Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5826 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
44 crawler(s) on-line.
 19 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 drHirudo:  22 mins ago
 noXLar:  1 hr 1 min ago
 nikosidis:  1 hr 12 mins ago
 amisteph:  1 hr 18 mins ago
 Hexaae:  1 hr 20 mins ago
 m0lebrain:  1 hr 38 mins ago
 cierravega:  2 hrs 26 mins ago
 klapdeur:  3 hrs 5 mins ago
 kolla:  3 hrs 37 mins ago
 Fl@sh:  3 hrs 38 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  My recent classic hardware adventure
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )
PosterThread
A1200 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 4-Aug-2020 1:59:35
#41 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3014
From: Westhall, UK

Another nice A1200 .

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 4-Aug-2020 2:00:52
#42 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3014
From: Westhall, UK

@arthoropod

Quote:

arthoropod wrote:
@A1200

And to think I didn't look because I'm in the US. Doesn't it require a different PSU to work over here?


Yes you would need a US PSU but I have sold Amigas to USA/Canada etc. I guess if people like PAL machines getting a PSU new or old is a simple matter.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 4-Aug-2020 2:02:03
#43 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3014
From: Westhall, UK

@arthoropod

Quote:

arthoropod wrote:
@A1200

Quote:
the Blizzard 1220/4 is the best combination of value, compatibility and performance you can get for the A1200 IMO.


But you're using a 1230, go figure.


I have used ram cards, 030s, 060 etc. You shouldn't listen to me I am full of shit, I change my accelerators like I change my underwear.

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
arthoropod 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 4-Aug-2020 4:34:35
#44 ]
Member
Joined: 14-Feb-2018
Posts: 80
From: Gotham

@A1200

Quote:
I have used ram cards, 030s, 060 etc. I change my accelerators like I change my underwear.


Understandable, I have a soft spot for fast '030 accelerators. Compatible, and while not as fast as an '060, do you really need the '060 for most Amiga applications?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 15-Aug-2020 6:43:28
#45 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4029
From: Australia

@arthoropod

Quote:

arthoropod wrote:
@Hammer

Quote:
My Amiga 3000 was traded for a classic Pentium 150Mhz PC in 1996.


Regret that much?

No, Amiga 3000's ECS graphics was obsolete. My Amiga 3000 revision included KS 2.04 ROM.

After watching Dave Haynie's statement on AGA (aka AA) being completed in Feb 1991 and Commodore management delaying action, I wouldn't have sold my Amiga 3000 with AGA.

I notice Amiga 1200's footprint is smaller than the Amiga 500.

Last edited by Hammer on 15-Aug-2020 at 06:57 AM.

_________________
Intel Core i9-9900K, DDR4-3800 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 EVO
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D4, KS 3.X, 882 40Mhz, 10MB RAM), .
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.1.4, 68K 50Mhz , 12MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 24-Aug-2020 5:07:00
#46 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4029
From: Australia

@A1200

My Amiga 1200 now has
1. 8MB Fast memory+FPU expansion card.
2. SD card to IDE.
3. Gotek drive.
4. Amiga Forever Kickstart 3.X EEPROM.
5. RGB-to-Scart-to-HDMI-DVI connected to Philips 170P LCD (1280x1024) 17 inch (recycled from my old PC).

I'm slowly building up my Amiga setup. I'm looking at Vampire v2.

Last edited by Hammer on 26-Aug-2020 at 05:35 AM.

_________________
Intel Core i9-9900K, DDR4-3800 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 EVO
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D4, KS 3.X, 882 40Mhz, 10MB RAM), .
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.1.4, 68K 50Mhz , 12MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
A1200 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 25-Aug-2020 13:50:48
#47 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 5-May-2003
Posts: 3014
From: Westhall, UK

@Hammer

Nice!

_________________
Amiga A1200, 3.1 ROMs, Blizzard 1230 MKIV 64MB & FPU, 4GB DoM SSD, Workbench 3.1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 3-Sep-2020 4:21:25
#48 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4029
From: Australia

@A1200

For LOL, I purchased $5 MC68010 for my Amiga 500.


The story
Back in the early 1990s, my school friend has broken A1000 (expanded) and A500 (Rev 5, KS 1.2, split RAM config) and He brought over to see IF I could fix it. A1000 was an easy fix by cleaning the chip's contacts and push the chips back in. A500's status remains unresolved. I offered to return A500 Rev5 back to my school friend but rejected it since He still has a working Amiga 1000.
A500 Rev5 was sent to storage.

Meanwhile, I traded my A500 (rev 6, KS1.3 1MB chip ram) for a secondhand A3000/030/882 KS 2.04 ROM variant. A3000 was later traded for Pentium 150 in 1996.

In mid-2020, I accidentally won an eBay bid when the highest bidder backed out from "broken for parts" A1200 when the seller didn't know A1200's disk drive clicking noise was normal, hence A1200 was purchased substantially lower than eBay's current A1200 price.

While A1200 is being delivered from UK to Australia, I tinkered with" broken" A500 Rev 5 and purchased a cheap secondhand PSU which shown A500 itself wasn't broken.

I purchased a recapped Rev 6 A500 motherboard+KS1.3 ROM to replace Rev 5 motherboard in the A500. I didn't expect the German shop to include free 68000. I purchased 1MB ESC Agnus for Rev 6A. This restored my old A500 (rev 6, KS1.3 1MB chip ram) config from 1989.


When the A1200 arrive at my house, I found A1200 was working as expected and it's in near-mint condition e.g. no yellowing. I started purchasing extra components for A1200 e.g. SD-to-IDE, AmigaForever Kickstart 3.X EEPROM, Amikit's 8MB fast RAM + 40Mhz 68882 FPU card. Amiga RGB-to-Scart cable, Scart RGB-to-HDMI converter box. From storage, I recycled my Philips 170P LCD (with DVI connector) and HDMI-to-DVI adapter (from PC GPU card). Signed up for Vampire V2.

I liked A1200's smaller footprint when compared to A500.

That's my return to the Amiga hardware story.



Last edited by Hammer on 03-Sep-2020 at 04:34 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 03-Sep-2020 at 04:32 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 03-Sep-2020 at 04:28 AM.
Last edited by Hammer on 03-Sep-2020 at 04:24 AM.

_________________
Intel Core i9-9900K, DDR4-3800 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 EVO
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D4, KS 3.X, 882 40Mhz, 10MB RAM), .
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.1.4, 68K 50Mhz , 12MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hammer 
Re: My recent classic hardware adventure
Posted on 15-Sep-2020 16:38:34
#49 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Mar-2003
Posts: 4029
From: Australia

@A1200

My A1200 is being re-capped while A500 has Wicher 508i with 68000 at 50Mhz overclocked, 12 MB RAM and IDE CF card. The vendor has provided CPU for free. I have a few 68000FN20 and 68010FN25 spare chips.

When removing Wicher 508i for 1MB chip mod, I accidentally snapped off two pins from Wicher 508i's bottom CPU interface. I soldered the new pins. Wicher 508i's bottom 68000 CPU interface pins are delicate.

I purchased Hyperion's AmigaOS 3.1.4 package for both of my A1200 and A500.

Last edited by Hammer on 15-Sep-2020 at 04:39 PM.

_________________
Intel Core i9-9900K, DDR4-3800 32 GB RAM, MSI GeForce RTX 2080 Ti
AMD Ryzen 9 3900X, DDR4-3200 32 GB RAM, ASUS GeForce RTX 2080 EVO
Amiga 1200 (Rev 1D4, KS 3.X, 882 40Mhz, 10MB RAM), .
Amiga 500 (Rev 6A, KS 3.1.4, 68K 50Mhz , 12MB RAM)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle