Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5654 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
47 crawler(s) on-line.
 20 guest(s) on-line.
 1 member(s) on-line.


 _ThEcRoW

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 _ThEcRoW:  51 secs ago
 Hypex:  22 mins ago
 Samurai:  22 mins ago
 ekam:  23 mins ago
 BSzili:  29 mins ago
 Rob:  29 mins ago
 vox:  49 mins ago
 amipal:  57 mins ago
 kamelito:  1 hr 32 mins ago
 dreamlandfantasy:  1 hr 36 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Classic Amiga Hardware
      /  PAL Monitor.
Register To Post

PosterThread
Trekiej 
PAL Monitor.
Posted on 1-Sep-2019 19:46:12
#1 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

If I buy am Amiga that is a PAL machine, will I have a tough time viewing it on a monitor in the USA?

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 1-Sep-2019 21:27:32
#2 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2738
From: Gloucestershire UK

@Trekiej

go into the uerly startup menu and press the space bar to toggle pal/ntsc on most models, some have a pal/ntsc jumper. My pal A2000 had ntsc composite out.

The bigger problem will be converting it from 240v @ 50hz to 110V @ 60hz, depending on the model.

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 1-Sep-2019 22:42:15
#3 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Severin

Thanks, I new that there was a setting in Kickstart Menu during boot, as far as I can remember.

I did not know if external converters were available.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 1-Sep-2019 22:44:39
#4 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Severin

I am thinking of buying an A600. They seem to be largely PAL in online sales.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Severin 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 2-Sep-2019 22:41:38
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 19-Aug-2003
Posts: 2738
From: Gloucestershire UK

@Trekiej

probably the easiest and cheapest option for an A600 is to use an A500 NTSC TV Modulator or one of the old 1940 / 108x / philips 8833 mk II type monitors which will run off RGB.

In europe it was easier as we had scart connectors so you could plug the video straight into almost any TV.

This might help too: http://aminet.net/package/util/boot/Kill2090
it has a program in there that reboots into either pal or ntsc, source code is included so you might be able to create a simple command to force ntsc on bootup.

This http://aminet.net/package/util/misc/SwitchInst130 is a bootblock pal/ntsc switcher

_________________
OS4 Rocks
X1000 beta tester, Sam440 Flex (733)

Visit the Official OS4 Support Site for more help.

It may be that your sole purpose is to serve as a warning to others.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 3-Sep-2019 18:25:20
#6 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Severin

I guess 99 dollars is a lot for a converter.
I have found one online that works with PAL and NTSC modes.
It is RGB to VGA or RGB to HDMI.

I guess It will convert from PAL to NTSC.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 3-Sep-2019 18:29:01
#7 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2019
Posts: 36
From: Aikido Dojo Nippos

@Trekiej

When you mention monitor, you mean standard TV? Because nowadays, almost all new TVs can handle PAL/NTSC just fine, unless you speak of specific CRT computer monitors.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 3-Sep-2019 20:22:53
#8 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Samurai

Yes to tv, maybe monitors and TV's will merge, if not already.

Are PAL Monitors more expensive? Maybe it is the shipping that makes it more costly?

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Samurai 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 4-Sep-2019 12:42:15
#9 ]
Member
Joined: 31-Aug-2019
Posts: 36
From: Aikido Dojo Nippos

@Trekiej

Check this thread on AmiBay: http://www.amibay.com/showthread.php?78792-Amiga-VIDEO-VGA-Adapters-amp-Cables-DELUXE-(real-23pin-conns)

There is a list of what monitors can handle 15KHz mode, without using a scandoubler with your Amiga. At least, you can quickly check how it looks.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 4-Sep-2019 13:01:55
#10 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@Samurai

I thought of getting a real one from ebay.
That page has been book marked.
Also, I have seen an RGB to Component Adapter.
It uses Op Amps to fix the signal.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
AmigaHope 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 4-Sep-2019 21:28:05
#11 ]
Member
Joined: 23-Jan-2007
Posts: 18
From: Unknown

@Trekiej

All of my 1084s worked fine with PAL refresh rates on the RGB port, though on the oldest one I did have to twiddle a knob. Any 15Khz RGB monitor with a vertical hold/sync dial should be adjustable theoretically to work. The picture is great, and the 1084 had full screen geometry adjustments so that I got the proper 4:3 aspect ratio.

Y/C or composite connections are obviously a different beast because PAL used a different color encoding modulation, and you will only get a black and white signal, or crazy weird color interference. If you're using the monochrome RCA jack on the back of the A500 it should work fine to at least test/set up the system, including old TVs from the early 80's and before that had a vertical hold adjustment that was wide enough.

Last edited by AmigaHope on 04-Sep-2019 at 09:32 PM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: PAL Monitor.
Posted on 4-Sep-2019 23:59:53
#12 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 684
From: Unknown

@AmigaHope

I guess I have to conclude that buying PAL Amiga in the future will not to tough to deal with.

There are plenty of adapter cables and converter boxes and even LCD/LED monitors out there to get me going.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle