it to you through email

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
DAX 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 17:19:37
#39 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Sep-2009
Posts: 2790
From: Italy

@Geennaam
Well that is quite interesting...

_________________
SamFlex Complete 800Mhz System + AmigaOS 4.1 Update 4
Amiga 2000 DKB 2MB ChipRam GVP G-Force040 Picasso 2 OS3.9 BB2
AmigaCD 32

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tomas 
Re: UAE now runs great on my Sam440 (with sound!)
Posted on 30-Nov-2009 17:37:39
#40 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 25-Jul-2003
Posts: 4286
From: Unknown

@DAX

Quote:
This has only to do with Demo Scene people. Games run fine at 320x240 and apps do not need UAE to run under AOS4.1, you can install and run professional Amiga Apps (Lightwave 5,Art Effect, Audio Evolution, any word processor, you name it) without UAE and they run pretty fast. So if you can't live without demos fine, you are right.

kinda offtopic:
I wish there was some more scene releases for OS4.x. Seems like there hasnt been any in years.

Last edited by Tomas on 30-Nov-2009 at 05:37 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle