Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5824 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
» Home
» Features
» News
» Forums
» Classifieds
» Links
» Downloads
Extras
» OS4 Zone
» IRC Network
» AmigaWorld Radio
» Newsfeed
» Top Members
» Amiga Dealers
Information
» About Us
» FAQs
» Advertise
» Polls
» Terms of Service
» Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
61 crawler(s) on-line.
 15 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 jaokim:  14 mins ago
 Dragoon:  21 mins ago
 Hammer:  22 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  25 mins ago
 Steady:  30 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 noXLar:  1 hr 28 mins ago
 hardwaretech:  1 hr 36 mins ago
 evilFrog:  2 hrs 54 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  3 hrs 56 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )
PosterThread
Metalheart 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 17:57:18
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@TrevorDick

I'm sorry, but I think there will be atleast one empty X1000 case on E-bay, shortly after I bought my X1000 machine.....

I don't like it. But to each it's own though.

Cheers

Martin

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Abu_the_monkey 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 18:05:53
#42 ]
Member
Joined: 25-Jan-2010
Posts: 70
From: Banbury, England

@TrevorDick

my personal taste would be 'less is more' so far as the frontage of any computer case goes. I undrstand the importance of the x1000 for both yourself and the community so please don't take it the wrong way as it will not need an 'in your face' look. The results of your (and others) hard work will speak for themselves...

looking forward to seeing it in the flesh (so to speak) very soon.

keep up the fantastic work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
marko 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 18:18:25
#43 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2007
Posts: 1805
From: Gothenburg, THE front side of Sweden ;), (via Finland), EU

@Bushy

That's a nice case

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1 on Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM
C128, A500+, A1200, A1200/40, AmigaForever 2008+09+16, 5 x86/x64 boxes
Still waiting (or dreaming) for the Amiga revolution...
m4rko.com/AMIGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
recedent 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 18:32:02
#44 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2010
Posts: 225
From: Tarnów

@TrevorDick

How come the "cut out of the case" motherboard doesn't have any mounting screws in? I guess the devs just put the mobo into this case laying horizontally on the ground, right?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
hotrod 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 18:32:45
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 11-Mar-2003
Posts: 2778
From: Stockholm, Sweden

OPS

Last edited by hotrod on 06-May-2010 at 06:33 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
WOSPUPOS4 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 18:33:44
#46 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Feb-2006
Posts: 220
From: Unknown

Quote:

recedent wrote:
@TrevorDick

How come the "cut out of the case" motherboard doesn't have any mounting screws in? I guess the devs just put the mobo into this case laying horizontally on the ground, right?


Lol no.. its because it is a mock-up picture done in a paint program.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ajs 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 18:58:44
#47 ]
Super Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 1459
From: Surrey

@recedent

Quote:

recedent wrote:
@TrevorDick

How come the "cut out of the case" motherboard doesn't have any mounting screws in? I guess the devs just put the mobo into this case laying horizontally on the ground, right?


Well if you go and read post 37, he explains why

Last edited by ajs on 06-May-2010 at 06:59 PM.

_________________
Everything is proceeding as I have foreseen

Some people are like slinkies. Not really good for anything but they bring a smile to your face when pushed down the stairs.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Framiga 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 19:10:08
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-Jul-2003
Posts: 2212
From: Unknown

@Metalheart

Quote:

Metalheart wrote:
@TrevorDick

I'm sorry, but I think there will be atleast one empty X1000 case on E-bay, shortly after I bought my X1000 machine.....

Martin


doing so it would void the warranty ... wait 2 years at least!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 19:11:47
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2669
From: Wellington

@recedent

Quote:
How come the "cut out of the case" motherboard doesn't have any mounting screws in?


They only used 5 mounting screws to secure the mobo.

TrevorD

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Darth_X 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 19:14:41
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 1-Jun-2003
Posts: 2997
From: Vancouver Island, Canada

Quote:

http://www.a-eon.com/pics/X1000_case.jpg
http://www.a-eon.com/pics/A1_X1000_case.jpg
http://www.sweclockers.com/imagebank/200909/Fractal1001.jpg


Where is the PSU?

_________________
Men who have girlies in their avatars are Girliemen!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
mpiva 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 19:19:44
#51 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 3-Aug-2005
Posts: 202
From: Alberta, CAN

@Darth_X

Quote:


Where is the PSU?


Well, obviously the X1000 is so advanced it doesn't need power.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TrevorDick 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 19:21:29
#52 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 2669
From: Wellington

@Metalheart

Quote:
I don't like it. But to each it's own though.

Personally I also like minimalist designs but this is supposed to be a highly expandable model.

TrevorD

PS Obviously the PSU is not show in the picture

_________________
No, I don't need no reason, I'm just breezin'

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 20:28:01
#53 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

Photoshopping a motherboard into a case just looks bad.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TheDungeonDelver 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 21:13:55
#54 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Apr-2004
Posts: 815
From: Unknown

@koft

It does. It's not quite "take screencaps of thumbnails of images of case designs people have sent us" or "fake motherboard" bad, but it's still pretty bad.

_________________
The problem with AmigaOS on PPC isn't that PPC is big-endian. The problem with AmigaOS on PPC is that PPC is dead-endian.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
recedent 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 21:28:57
#55 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Jan-2010
Posts: 225
From: Tarnów

@WOSPUPOS4,
@ajs,

If you read the post #37 carefully, Trevor writes:

The developers actually did take a photo of the Nemo board inside the case but (...)I decided to "cut" the board out of the case and paste it into the nice shiny case for the web picture.

Soooo... It's actually a picture of the mobo inside the case, but cut out and pasted into another picture. That's why I asked about mounting screws. After a close look though one can see something that looks like them five screws. LOL.

Last edited by recedent on 06-May-2010 at 09:29 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 21:31:08
#56 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daemon 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 21:39:31
#57 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2008
Posts: 51
From: Stockholm, Sweden

seeing that animation, it seems the motherboard will be bigger then it is in the picture
look on the motherboard mounting skrewholes...

or maybe it is just placed a little to far to the left in the pic...

Last edited by Daemon on 06-May-2010 at 09:40 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Metalheart 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 21:48:21
#58 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 2968
From: Somewhere in the Dutch mountains....

@Framiga

Quote:

doing so it would void the warranty ... wait 2 years at least!


Thats crap !! I realy hate that. What if I want to put in a new HD or DVD drive, or whatever PCI card ? Would that void warranty aswel ?

If it's just the case of the swapping the case I might just keep it in storage for warranty purposes.

Don't get me wrong, I realy apreciate Trevors (and others) hard work and investment. Realy !
But I just don't like the case the X1000 comes in.... sorry

Last edited by Metalheart on 06-May-2010 at 09:50 PM.

_________________
Theres a time to live and a time to die
When its time to meet the maker
Theres a time to live but isnt it strange
That as soon as you're born you're dying

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ChrisH 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 22:31:38
#59 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 30-Jan-2005
Posts: 6673
From: Unknown

@koft
You just couldn't stay away from AW.net could you? Guess you must like posting in "a f**k*ng sh*th*le". (Yeah, for curiosity I took my once-every-six-months-or-so visit to the real bottom of the internet, and happened to see your post, in between all the sperm. What a wonderful place.)

BTW, just curious, how are you able to tell when I hit the report button?

(Mod's note: This post has resulted in an approved Abuse Report against the user ChrisH and a first official warning
Following adjudication, AR removed, warning remains in effect.

You have contravened these sections of the TOS:

"Site Netiquette: We share one common ground, we are all Amiga users! Respect other opinions, even though you may not agree. Everyone is entitled to their say, but please do so in a courteous manner.

It's easy to flame someone if you disagree, but remember, that type of behaviour is strictly prohibited. We come from different locations, we are a mix of ages, and our backgrounds vary. Take that into consideration before you click the post button. A moment of thought is better than hours of grief. The general rule of thumb is treat others as you would like to be treated. "

"Flame/Attacks: Do not flame! Flaming refers to derogatory, abusive, threatening, sarcastic, rude, or otherwise mean-spirited messages directed at members/users. Be cautious when using sarcasm and humour. Without facial expressions and tone of voice, they do not translate easily over the Internet in posts and may be perceived as flaming. Report the flame posts immediately to an Amigaworld Team Member so that the situation can be dealt with immediately. A warning may be issued depending on the severity of flame/attacks. "

If you disagree, please don't make it personal.

Last edited by _Steve_ on 09-May-2010 at 01:32 AM.
Last edited by Yo on 07-May-2010 at 06:26 AM.

_________________
Author of the PortablE programming language.
I can usually be found on www.Amigans.net (my favourite Amiga forum).
It is pitch black. You are likely to be eaten by a grue...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
koft 
Re: Do we know case design on X1000 yet?
Posted on 6-May-2010 22:42:43
#60 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2007
Posts: 493
From: USA, TN, Memphis

@ChrisH

Quote:

ChrisH wrote:
@koft
You just couldn't stay away from AW.net could you? Guess you must like posting in "a f**k*ng sh*th*le". (Yeah, for curiosity I took my once-every-six-months-or-so visit to the real bottom of the internet, and happened to see your post, in between all the sperm. What a wonderful place.)

BTW, just curious, how are you able to tell when I hit the report button?


What does sperm have to do with A-eon and the A1X1K?

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle