Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
48 crawler(s) on-line.
 18 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 _ThEcRoW

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 _ThEcRoW:  47 secs ago
 Hypex:  22 mins ago
 Samurai:  22 mins ago
 ekam:  23 mins ago
 BSzili:  29 mins ago
 Rob:  29 mins ago
 vox:  49 mins ago
 amipal:  56 mins ago
 kamelito:  1 hr 31 mins ago
 dreamlandfantasy:  1 hr 36 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Trekiej 
Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 15-Aug-2019 23:51:27
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

If I add a Z2 Ram Expansion to my A2000, how will it recognize that the board is present?
This would be with a 68000 installed.
edit:
With 8 meg and under I understand.
How about 16 meg or greater?

Last edited by Trekiej on 15-Aug-2019 at 11:55 PM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 16-Aug-2019 1:39:30
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

I guess this could be a little bit of a stupid question?

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Steady 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 16-Aug-2019 2:25:57
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Nov-2004
Posts: 173
From: Melbourne, OZ

@Trekiej

The 68000 only has a 16-Meg address space and of that, 8 Meg is reserved for ZII RAM, so anything greater than 8 Meg would not be available via ZII.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 16-Aug-2019 3:28:36
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Steady

Thanks, I was wondering about that.
A 32 bit processor would be needed, I bet.
I guess I would have to look to see what the memory maps look like between machines.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Steady 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 16-Aug-2019 5:55:01
#5 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Nov-2004
Posts: 173
From: Melbourne, OZ

@Trekiej

Yep, a 32-bit processor and that expansion would have to have the RAM on-board because there is no ZIII in an A2000. ZII is still restricted to the 8MB window and will not auto-config it, however if the expansion with the 32-bit CPU has a ROM it might detect and map the RAM itself.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 16-Aug-2019 14:26:33
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Steady

Hmm, one more interesting thing to learn about Z2/Z3.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 16-Aug-2019 14:29:32
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

UPS is bringing an A2000 to me today.
The battery leakage does not appear to be as bad as the first board I bought.
I am learning to repair traces on the old board.
I am not for sure how much items will need to removed before I get all the green removed.
Only 2 or 3 traces need to be fixed on the first board I bought.

Last edited by Trekiej on 16-Aug-2019 at 02:35 PM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 17-Aug-2019 1:10:32
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

The A2000 arrived today. It had a missing Kickstart.
At first I had a black mono screen when turned powered.
I removed the power supply sled and found out that the board had a missing KS.
I used my A500 1.3 Kickstart and it powered up without a problem.
It has a bad spot by the battery.
It is a rough looking machine, I believe she will be okay.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Steady 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 17-Aug-2019 10:19:18
#9 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 1-Nov-2004
Posts: 173
From: Melbourne, OZ

@Trekiej

Hope the machine works well for you. Enjoy!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 17-Aug-2019 17:37:30
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Steady

Thanks, I found out that the front face plate has two busted mounting pegs(?)
I need to find out if it is possible to weld plastic.

I put Vinegar on the battery leak area.
The area looks to be fairly isolated.


_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
NutsAboutAmiga 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 17-Aug-2019 18:16:19
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 9-Jun-2004
Posts: 11094
From: Norway

@Trekiej

Depends on plastic, some plastic reacts to nail polish remover.

_________________
Please check out my software:
Excalibur, Basilisk 2, AmigaInputAnywhere.
LiveForIt-Music
http://lifeofliveforit.blogspot.no/

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 17-Aug-2019 18:49:58
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@NutsAboutAmiga

I guess this is ABS plastic.
Similar to a hot glue gun, I wish I could put a small circular piece of plastic between the Face and Stand-off and heat is some way.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 19-Aug-2019 15:21:31
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9562
From: Greensborough, Australia

@NutsAboutAmiga

And some plastic reacts to turps. It starts to melt. Best to keep plastic away from the turps.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 19-Aug-2019 23:36:52
#14 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Hypex

I wonder how well a glue gun would work.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 20-Aug-2019 18:09:46
#15 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1372
From: N-Space

@Trekiej

Can you post a picture of the broken mounting pegs?

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 21-Aug-2019 4:14:08
#16 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@bison

https://trekie.weebly.com/blog/archives/08-2019

I uploaded some pics.

Last edited by Trekiej on 21-Aug-2019 at 04:51 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 21-Aug-2019 4:15:28
#17 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

https://www.flickr.com/photos/techman2007/48587985776/in/dateposted/

Last edited by Trekiej on 21-Aug-2019 at 05:11 AM.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bison 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 21-Aug-2019 4:59:43
#18 ]
Super Member
Joined: 18-Dec-2007
Posts: 1372
From: N-Space

@Trekiej

Try posting a link to the image on flickr instead of embedding the image inline.

Update:

The link works now, but it asks me to sign in, and I don't have an account...

Last edited by bison on 22-Aug-2019 at 04:04 PM.

_________________
"Unix is supposed to fix that." -- Jay Miner

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 23-Aug-2019 5:06:29
#19 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@bison

Sorry, let me check to see if they are made Public.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Amiga 2000 Ram Expansion
Posted on 23-Aug-2019 5:17:09
#20 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@bison

Please try again.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle