Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5640 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
44 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 NutsAboutAmiga,  K-L,  Hammer

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 Hammer:  6 secs ago
 K-L:  11 secs ago
 NutsAboutAmiga:  2 mins ago
 ppcamiga1:  24 mins ago
 MikeB:  45 mins ago
 emeck:  54 mins ago
 Kronos:  1 hr 3 mins ago
 broadblues:  1 hr 13 mins ago
 SimplePPC:  1 hr 21 mins ago
 Zylesea:  1 hr 39 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  scsi.device large hard drives
Register To Post

PosterThread
scuzz 
scsi.device large hard drives
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 12:56:25
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-May-2004
Posts: 341
From: New Forest United Kingdom

Hi

Sorry for being utterly thick here, but I have read so much these last two days about patching the A1200 scsi.device and installing a new file system so I can access bigger hard drives but I cannot for the life of me find a clear guide on the simple aspect of patching the scsi.device.

What I need is a link to where I can get the components that let me patch the device.

Plus a guide on how to patch the scsi.device for use with IDEFix97 on a 3.1 ROM Amiga 1200. I have read the guide by Thomas but that kinda drifts off and start to talk about cheap options and OS3.5 and OS3.9 and then linking to an scsi.device and FastFileSystem. It doesn't make it clear whether this applies to IDEFix. The paragraph about IDEFix just ends.

What I need to know is how do I get scsi.device patched to use IDEFix97. What do I do to get this software to see bigger hard drives. Or if I even need to patch the device at all.

Hope that makes sense.

scuzz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: scsi.device large hard drives
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 13:15:25
#2 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1114
From: Germany

@scuzz

IDEfix is a patch for scsi.device. The latest version (IDEfix97) gives you access to large hard drives up to 128GB. If you want more, you need to stop using IDEfix.

As mentioned in the guide, the fix for the 4GB limit needs two components: an updated scsi.device and a matching file system. Fortunately IDEfix supports all three alternatives, TD64, NSD and SCSI, so you can freely choose from FFS V43+, SFS or PFS3. Only the default FFS V40 or below must not be used.

Note that large partitions might also need large amounts or RAM, as do many partitions.

My recommendation in a low-memory-large-harddrive scenario would be PFS3.


Last edited by thomas on 19-Jul-2019 at 01:22 PM.
Last edited by thomas on 19-Jul-2019 at 01:21 PM.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scuzz 
Re: scsi.device large hard drives
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 15:19:14
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-May-2004
Posts: 341
From: New Forest United Kingdom

@thomas

Hi Thomas

Thanks for the swift reply. I have studied your guide in great depth and find it incredibly infomative and useful. Also all the links are just magic. Just that I had gotten quite excited about patching the scsi.device but couldn't find a link other than lower down where you talk about the cheap option.

IDEFix97 comes with FFSTD64 which states is incompatible with all CBM SCSI devices. So I was kinda thinking that IDEFix must be patching the scsi.device for it to work in some way. Just wasn't clear.

Sounds like I just need to use that plus the software.

One point that puzzles me and that is the first 4GB of a drive which I assume is pretty safe to use with the current scsi.device. My thought is if I have this 40GB drive but only partition the first 4GB in say two 2GB volumes and then simply left the remainder of the drive empty, is it possible to use a drive like that as the bytes outside of the 34 bit numbering limit will never be accessed. Saves me all the trouble. Just that you cannot get 4GB drives for the Amiga anymore... or getting rare anyway. I can pick up 40GB drives for a fiver.

scuzz

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
thomas 
Re: scsi.device large hard drives
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 16:28:32
#4 ]
Super Member
Joined: 28-May-2003
Posts: 1114
From: Germany

@scuzz

Quote:
IDEFix97 comes with FFSTD64 which states is incompatible with all CBM SCSI devices.


I think you misread this section of the readme. It says that the TD_GETGEOMETRY function is disabled for the Commodore SCSI devices. This means you cannot use removable media (e.g. ZIP drives) with it. But you can still use it for partitions on harddrives.


Quote:
One point that puzzles me and that is the first 4GB of a drive which I assume is pretty safe to use with the current scsi.device. My thought is if I have this 40GB drive but only partition the first 4GB in say two 2GB volumes and then simply left the remainder of the drive empty, is it possible to use a drive like that as the bytes outside of the 34 bit numbering limit will never be accessed.


That's perfectly possible if you can live with wasting 36 GB of storage.


Quote:
Just that you cannot get 4GB drives for the Amiga anymore... or getting rare anyway.


People tend to use CF cards in CF-IDE adapters instead. Or Disk-On-Module (DOM) drives.

_________________
Email: thomas-rapp@web.de
Home: thomas-rapp.homepage.t-online.de

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
scuzz 
Re: scsi.device large hard drives
Posted on 19-Jul-2019 17:37:35
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 30-May-2004
Posts: 341
From: New Forest United Kingdom

@thomas

Thanks for the reply. I just need the sound of a hard drive and the floppy click when I am on the machine. I get so many signals and so on from the activity. Amiga files are not very big. My first Amiga hard drive was 80MB then 350MB and then 550MB and I still get by easily with a 1GB drive no problem. Not interested in games you see.

Thanks. I have been working on the new config with the 4GB limit and seems to be working fine.

scuzz

Last edited by scuzz on 19-Jul-2019 at 05:37 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle