Click Here
home features news forums classifieds faqs links search
5739 members 
Amiga Q&A /  Free for All /  Emulation /  Gaming / (Latest Posts)
Login

Nickname

Password

Lost Password?

Don't have an account yet?
Register now!

Support Amigaworld.net
Your support is needed and is appreciated as Amigaworld.net is primarily dependent upon the support of its users.
Donate

Menu
Main sections
Home
Features
News
Forums
Classifieds
Links
Downloads
Extras
OS4 Zone
IRC Network
AmigaWorld Radio
Newsfeed
Top Members
Amiga Dealers
Information
About Us
FAQs
Advertise
Polls
Terms of Service
Search

IRC Channel
Server: irc.amigaworld.net
Ports: 1024,5555, 6665-6669
SSL port: 6697
Channel: #Amigaworld
Channel Policy and Guidelines

Who's Online
27 crawler(s) on-line.
 21 guest(s) on-line.
 3 member(s) on-line.


 OneTimer1,  alpyre,  cc3d

You are an anonymous user.
Register Now!
 OneTimer1:  15 secs ago
 alpyre:  24 secs ago
 cc3d:  2 mins ago
 billt:  6 mins ago
 kamelito:  11 mins ago
 DiscreetFX:  15 mins ago
 eliyahu:  25 mins ago
 nikosidis:  25 mins ago
 gonegahgah:  27 mins ago
 Edders:  29 mins ago

/  Forum Index
   /  Amiga OS4 Hardware
      /  Booting the X5000
Register To Post

Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )
PosterThread
Swoop 
Booting the X5000
Posted on 20-Mar-2020 18:59:28
#1 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

Hi everyone.

I have just recieved my X5000. but on booting I get a grim reaper on workbench


https://www.flickr.com/photos/187518754@N02/49680394491/in/dateposted-public/


https://www.flickr.com/photos/187518754@N02/49680394446/in/dateposted-public/


Has anyone any advice as Amiga kit have gone home now?

Thanks

ps - I get this both ftom the hard drive and the USB stick.

Last edited by Swoop on 20-Mar-2020 at 07:02 PM.
Last edited by Swoop on 20-Mar-2020 at 07:01 PM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
ktadd 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 5:02:03
#2 ]
Cult Member
Joined: 30-Jul-2003
Posts: 557
From: California, USA

@Swoop
Quote:
I have just recieved my X5000. but on booting I get a grim reaper on workbench

Bummer! Is it totally locked up when you get the grim or can you still do stuff? If it's not totally locked up many try looking at Prefs/WBStartup and see what happens if you disabble the programs there and reboot.

Can you click on More and get a stack trace? That might help identify what's crashing.

_________________
Kevin - X1000 First Contact / uA1

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 8:08:58
#3 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 168
From: Unknown

@ktadd
Quote:
@Swoop
Quote:
I have just recieved my X5000. but on booting I get a grim reaper on workbench

Bummer! Is it totally locked up when you get the grim or can you still do stuff? If it's not totally locked up many try looking at Prefs/WBStartup and see what happens if you disabble the programs there and reboot.


...and even if you system IS totally locked, you can boot without Startup-sequence by keeping the both mouse buttons down after Kickstart has been loaded, and selecting the boot option at bottom right. From the CLI which is opened you can start the Prefs/WBStartup, it does not need WB.

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 8:55:21
#4 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2342
From: www.amigakit.com

@Swoop

Boot from DVI only - that should resolve that issue.

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 9:04:45
#5 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@amigakit

DVI?

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 9:13:27
#6 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@ktadd

More on the grim reaper gives me this -

https://www.flickr.com/photos/187518754@N02/49681638743/in/dateposted-public/

Which states "Workbench Crash" and the module is X-Dock.

Generating a stack trace, gives this -

https://www.flickr.com/photos/187518754@N02/49681638658/in/dateposted-public/

again giving X-Dock as the problem.


_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 9:27:14
#7 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

Hi Gregor,

Quote:
@Swoop
...and even if you system IS totally locked, you can boot without Startup-sequence by keeping the both mouse buttons down after Kickstart has been loaded, and selecting the boot option at bottom right. From the CLI which is opened you can start the Prefs/WBStartup, it does not need WB.

I cant seem to get to that stage.

I press both mouse keys when the screen goes blank, just before the Amiga 4.1FE pre-release screen, and it still loads workbench with the workbench crash.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 10:01:30
#8 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@amigakit

Quote:
amigakit wrote:
@Swoop

Boot from DVI only - that should resolve that issue.

I presume this is DVI cables, and looking at your site you only have DVI-HDMI cables.
I am presuming, from web searches, that I need a DVI-D to DVI-D cable?

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 10:04:37
#9 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

Is there a user manual for the X5000?, or is that wishful thinking.


_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 10:29:30
#10 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3425
From: Russia

@Swoop

It was a typo on Amigakit's side, he means DVD.

If I were you, the first thing I do it just boot from DVD, then delete from the system's HDD X-Dock binary (it probabaly placed in system:commodities/) Then power off, and boot from HDD, it will say "X-dock" not found, but then will not crash. Once system boots, you go to wb-startup preference and delete x-dock from there.

But strange that it wasn't tested that all boots ok before shipping.

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 10:53:59
#11 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@kas1e

Quote:
t was a typo on Amigakit's side, he means DVD.

And i was just looking up DVI cables, but didn't know if I needed single link, or dual link cables.
Unfortunatly the X5000 doesn't come with a DVD.
I have registered my X5000 on my account at hyperion and downloaded the X5000 iso.
Also there is an AmigaOS 4.1FE update1 iso, which I have also download.
Now I just have to figure out how to write the iso to a DVD on my mac

Quote:
If I were you, the first thing I do it just boot from DVD, then delete from the system's HDD X-Dock binary (it probabaly placed in system:commodities/) Then power off, and boot from HDD, it will say "X-dock" not found, but then will not crash. Once system boots, you go to wb-startup preference and delete x-dock from there.

Once I work out how to write the DVD, I will give it a go. The surprising thing is that I get the same problem, booting from the hard drive and the USB rescue drive. So I am not too confident. I would have thought booting from the usb drive would have given me the options you advised.

Quote:
But strange that it wasn't tested that all boots ok before shipping.

I would agree. I would have thought it would have been booted up before itbwas sent to me. Back in the early 80's I worked for a computer company, and they used to have their machines on "soak" for three days before they were sent to customers.

Anyway, I will look at how to write the iso.
Thanks for your help.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 11:08:02
#12 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

I have extracted the .lha'd X5000 file on my mac, but when I try to burn it to DVD.
I get the message -
Quote:
Could not burn
"AmigaOneX5000InstallCD-53.25.iso".
The disk image is invalid.


The .lha file is 350.6mb, and the .iso is 574.2mb.

Has anyone any suggestions?



Last edited by Swoop on 21-Mar-2020 at 11:08 AM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 12:01:06
#13 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

After all that I get a grim reaper on "Context menus"

I have unselected it in WBStartup, and the system locks up

Quote:
Edit 1 - I have booted from USB stick, but the system still locks up. It seems as if it is using the prefs from the hard drive, not the USb stick

I will try to boot without startup sequence

Quote:
Edit 2 - Managed to use boot without startup sequence to reselect context menus, and system now boots agein

Unfortunatley, I cant seem to change screenmode from 640 x 480.
The monitor is 1920 x 1080, and find all modes does nothing, ans I cant seem to add any modes either.





Last edited by Swoop on 21-Mar-2020 at 12:29 PM.
Last edited by Swoop on 21-Mar-2020 at 12:01 PM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Gregor 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 12:24:04
#14 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 12-Sep-2011
Posts: 168
From: Unknown

@Swoop
Quote:
I cant seem to get to that stage.

I press both mouse keys when the screen goes blank, just before the Amiga 4.1FE pre-release screen, and it still loads workbench with the workbench crash.


Press the mouse buttons somewhat later, just when the prerelease screen has appeared.

Regards,

Gregor

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 12:42:36
#15 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@Gregor

It doesn't matter if I boot from hard drive or USB stick, I get the same lock up, and I cant do anything.


https://www.flickr.com/photos/187518754@N02/49682102873/in/dateposted-public/


_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
kas1e 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 12:49:43
#16 ]
Amiga Developer Team
Joined: 11-Jan-2004
Posts: 3425
From: Russia

@Swoop

If you start to have errors from everything, then it usually mean some faulty hardware parts or cables. Maybe hdd, maybe ram, maybe psu. Anything can be. Maybe when box was transfered it was damaged somehow, and some connectors not connected now as they should be. Maybe sata connector unplugs somehow, or just RAM module faulty ?

_________________
Join us to improve dopus5!
zerohero's mirror of os4/os3 crosscompiler suites

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 13:35:13
#17 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@kas1e

Okay, thanks for that.

I will unplug it all and check connections

Thanks

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Skateman 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 14:02:16
#18 ]
Regular Member
Joined: 2-Nov-2017
Posts: 105
From: Netherlands

@Swoop

Like mentioned in above posts also check the Ram.

If you have two modules inserted put in one module at a time and test.

_________________
AmigaOne X5000 -> 2GHz / 16GB RAM / Radeon R7 250 / M-Audio 5.1 -> AmigaOS 4.1 FE / Ubuntu Linux
Amiga 1200 -> Recapped / 68ec020 ACA 1221ec / CF HDD / RetroNET connected to the world

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
amigakit 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 14:56:26
#19 ]
Amiga Kit
Joined: 28-Jun-2004
Posts: 2342
From: www.amigakit.com

@Swoop

There is no need to restore the system, it will boot fine if you use a DVI connection or DVI to HDMI

Are you booting from SVGA 15-pin ?

Thanks

_________________
Amiga Kit Amiga Store
Links: www.amigakit.com | New Products | X5000

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Swoop 
Re: Booting the X5000
Posted on 21-Mar-2020 19:20:57
#20 ]
Elite Member
Joined: 20-Jun-2003
Posts: 2150
From: Long Riston, East Yorkshire

@amigakit

Yes, the old cable from my AmigaoneXEG3

I have just ordered a DVI cable off of Amazon, it is dual link.

https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B00MO7TNBY/ref=ppx_yo_dt_b_asin_title_o00_s00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

Is that okay?

Thanks for any help.

Last edited by Swoop on 21-Mar-2020 at 07:26 PM.
Last edited by Swoop on 21-Mar-2020 at 07:25 PM.

_________________
Peter Swallow.
A1XEG3-800 [IBM 750FX PowerPC], running OS4.1FE, using ac97 onboard sound.

"There are 10 types of people in the world: those who understand binary, and those who don't."

 Status: Offline
Profile     Report this post  
Goto page ( 1 | 2 Next Page )

[ home ][ about us ][ privacy ] [ forums ][ classifieds ] [ links ][ news archive ] [ link to us ][ user account ]
Copyright (C) 2000 - 2019 Amigaworld.net.
Amigaworld.net was originally founded by David Doyle