Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5688 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
57 crawler(s) on-line.
 12 guest(s) on-line.
 0 member(s) on-line.



You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 KimmoK:  10 mins ago
 terminills:  12 mins ago
 AmiDARK:  19 mins ago
 smf:  34 mins ago
 emeck:  38 mins ago
 Tarzin:  45 mins ago
 billt:  1 hr ago
 invent:  1 hr 6 mins ago
 K-L:  1 hr 10 mins ago
 kolla:  1 hr 23 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  AROS Software
      /  Pre-configured AROS development environment
Register To Post

PosterThread
paolone 
Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 1-Oct-2019 19:23:26
#1 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2007
Posts: 1037
From: Unknown

Hello! Since many people that would develop AROS or software for AROS are scared by Linux installation, configuration and management, I thought to create an already configured Linux virtual machine with the development stuff already in-place. So these people can now be scared by the lesser-frightening installation of VMware Player on their system!

Have a look here:
https://vmwaros.blogspot.com/2019/10/a-pre-configured-development-machine.html

The environment is ready to compile (for) AROS x86-64, but targets (m68k, Arm...) can be easily added as explained in the bundled notes. The environment is already organized into different directories for main sources, portsources and builds. Have a nice day!

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Argo 
Re: Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 1-Oct-2019 19:29:45
#2 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 8-Mar-2003
Posts: 296
From: St. Lawrence Co., NY, USA

@paolone

Nice, hope this really helps development on AROS64

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Hypex 
Re: Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 2-Oct-2019 6:04:19
#3 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 6-May-2007
Posts: 9630
From: Greensborough, Australia

@paolone

Why is Linux needed? Does AROS have the same problem as OS4 and needs cross compilation for developing big apps? Also, apart from that, it seems strange that anyone wanting to develop software would be scared of installing Linux.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
sTix 
Re: Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 2-Oct-2019 6:28:29
#4 ]
Member
Joined: 22-Oct-2003
Posts: 70
From: Lund, Sweden

@paolone

Very nice, thanks!

_________________

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
paolone 
Re: Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 2-Oct-2019 8:43:49
#5 ]
Super Member
Joined: 24-Sep-2007
Posts: 1037
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Linux is needed because it has the same problem as OS4 and needs cross compilation to develop big apps. Moreover, 64bit AROS gcc is currently broken, which means that you can run it from the command line, but it does not produce executables. While we wait for it to be fixed, Linux is the only choice. By the way, AROS does not run on a single architecture but on many: by cross-compiling, you can produce executables for several processors from the same source code.

Apart from that, I consider strange that anyone wanting to develop software would be scared of installing Linux, however I don't even count the times I've been told "nah nah, I don't want to install Linux" when I ask if a program could be ported to AROS. So I hope that at least installing VMware Player or VirtualBox would be more acceptable by them.

Last edited by paolone on 02-Oct-2019 at 11:45 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
wawa 
Re: Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 2-Oct-2019 9:34:53
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 21-Jan-2008
Posts: 6187
From: Unknown

@Hypex

Quote:
Why is Linux needed? Does AROS have the same problem as OS4 and needs cross compilation for developing big apps? Also, apart from that, it seems strange that anyone wanting to develop software would be scared of installing Linux.


at this time im not sure how well native compilation works but many if not most parts of the necessary toolchain is ported to native. ti worked once i tested it on probably somewhat limited example, so no, aros is basically about to ready to compile their stuff natively.

said that i admit i dont have experience with native compilation as probably most folks that compile aros, since linux is a bit too convenient. the toolchain is far too easy to set up in my book, i have done it dozens of times over the years, and it takes advantage of multiprocessing. sure it already might be possible with aros x86. but sice i compile mostly for 68k, sometimes for ppc and x86, im not sure if it would be advantageous.

but who knows, one day ill probably try. especially that aros might have all components/packages in place, i have to install on linux to get compilation going. that would be great.

Last edited by wawa on 02-Oct-2019 at 09:35 AM.

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Trekiej 
Re: Pre-configured AROS development environment
Posted on 3-Oct-2019 0:13:31
#7 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 17-Oct-2006
Posts: 700
From: Unknown

@paolone

Thanks.

_________________
John 3:16

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle