Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5639 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
40 crawler(s) on-line.
 6 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 eliyahu

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 eliyahu:  2 mins ago
 Trekiej:  5 mins ago
 ggw:  6 mins ago
 Dragster:  1 hr ago
 Zylesea:  1 hr 58 mins ago
 K-L:  2 hrs 16 mins ago
 asymetrix:  2 hrs 20 mins ago
 Jasper:  2 hrs 32 mins ago
 prophet:  2 hrs 32 mins ago
 dalek:  2 hrs 48 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga Emulation
      /  E-UAE 1.0.0: copying files to hd causes a crash
Register To Post

PosterThread
Gregor 
E-UAE 1.0.0: copying files to hd causes a crash
Posted on 12-Aug-2019 8:34:24
#1 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 138
From: Unknown

Is it 'normal' that in E-UAE 1.0.0 copying files to HD volumes causes always a guru (either the filesystem or UAE itself crashes)? Have tested several file systems (SFS, FFS, NGFS), no difference. Tested also copying from WB, CLI and DiskMaster, no difference.

Copying files to Ram disk goes without problems. Also saving files from applications to HD volumes works ok!

I have configured my HDs in .uaerc in this way:

filesystem2=rw,dh2:SOFTA:Softa:,0

I am using E-UAE in X5000, with OS3.5 and KickStart 40.68. Is there any fix for this issue...?

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: E-UAE 1.0.0: copying files to hd causes a crash
Posted on 12-Aug-2019 17:50:06
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9541
From: Greensborough, Australia

@Gregor

Unfortunately it's normal. I've been putting up with it for years. To my knowledge it only affects the Amiga versions just to be a slap in the face. It's been there in the UAE core since I've used OS4 that I can remember. I've checked the source and tried to see where it is happening but haven't found it. I suspected it slighty abused the DOS API and tried to close a locked lock. But I haven't found where. A debug version would help.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: E-UAE 1.0.0: copying files to hd causes a crash
Posted on 12-Aug-2019 21:00:37
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 138
From: Unknown

Quote:
Hypex wrote:

Unfortunately it's normal. I've been putting up with it for years. To my knowledge it only affects the Amiga versions just to be a slap in the face. It's been there in the UAE core since I've used OS4 that I can remember. I've checked the source and tried to see where it is happening but haven't found it. I suspected it slighty abused the DOS API and tried to close a locked lock. But I haven't found where. A debug version would help.


Sad to to hear that... But thank you for informing me, so that I do not anymore waste my time for useless testing!

BTW, I gave a try to FS-UAE (under Fienix), and it did not have this copying problem. It is also much easier to configure, but unfortunately it is surprisingly slow compared to E-UAE, although in Linux both cores are in use.

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
smf 
Re: E-UAE 1.0.0: copying files to hd causes a crash
Posted on 13-Aug-2019 7:36:54
#4 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 15-Mar-2003
Posts: 274
From: Vxj, Sweden

@Gregor

It's very annoying!
One workaround is to use harddiskimages instead but it's not a perfect sollution.

1. It is SLOW, i have a quite maxed out os3.9 installation that takes MUCH longer to boot up from hdf.
2. the hdf can not be bigger than 2GB. salass00 did a fork of euae to fix that limitation but i'm unsure about how that is progressing. https://github.com/salass00/e-uae
3. It's easier to copy over files to a drawer in your filesystem from os4 than having to mess with hardfiles.

A few years ago i think i could use filesystem harddrives in e-uae when i was using small partitions but i might have dreamt it because when i prepared a small partition just for that earlier this year it would still just crash when copying files.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: E-UAE 1.0.0: copying files to hd causes a crash
Posted on 13-Aug-2019 19:11:14
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 138
From: Unknown

@smf Quote:
One workaround is to use harddiskimages instead but it's not a perfect sollution.

1. It is SLOW, i have a quite maxed out os3.9 installation that takes MUCH longer to boot up from hdf.
2. the hdf can not be bigger than 2GB. salass00 did a fork of euae to fix that limitation but i'm unsure about how that is progressing. https://github.com/salass00/e-uae
3. It's easier to copy over files to a drawer in your filesystem from os4 than having to mess with hardfiles.

A few years ago i think i could use filesystem harddrives in e-uae when i was using small partitions but i might have dreamt it because when i prepared a small partition just for that earlier this year it would still just crash when copying files.


Thanks for the tip! I tested a partitionable HD image (RDB), and it seems to work ok. I created the image with FS-UAE, and partitioned and formatted it (as pfs3) on OS4.1. It was a little bit tricky to get the RDB image mounted (had to use both MountDiskImage and Mounter from Cli), but fnally got it working. BTW, I put the HD image on a NTFS volume, so that it can also be used with Linux/FS-UAE.

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle