Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5781 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
38 crawler(s) on-line.
 23 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 clint

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 clint:  3 mins ago
 BigD:  5 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  7 mins ago
 zipper:  9 mins ago
 Ancalimon:  11 mins ago
 BSzili:  30 mins ago
 wakido:  31 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  44 mins ago
 saimo:  1 hr 9 mins ago
 bigmac:  1 hr 11 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  MiniGL
      /  glBlendEquation exist ?
Register To Post

PosterThread
AmiDARK 
glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 8-Apr-2011 23:01:13
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2007
Posts: 485
From: South France

Hi,

I need to use glBlendEquation but I can't.
Compilation always send me the error : undefined reference to 'glBlendEquation'

I include files :
#include < gl/glut.h >
#include < interfaces/glut.h >

and glut.h includes all files for gl including file glext.h that contain definition for the glBlendEquation function.
so, why compilation report error ?

Thank you.

Kindest Regards,
AmiDARK

Last edited by AmiDARK on 08-Apr-2011 at 11:01 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
shadow 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 8-Apr-2011 23:47:44
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 10-Mar-2003
Posts: 118
From: Copenhagen

@AmiDARK

glBlendEquation is not supported in MiniGL, so you will have to find an other solution.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDARK 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 10:11:09
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2007
Posts: 485
From: South France

@shadow
err ... So ... impossible do to some ghosting/transparency effects like DBPro in AmiDARK Engine then ...

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 10:37:07
#4 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@AmiDARK

Use glBlendFunc() and alpha channels for transparancy etc.

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDARK 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 10:52:01
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2007
Posts: 485
From: South France

@broadblues
Yes but it's too limitative ...
For example; to do bright ghosting.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
broadblues 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 11:11:03
#6 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 20-Jul-2004
Posts: 4411
From: Portsmouth England

@AmiDARK

What's "bright ghosting" ?

_________________
BroadBlues On Blues BroadBlues On Amiga Walker Broad

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDARK 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 12:03:34
#7 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2007
Posts: 485
From: South France

@broadblues
Look this image :

It's a particle system I've done on PC with DarkBASIC Professional.
The transparency is done without Alpha channel.
It is only done with blending set to "add"

Look for example this next one :
XQuadEditor Sample SnapShot
The "warp" effect, is only "bright ghosting" too.

On PC for example, I have created a "2D Plasma" effect like on old Amiga simply by adding 3 plains objects with 3 different textures ( 1 red, 1 green, 1 blue ):

The plasma result :


On AmigaOS when using Alpha, On only get this :

I use what is advised for transparency on OpenGL websites :
Quote:

glEnable( GL_BLEND );
glEnable( GL_DEPTH_TEST );
glEnable( GL_ALPHA_TEST );
glAlphaFunc( GL_NOTEQUAL, 0 );
glBlendFunc( GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE_MINUS_SRC_ALPHA );

I was thinking that setting glBlendEquation to ADD may help me getting the result I want...

Any one have a Clue ?

Kindest Regards,
AmiDARK

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kiero 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 12:41:42
#8 ]
Member
Joined: 15-Apr-2004
Posts: 84
From: Unknown

@AmiDARK

for additive blending just use gl_one, gl_one as blendfunc

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDARK 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 12:47:06
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2007
Posts: 485
From: South France

@kiero
ok
will try

thanks

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daytona675x 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 13:09:34
#10 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jan-2011
Posts: 491
From: Germany

@AmiDARK
or try GL_SRC_ALPHA, GL_ONE for additive with alpha.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE (sam460ex Radeon 9200 / RadeonHD), MorphOS 3.8 (PowerMac G4 733MHz Radeon 9000), AROS (x86), A1200 (060 80MHz Indivision MK2), A500, A600, CDTV
Wings Remastered Development Diary

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDARK 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 14:42:43
#11 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 28-Mar-2007
Posts: 485
From: South France



EDIT :
@Kiero & Daytona675x :
Using your param, I get totally white screen ...

Last edited by AmiDARK on 09-Apr-2011 at 02:49 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Karlos 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 15:10:58
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 24-Aug-2003
Posts: 2020
From: As-sassin-aaate! As-sassin-aaate! Ooh! We forgot the ammunition!

@AmiDARK

For the plasma effect, if you make the textures solid colour and move the "brightness" into the alpha channel, how does it look with additive+alpha blending?

_________________
IBrowse/AWeb user? amiga.org - classic browser edition

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Daytona675x 
Re: glBlendEquation exist ?
Posted on 9-Apr-2011 15:54:19
#13 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 5-Jan-2011
Posts: 491
From: Germany

@AmiDARK
Quote:
Using your param, I get totally white screen ...

That may have many reasons. Without further knowledge and/or a complete code listing we can only speculate. It may be one of those, for example:

- are you not clearing the screen? If not it will all sum up to white pretty fast.

- what are you adding together? A fully red, green and blue texture? That turns out to be white then.

- your textures are invalid, therefore GL uses the default texture.

- you did not enable texturing and glColor is white or grey.

etc. etc. etc.

Last edited by Daytona675x on 09-Apr-2011 at 03:54 PM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FE (sam460ex Radeon 9200 / RadeonHD), MorphOS 3.8 (PowerMac G4 733MHz Radeon 9000), AROS (x86), A1200 (060 80MHz Indivision MK2), A500, A600, CDTV
Wings Remastered Development Diary

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle