Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5789 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

(Uses JAVA Applet and Port 1024)
Visit the Chatroom Website

Who's Online
 61 guest(s) on-line.
 2 member(s) on-line.


 -Sam-,  OlafS25

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OlafS25:  1 min ago
 -Sam-:  1 min ago
 pgf_666:  10 mins ago
 Frank:  10 mins ago
 vox:  11 mins ago
 clint:  17 mins ago
 BigD:  23 mins ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  25 mins ago
 broadblues:  26 mins ago
 thomas:  33 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga PPC Linux
      /  Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Register To Post

Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )
PosterThread
Hypex 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 27-Feb-2018 14:16:29
#61 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9281
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Geri

Quote:
The only thing I wonder a little bit is what causes this "unknown partition table" message.


I wonder if this is similar to the unknown partition label error in the installer. That is there is an RDSK on there. But it doesn't know what RDSK is. It may expect an APM.

Quote:
Yeah, it's better to disable the cdrom entries after the installation, if an internet connection is available anyway.


I thought I had but it just wouldn't let it go. I must have apt-get updated four times as well as in the package manager. It also complains about the SF A1 entries but not all the time. It should be logged here somewhere. Something about a size mismatch.

Quote:
Did you hardcode all this libata.force kernel parameters?


I did! I can remove them. It must have come out from some discussion we had. I ended up with a list. Some ended up on the boot args from the default slb config. Others for module settings.

Last edited by Hypex on 28-Feb-2018 at 01:11 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jgideon 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 27-Feb-2018 19:07:19
#62 ]
New Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2011
Posts: 5
From: Unknown

@Geri
Quote:
journalctl -x couldn't find any journal files, the output of dmesg is as follows;

That's strange. Did you try it as root user?
[/quote]

Sorry - I ran it again as root & pastebinned the output at https://pastebin.com/hMhmNfMK

Quote:

The only thing I wonder a little bit is what causes this "unknown partition table" message.


I hadn't configured any partitions on the SSD drive. This message went away after I added an SFS partition.

I've tried removing the SSD completely but still get the delay. I'll try without the DVD/RW and the pci card next - I've had Woody/Lenny/Squeeze installs running on this setup in the past.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 14-Jun-2018 8:53:11
#63 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9281
From: Greensborough, Australia

Some news. A net installer is now available. It also includes a fix for the issue where the boot args weren't copied to installed system.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 17-Jun-2018 14:54:46
#64 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9281
From: Greensborough, Australia

Even more news! This one is pretty big. A USB booter! Details on front page.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Thematic 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 18-Jun-2018 19:29:15
#65 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-Oct-2003
Posts: 1614
From: I'm actually flying into a bug!

@Hypex

That's plain bootiful.

_________________
: AmigaOneXE (unmod.) 750FX/512 MB +stuff & AmigaOS 4.(0|1)
: A1200/68060&96MB/SCSI/EM1200-Voodoo3 & OS 3.5
: A500/1MB
: Pegasos (ff) 512 MB & MorphOS
Praise seitan.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 19-Jun-2018 15:04:14
#66 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9281
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Thematic

Ha. Nice one.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 21-Jul-2018 20:27:08
#67 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1188
From: N-Space

@Hypex

What's the situation with Debian Stretch on AmigaOne? Is there a "showstopper," or is it just a tremendous amount of work that would need to be done?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Barana 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 22-Jul-2018 5:33:27
#68 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 1-Sep-2003
Posts: 817
From: Straya!

@Hypex



Jessie is far to weird for me.

monolithic Kernals are just to much for me.

_________________
Never underestimate the bandwidth of a station wagon full of tapes hurtling down the highway.

I serve King Jesus.
What/who do you serve?

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 19-Oct-2018 12:03:11
#69 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9281
From: Greensborough, Australia

@bison

It's not a showstopper. The bulk of the work was getting the installer up to the state I wanted it to be with the boot checks and auto install of kernel and menu. To update it I can use some skeleton code and just need to update a few things in the installer, like all the files, from Stretch. I don't know, but the Jessie install should be upgradable to Stretch if the kernel supports it. The problem now is, that my A1 is currently out of service, so I can't test it directly.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Debian Jessie's Girl - Why can't my AmigaOne have a Linux like that?
Posted on 19-Oct-2018 12:06:21
#70 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9281
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Barana

Looks like Jessie's girl had a Jessie's girl.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( Previous Page 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright 2000 - 2017 Amigaworld.net.

Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle