Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5687 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
56 crawler(s) on-line.
 11 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 billt:  14 mins ago
 Derfs:  18 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  31 mins ago
 mdr:  32 mins ago
 Kronos:  37 mins ago
 BSzili:  42 mins ago
 emeck:  45 mins ago
 PhantomInterrogative:  50 mins ago
 K-L:  58 mins ago
 miggymac:  59 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  SAM460 Troubleshooting
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
Daniel 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 8:54:46
#21 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 6-Mar-2010
Posts: 239
From: Unknown

@SinanG

Small observation, was that a smart new splash screen I saw at the start?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skuggan 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 11:05:55
#22 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2010
Posts: 165
From: Sweden

@Hans

I have just mailed you some logs. Apperantly it doesn't recognize the card.
Just for fun I will pop into my computer store and steal all their old ATI-cards laying around
and test them.

@all

Btw. I'm writing this post on my Sam460 with OWB. Very first Amigapost since 1998. :)

Even though I'm using the built in Silicon Motion chip the responsetivety in AmigaOS 4 is great.
My other machine is Corei7 and it is starting to lag since it was more than 3 month since I last reinstalled Windows 7. And my 1.5GHz laptop havent been reinstalled in 2 years. It performs slower than my classic A4000 33Mhz.

This feels great and the 460 is worth every penny I have spent.
Now I will start coding Amiga again.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 12:11:35
#23 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@cha05e90

Oh, he´s got one too? Well, maybe he lives in the Asian part of Turkey (if I am lucky).

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 14:46:17
#24 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 314
From: Unknown

@Niolator

Yes I live in the Asian part of Istanbul :)

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 2GB Radeon R7 265
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon R7 265
Sam 460 2GB RadeonHD 6570

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
OldFart 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 14:51:27
#25 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2004
Posts: 2925
From: Stad; en d'r is moar ain stad en da's Stad. Makkelk zat!

@Harlequinn

Seeing this is your first (and only) post I wonder why no one has welcomed you here?



and enjoy yourself endlessly whilst staying here.

OldFart

_________________
Is 28.16: " He that believeth shall not make haste"

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Niolator 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 15:09:10
#26 ]
Super Member
Joined: 3-May-2003
Posts: 1407
From: Unknown

@SinanG

Phew. Lucky me.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
T-J 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 22:37:35
#27 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2010
Posts: 596
From: Unknown

@SinanG

Thanks for the video. It seems to be quite fast already, so hopefully once the OS is out of beta and the graphics drivers are closer to completion the 460 will start to overtake the old A1s performance-wise.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
marko 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 22:51:03
#28 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2007
Posts: 1794
From: Gothenburg, THE front side of Sweden ;), (via Finland), EU

@Skuggan

Quote:
I'm writing this post on my Sam460 with OWB. Very first Amigapost since 1998. :)

Congrats to your Sam and welcome back to Amiga!

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1 on Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM
C128, A500+, A1200, A1200/40, AmigaForever 2008+09+16, 5 x86/x64 boxes
Still waiting (or dreaming) for the Amiga revolution...
m4rko.com/AMIGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
marko 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 22:52:21
#29 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2007
Posts: 1794
From: Gothenburg, THE front side of Sweden ;), (via Finland), EU

@Harlequinn

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1 on Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM
C128, A500+, A1200, A1200/40, AmigaForever 2008+09+16, 5 x86/x64 boxes
Still waiting (or dreaming) for the Amiga revolution...
m4rko.com/AMIGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
pavlor 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 19-Feb-2011 22:54:04
#30 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 10-Jul-2005
Posts: 9010
From: Unknown

@Harlequinn

Welcome!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hans 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 0:19:28
#31 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 27-Dec-2003
Posts: 4912
From: New Zealand

@Skuggan

Quote:

Skuggan wrote:
@Hans

I have just mailed you some logs. Apperantly it doesn't recognize the card.
Just for fun I will pop into my computer store and steal all their old ATI-cards laying around
and test them.


Already responded to you via email but, for the benefit of others:

The GPU on Skuggan's card is actually a Mobility Radeon HD 4300 series chipset, and not a Radeon HD 4350. Obviously no one else who has tested/used the driver has encountered a mobility chipset before. That's not surprising as they are meant to be in laptops, not on desktop graphics cards. Fingers crossed, it shouldn't be too hard to fix.

Hans

Last edited by Hans on 20-Feb-2011 at 12:19 AM.

_________________
http://hdrlab.org.nz/ - Amiga OS 4 projects, programming articles and more. Home of the RadeonHD driver for Amiga OS 4.x project.
https://keasigmadelta.com/ - More of my work.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
cha05e90 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 8:14:51
#32 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Apr-2009
Posts: 1272
From: Germany

@Niolator
Quote:
Phew. Lucky me.

How embarrassing for myself - trying to be a smartass and failed...

_________________
X1000|II/G4|440ep|2000/060|2000/040|1000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
swoodall 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 9:10:45
#33 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Sep-2003
Posts: 248
From: Raleigh NC, USA

@Hans

This has happened before, with the old radeon driver. My "9250" AGP card turned out to have an M9+ mobile GPU on it. He added a few of these PCI IDs to the driver and it has worked fine. Hope yours is that easy...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Tuxedo 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 9:51:15
#34 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 28-Nov-2003
Posts: 2321
From: Perugia, ITALY

@Skuggan

Welcome back!

and:

Quote:
Now I will start coding Amiga again.


That's exactly what we need :)
Any hint on what are your programming experience or what do you like to do firstly? :)

_________________
Simone"Tuxedo"Monsignori, Perugia, ITALY.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skuggan 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 11:51:42
#35 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-May-2010
Posts: 165
From: Sweden

You can't trust the vendors. A warning sign should be when they don't even print out their webpage-url on the box. :)
It's a Sapphire HD4350. Nowhere on the box or in the manual its says Mobility radeon.

@Tuxedo
Back in 1996-97 we built a handheld GPS with a 68332 (020-core) totally from scratch. Did our own PCB, OS and all the Map material over entire europe. To fund it we sold a atlas program for the PC. We used a A4000 as the development environment. But the investors didn't thought handheld GPS were the future. How wrong they were. No worries. I made som money out of it and my Amiga experience landed me a nice cosulting job. (The manager that hired me had an past from the Amiga scene) Since then mostly corporate systems using Java, ASP and such.
Have written a couple of 3D simulators using C++ and Java with the Xith3D engine on PC just for fun.

For the coming project the Sam460 board is spot on what I need and as soon as the proof of concept is done the investors step in. I'm hoping in using AmigaOS but if its not stable enough I have to go for Linux. Its not a consumer product however.

Anyway. The FPGA on the Sam will be used aswell as UMTS/GPS and a touch screen. So anything that comes out of that, that can gain the community I will contribute to.
But first I must get used to developing for AmigaOS and the Sam460.


 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
gerograph 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 13:51:29
#36 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 5-Dec-2007
Posts: 901
From: Moers - Germany

@Skuggan

Quote:
Anyway. The FPGA on the Sam will be used aswell as UMTS/GPS and a touch screen. So anything that comes out of that, that can gain the community I will contribute to.


That's exactly the way to go... as currents Amiga Market itself is far to small to earn enough money. We need one ore more niche markets (seems like Skuggan is into one of them), and hope that some of the efforts made there will benefit us (current Amiga community).
Even though, I donnot have a clue on Hyperions marketing/business plans, but I guess this is the one they are after. Earning money in a niche market which may not even be aimed at us.....

greetings gerograph

_________________
Geomarketing at
www.geobiz.de
www.gebietsplanung.net
www.geomarketing-consultant.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Seiya 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 14:34:21
#37 ]
Super Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2006
Posts: 1416
From: Italia

but, has x1550 already 3D acceleration, or currently only 2D acceleration?

Last edited by Seiya on 20-Feb-2011 at 02:35 PM.

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Derfs 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 15:08:12
#38 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 776
From: me To: you

@Seiya

2D

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
SinanG 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 16:00:16
#39 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 24-Dec-2004
Posts: 314
From: Unknown

@T-J

Just tried booting from SD Card and it works...

Installed and partitioned SD card like a ordinary HD and installed AmigaOS4.1 on it..
Then in UBoot I have selected USB HD as first boot device...

No problems..

_________________
AmigaOS4 Beta-Tester
----------------------------------
Amiga X5000 2GB Radeon R7 265
Amiga A1222 2GB Radeon R7 265
Sam 460 2GB RadeonHD 6570

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
T-J 
Re: SAM460 Troubleshooting
Posted on 20-Feb-2011 22:47:40
#40 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2010
Posts: 596
From: Unknown

@SinanG

Quote:
Then in UBoot I have selected USB HD as first boot device..


I remember at the VCF last summer, Max from ACube saying that boot speed from the SD card would be improved once the USB2 drivers are ready. I'm looking forward to that!

But its good to hear that there are no problems with it as it is now.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle