Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5753 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
31 crawler(s) on-line.
 22 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 towo2099

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 towo2099:  4 mins ago
 MEGA_RJ_MICAL:  9 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  12 mins ago
 LarsB:  13 mins ago
 K-L:  22 mins ago
 MichaelMerkel:  46 mins ago
 megol:  46 mins ago
 DiskDoctor:  57 mins ago
 BigD:  1 hr 16 mins ago
 matthey:  1 hr 16 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Software
      /  Star Trek Database
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )
PosterThread
Severin 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 13:26:49
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@1Mouse

What about ogg?

Although if I was doing it I'd probably have the sounds external and make up sound packs so the user could download the samples as 8svx, aiff, mp3, ogg, wav for example, then let the user decide what to use depending on their system specs and available datatypes.

Last edited by Severin on 17-Apr-2016 at 01:28 PM.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 16:54:56
#42 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Severin

Not sure how, if possible, I would go about doing an audio pack in Designer.

And OGG not an option, Designer doesn't seem to support it, as far as I know.

Just a quick side question: Have you tried the other three pieces of my Star Trek database, Characters, Schematics and Rooms to see if you get the same error.

@all

To those who it works for please give other feed back so I can work on that too while I work out the audio issue.

Thanks for any help anyone can give.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
marko 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 17:08:25
#43 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2007
Posts: 1805
From: Gothenburg, THE front side of Sweden ;), (via Finland), EU

@1Mouse

I don't think WAV is the problem, WAV format as audio format should be ok...

Have you checked that the sound files are included when you are distributing the file.

Please check following...

Where are the sound files located?

The error message is referring to a row number, what does the source code say at this row? (not sure if you see this in Designer)

Is it trying to open a sound file or play a sound, from where, a path, how, do others have these sound/files?


Hope you find the issue

Last edited by marko on 17-Apr-2016 at 05:13 PM.

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1 on Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM
C128, A500+, A1200, A1200/40, AmigaForever 2008+09+16, 5 x86/x64 boxes
Still waiting (or dreaming) for the Amiga revolution...
m4rko.com/AMIGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 18:17:29
#44 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@marko

Hi,

When compiling in Designer a requester opens showing all the files that are linked to the finished software.

It lists all the image files and all the sound files WAV and MP3.

Once compiled the software works perfectly fine on my MorphOS machine.

I'm at a loss to what the issue could be.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 18:43:19
#45 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Drako

I've just tried uploading: ST Ships_MorphOS.

Hope it's visible at some point, not sure if I've uploaded it correctly.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 22:28:03
#46 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@1Mouse

I get the same problem with all 4 programs. Are you specifying anything for AHI eg. music unit or unit 0 to 3 or is that all left to designer?

I'm beginning to suspect designer or hollywood doesn't support AHI HDAudio which is 32bit 7.1 upto 192Khz not 16bit stereo upto 96Khz like the other drivers.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 22:33:12
#47 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@Severin

I think AHI is sorted by Designer

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
marko 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 23:26:55
#48 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2007
Posts: 1805
From: Gothenburg, THE front side of Sweden ;), (via Finland), EU

@1Mouse

Ok, I see... Hmm, strange indeed...

I get the same problem as Severin with all 4 programs. They all start and you can click some stuff, until it tries to play some sound, then the error message pops up and the program exits.

Hmm, wonder if it could be a bug in Designer? Have you checked with Andreas over at
hollywood forums: http://forums.hollywood-mal.com/viewforum.php?f=5&sid=11efea719937a9f206467f059e79f979

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1 on Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM
C128, A500+, A1200, A1200/40, AmigaForever 2008+09+16, 5 x86/x64 boxes
Still waiting (or dreaming) for the Amiga revolution...
m4rko.com/AMIGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
marko 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 17-Apr-2016 23:40:58
#49 ]
Super Member
Joined: 17-Dec-2007
Posts: 1805
From: Gothenburg, THE front side of Sweden ;), (via Finland), EU

@1Mouse

You can also try to isolate the problem, for ex:

1. Make a small test program that pops up a requester and when you press OK the program tries to play a WAV file (from the Star Trek Database).

2. Then, compile it for different platforms.

3. Put the files on a server or public place, or you can email them.

4. If you post links here, people could test them for you, and see if they work...

_________________
AmigaOS 4.1 FEu1 on Sam440ep-flex 800MHz 1GB RAM
C128, A500+, A1200, A1200/40, AmigaForever 2008+09+16, 5 x86/x64 boxes
Still waiting (or dreaming) for the Amiga revolution...
m4rko.com/AMIGA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 18-Apr-2016 0:45:23
#50 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@marko

Quote:
I get the same problem as Severin with all 4 programs. They all start and you can click some stuff, until it tries to play some sound, then the error message pops up and the program exits.


I don't even get that, the window opens and is totally black, then it closes and the error requester pops up.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 18-Apr-2016 19:26:06
#51 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1661
From: Here

@1Mouse

The only improvement I would like to see is to have all the databases accessed from one menu.
Other than that, I'd say this is pretty much spot on.
You could add small video clips but I suspect there might be copyright issues that prevent that.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 18-Apr-2016 21:45:41
#52 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@TiredofLife

Have you tried the other three pieces of the database, if so my long term that is to have an intro that would allow you to choose which part of the database you wish to access.

Food, Tech Schematics, Ships, Characters etc these would all be accessible from the title screen.

Do you have any idea why it works on your system and not Severins?

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 19-Apr-2016 8:42:30
#53 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1661
From: Here

@1Mouse

Yeah i have them all downloaded and running fine.
I've no idea why it doesn't work for Severin.

I'll have a little play with my system tonight and see if I can work it out.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 19-Apr-2016 19:33:22
#54 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1661
From: Here

@TiredofLife

Reproduced the error.
Some of the sound prefs in AHI can trigger the error.

If I select Envy24HT, I get an error.
If I select Unit, I dont.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 19-Apr-2016 19:46:45
#55 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@TiredofLife

Thanks greatly. Do you think that would be the case for all OS4.x machines?


@Severin

Could you give TireofLife prefs?

Last edited by 1Mouse on 19-Apr-2016 at 07:47 PM.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 19-Apr-2016 23:00:11
#56 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1661
From: Here

@1Mouse

I'm using a Sam460, don't know if the issue is restricted to that or not.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 19-Apr-2016 23:56:58
#57 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2740
From: Gloucestershire UK

@1Mouse

Quote:
Could you give TireofLife prefs?


Not really, My AHI prefs is set for hdaudio which is X1000 only.

Envy24 and hdaudio are the two newest ahi drivers and I suspect are not supported by designer. I suggest you inquire on the hollywood forum or you could try reading the source to see what it's actually doing when you try to play a sample, eg. it cound be trying to use music unit instead of specifying a mode or maybe the audio: device etc.

Another thing to try is make up a small test program just to play a sample and look at the source for that, or send it to me to look through, I don't have designer so the little bit of hollywood coding I've done was by hand so know my way round enough to work out what it's doing.

Last edited by Severin on 20-Apr-2016 at 01:07 PM.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 20-Apr-2016 8:40:45
#58 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1661
From: Here

@Severin

I'd say your right, it does use Music Unit.
I can't change from Envy24 to Unit in anything but Music Unit.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
1Mouse 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 20-Apr-2016 19:45:14
#59 ]
Super Member
Joined: 23-Jun-2005
Posts: 1337
From: Bradford, West Yorkshire

@TiredofLife

I've posted on the Designer forum http://forums.hollywood-mal.com/viewforum.php?f=14 asking for information about issues with varying audio drivers.

The Designer forum isn't frequented often so could be some time before there is a response, so I will just continue to work on it as it stands.

I will continue to upload newer versions as I update the database so OS4 people that use Music Unit can use it, I will, hopefully, be able to rectify this and as soon as I can I will let everyone know that it is OS4.x compatible across the board.

This is a most annoying issue and one which I never imagined would turn up in todays Amiga, I always though OS4.x meant OS4.x across all flavours, Sam440, Sam460, X1000, X5000 etc.

_________________
1 AmigaOne G4XE (OS4 Pre-Release Update4)
Minimig
Sam440ep + OS4.1FE
Sam460cr + OS4.1FE

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
TiredofLife 
Re: Star Trek Database
Posted on 20-Apr-2016 19:59:02
#60 ]
Super Member
Joined: 6-Jul-2005
Posts: 1661
From: Here

@1Mouse

Audio isn't as well supported as it could be.
There are limitations to what I can do with Sam460 and Envy24 compared to the Sam440EP and on board sound I used previously.

Cheers

_________________
If your nose runs and your feet smell, you're upside down.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle