Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5630 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel

Who's Online
60 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 Lou

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Lou:  54 secs ago
 TrevorDick:  7 mins ago
 number6:  14 mins ago
 amigakit:  18 mins ago
 Nonefornow:  19 mins ago
 Hammer:  19 mins ago
 gregthecanuck:  22 mins ago
 TRIPOS:  31 mins ago
 SnkBitten:  31 mins ago
 Trekiej:  50 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4.x \ Workbench 4.x
      /  My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
newlight 
My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 4-Dec-2018 19:08:08
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

Hi

I have problems with my mobile phone to be recognized by my AmigaOS 4.1

Does anybody know if and when we will get new drivers for mobile phones?

Thank you

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 4-Dec-2018 22:06:16
# ]

0
0

@newlight

Which phone?
Which OS?
Can you set your phone to "PTP", "Mass Storrage" or at least "data" in the USB settings?

I have an Android based phone here, rather new and it is only recognized, when i set USB to "Transfer image files" none other will work (except charging), but that is only available in the phone once it is connected.

 
     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 13:41:34
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9516
From: Greensborough, Australia

@newlight

Your phone likely uses MTP for file transfer. When will we see support? When someone writes an MTP driver if source exists.

In the meantime I was going to suggest Airdroid but it's not working anymore.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 17:20:42
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Raziel

I tested 1 Huawei and 1 LG.The first from my mother and the second from my father.Both have Android I think.

And mine tested before with the same error.It is new and it has Android

How may I setup "PTP","Mass Storage" or "data" on the USB settings? Can they work any with these?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 18:09:00
# ]

0
0

@newlight

As i wrote above, plug in the phone, wait for the USB options to come up (in the phone), you may swipe the top bar down to get to the options, then set it to "image transfer", or PTP (Picture Transfer Protocol).

If that works an USB message window should pop up (on the amiga) telling you that it's "scanning the phone" which may take a while depending on the amount of pictures on the phone.

iirc mass storage and data won't work on the amiga due to missing drivers (so scrap tha comment of mine)

 
     Report this post  
serk118 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 18:19:54
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 25-Nov-2004
Posts: 681
From: London(uk)

@newlight
https://github.com/libmtp/libmtp?files=1

_________________
http://aros-exec.org/

http://serk118.blogspot.com/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 18:24:42
#7 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@serk118

It doesn't doenload me any file

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 20:16:18
# ]

0
0

@newlight

It's the source, you'll have to compile it yourself but it will probably not run out of the box.

 
     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 5-Dec-2018 23:23:36
#9 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Raziel

In case I want to compile stuff for my mobile (and other users)

How can I compile it?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kolla 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 6-Dec-2018 8:14:14
#10 ]
Super Member
Joined: 21-Aug-2003
Posts: 1173
From: Trondheim, Norway

Isn't it much easier to use some "cloud storage" available to both phone and Amiga? Isn't there software for android that lets it be mountable using SMB over LAN?

_________________
B5D6A1D019D5D45BCC56F4782AC220D8B3E2A6CC

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
jPV 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 6-Dec-2018 10:13:56
#11 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 11-Apr-2005
Posts: 657
From: .fi

Quote:

Hypex wrote:
@newlight

Your phone likely uses MTP for file transfer. When will we see support? When someone writes an MTP driver if source exists.


Hmm... I get my Android 7.0 phone mounted on Poseidon (MorphOS) with the PTP driver although it looks to use MTP at the phone end. In any case I can see both my interal storage and extenal SD card on the mounted device and can access all kinds of files, not just pictures...

From the Poseidon log:
0-ptp.class: This might be an MTP device, we will look in detail.
0-ptp.class: Trying to use this MTP device with the PTP driver.

Soo.. should OS4's PTP driver work also? Are the protocols compatible? Or are there some extensions in Poseidon ptp class?


Quote:

kolla wrote:
Isn't it much easier to use some "cloud storage" available to both phone and Amiga? Isn't there software for android that lets it be mountable using SMB over LAN?

Or just use SD card in the phone and use that with a card reader to move files around...

Last edited by jPV on 06-Dec-2018 at 10:16 AM.
Last edited by jPV on 06-Dec-2018 at 10:14 AM.

_________________
- The wiki based MorphOS Library - Your starting point for MorphOS
- Software made by jPV^RNO

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Anonymous 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 6-Dec-2018 13:40:59
# ]

0
0

@jPV

I've got an Android 7.0 as well.
There is something not supported (and not well behaving either) in the AmigaOS4 driver, or so it seems.

If i plug in the phone for the first time, i get a message window on the phone asking:
Allow access to phone data
if i deny that, it sets the USB connection to "Charge", no access possible.

If i allow it, it sets the access to "Transfer files" and the PTP (AmigaOS4) window comes up "Scanning camera..."
Exactly that doesn't work, it is "Scanning camera..." forever.
There won't be the main PTP window, any pictures or any access, it just sits there forever waiting for something (from the phone presumably).

I need to swipe down to reach the USB settings, set those to "Transfer images"
and THEN it works, but ONLY accessing the images AND ONLY after unplugging/replugging.

I HAVE to set it to charge FIRST and THEN set it to "Transfer images", otherwise it won't work:
E: [14:31:09] ptp.usbfd | DevAbortIO | Bad EndPoint ptr in IO req (0x00000000)
I've got on error in the USB log, probably due to the aborted "Scanning camera..." from the "Transfer files" mode, that error never appears when i switch modes otherwise.

It will also NOT work, if i have set it to "Transfer files" ONCE.
There is no way to get to the images then.

I HAVE to unplug the phone, replug it, "deny access", swipe down, set USB to "Transfer images" and ONLY THEN will it work.

Last edited by Raziel on 06-Dec-2018 at 01:43 PM.

 
     Report this post  
Deniil715 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 6-Dec-2018 14:17:34
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 14-May-2003
Posts: 4177
From: Sweden

@newlight

Try Google: drive and sync images from the net instead.

This works, to some extent. Usually doesn't list all files, only a few. but if I sync often (like once a month or so) I can get everything. By syncing I mean copy

_________________
- Don't get fooled by my avatar, I'm not like that (anymore, mostly... maybe only sometimes)
> Amiga Classic and OS4 developer for OnyxSoft.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 6-Dec-2018 15:08:54
#14 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@Deniil715

How? Having my mobile connected to the AmigaOne X5000 google list all files?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Pleng 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 7-Dec-2018 5:19:37
#15 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 17-Nov-2005
Posts: 454
From: Unknown

@kolla

Quote:

Isn't it much easier to use some "cloud storage" available to both phone and Amiga? Isn't there software for android that lets it be mountable using SMB over LAN?


SMB can be tricky, but for all my transfer needs with any platform I use FTP Server (Pro) by The Olive Tree on my Android devices. I'm sure there's many other apps out there that achieve the same thing, but that's the one I've always used and have had no reason to change it.

It saves messing about with having to use the horrifically broken MTP protocols, or having to dismount cards from the Android OS when transferring using USB Mass Storage (which most phones don\t even seem to support now, anyway)

Last edited by Pleng on 07-Dec-2018 at 05:20 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
BCP 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 8-Dec-2018 21:31:20
#16 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-Mar-2003
Posts: 184
From: Indianapolis, IN USA

@newlight

I'm supprised that no one has mentioned that AmigaKit's Enhancer Pack has a working PTP USB Driver that replaces the one from Hyperion which I could never get to work. I've tested the Enhancer Pack one with an IPhone SE & a Samsung tablet - it works with both.

_________________
- BCP
AmigaOne X1000 & Amiga 4000

Amiga Response Crew Users Group
Indianapolis, IN USA

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dan.hutch 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 9-Dec-2018 8:13:17
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 507
From: United Kingdom

@newlight

I discovered the A-EON Enhancer PTP support not long ago by accident, plugged in phone to charge off the USB. Seems to work fine although I don't see any previews just empty frames (looks like there should be). Also lets me download the MP3 files from the phone (HTC Android).

You could use Google Drive, if you use Google Photos your phone is probably syncing all the photos to Google Drive in the background already. There is an AmigaOS handler for Google Drive (link below).

Others have suggested FTP, I set up a 'shared' drawer on the AmigaONE using A-FTPServer and can copy files to this using an FTP client or file manager with FTP support on the Android side. Read the A-FTPServer docs for recommendations.

Amiga Cloud Handlers:
http://os4depot.net/share/network/misc/amigacloudhandlers.lha

A-FTP Server:
http://os4depot.net/share/network/server/ftp/a-ftp_server.lha

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 9-Dec-2018 11:56:12
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@BCP

I don't know which Enhancer is; Is it the original sent by in my case by Amedia France or is it something newer?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
newlight 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 9-Dec-2018 12:12:41
#19 ]
Super Member
Joined: 10-Sep-2007
Posts: 1723
From: Somewhere in Spain

@dan.hutch

I downloaded the 2 programs you advice me here.The A-FTP I can run it without program without any problem.

And the amigacloudhandlers I don't know how to run it.

Can anybody help me please?

_________________
AMIGA 500 1.5 MB ACA500/ACA1232 accelerators
AMIGA 500 German
CD32 unexpanded
Amiga 1200 Tower on AmigaKit since years
AMIGA 1300 030/50 Mhz/32 MB WB 3.9 with lots of games&demos
AMIGA ONE XE G3 PPC 800 Mhz/1 GB RAM/RADEON 9250 128 MB/SATA CONTROLLER

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
dan.hutch 
Re: My mobile phone isn't recognized under OS4.1
Posted on 9-Dec-2018 12:48:21
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Dec-2004
Posts: 507
From: United Kingdom

@newlight

For cloud handlers, the idea is it mounts Google Drive as a device on Workbench.

I found I needed a new link from the author to get an authorisation code from Google to allow the handler to work. Follow the included readme carefully to setup and email author for a fresh link, the one included no longer works. He sent me a new one which worked but I have yet to get round to finishing the setup.

The cloud handler package should allow read only access to Google Drive and if you register you get write access as well.

Last edited by dan.hutch on 09-Dec-2018 at 12:49 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle