Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
46 crawler(s) on-line.
 16 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 _ThEcRoW

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 _ThEcRoW:  1 min ago
 Hypex:  20 mins ago
 Samurai:  20 mins ago
 ekam:  20 mins ago
 BSzili:  27 mins ago
 Rob:  27 mins ago
 vox:  47 mins ago
 amipal:  54 mins ago
 kamelito:  1 hr 29 mins ago
 dreamlandfantasy:  1 hr 34 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  Scan pluss AGA
Register To Post

PosterThread
nikosidis 
Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 26-Aug-2019 16:12:20
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 855
From: Norway, Oslo

Installed scan pluss AGA to my A1200 last week. Quite simple to do with no modification to the hardware or case.
Well, I had to cut little in the metal plate where the hard drive is supposed to be. I know many don't use the metal cover anyway. Everything works perfect. There is no lag at boot and the picture is just amazing. I'm running this with my BenQ 21" CRT Monitor.

You can see pictures here.

https://photos.app.goo.gl/4HMWKg72EA5HGahAA

Last edited by nikosidis on 26-Aug-2019 at 04:34 PM.
Last edited by nikosidis on 26-Aug-2019 at 04:17 PM.
Last edited by nikosidis on 26-Aug-2019 at 04:16 PM.
Last edited by nikosidis on 26-Aug-2019 at 04:12 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
bennymee 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 26-Aug-2019 17:56:58
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 519
From: Netherlands

@nikosidis

This looks like a nice piece of hardware!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nikosidis 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 26-Aug-2019 19:04:33
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 855
From: Norway, Oslo

@bennymee

It for sure is. Everything is running as normal but you now have VGA port running at 31kHz. That way you have no problem with connecting to any display with VGA input. It also run in 50hz as all PAL Amigas should do. No converting to 60hz as I seen from some other scandoublers. It for sure need a compatible display. Unfortunatly almost all digital displays convert to 60hz. Everything from before the digital display age looks best on CRT anyway. That is what they made it for. Also 4:3 aspect is what you want. I connected my old PS1 to a CRT 1081 commodore monitor using scart the other day. Looked nice :)

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 26-Aug-2019 20:17:53
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@nikosidis

Congratulations.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nikosidis 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 26-Aug-2019 22:11:54
#5 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 855
From: Norway, Oslo

@Trekiej

Thanks a lot. I have a lot of fun these days. The new game Reshoot R is just addictive and fantastic! Also playing a lot of scener demos found on pouet.net

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigadave 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 27-Aug-2019 4:31:53
#6 ]
Team Member
Joined: 18-Jul-2005
Posts: 1541
From: Lake Shastina, Northern Calif.

@nikosidis

I have not seen news about this hardware, where can it be found for sale? I still have a couple 20-inch CRT multi-scan monitors made by Toshiba that would be perfect to use with this scan doubler. I'm assuming that it does NTSC scan rates for Amiga computers in the USA, and PAL scan rates for Amiga computers in the EU, correct?

_________________
"Amiga" - The computer that inspired people to invent and create!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
nikosidis 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 27-Aug-2019 8:34:11
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 9-Dec-2008
Posts: 855
From: Norway, Oslo

@amigadave

Yes, NTSC is no problem. I takes whatever kHz from your output and double it. It is also sold in ECS version.

They have it here.

https://www.amedia-computer.com/en/accueil/272-scanplus-aga-for-amiga-1200-4000d.html

Last edited by nikosidis on 27-Aug-2019 at 09:16 AM.
Last edited by nikosidis on 27-Aug-2019 at 08:35 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmiDelf2 
Re: Scan pluss AGA
Posted on 27-Aug-2019 15:30:33
#8 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 9-Aug-2005
Posts: 342
From: Norway, Oslo

I can confirm that Amedia is a nice Amiga store with great support.

_________________
Regards,
Michal, Amiga user since 1988
amitopia@gmail.com

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle